Steemit Food Challenge Dessert to Die For Entry - SMOOTHIE FILLED PEACHES

in #smoothie8 years ago

Thanks once again to @healthyfood & @givemeyoursteem for encouraging us to get back in the kitchen and make something awesome! This time, it's even dessert!


I had thought about saving this creation for the dessert entry, although it hadn't yet been announced when I made it. Still, I knew dessert had to be coming eventually. The original post for the Fruit Smoothie Pear Cups did quite well though, and now I have the chance to use what I learned from that experiment to make this one even better!


INGREDIENTS

  • Ice Cream (3 cups)

  • Yogurt (2 cups)

  • Cape Gooseberries (handful)

  • Blueberries (handful)

  • Strawberries (handful)

  • Peaches (I used six, know your crowd)

  • Mango (1)

  • Pineapple (1/4)

  • Kiwano (2)


SECRET INGREDIENT

  • Cheesecake Flavored Pudding Mix (1 packet)


DIRECTIONS


Slice tops off of peaches


Remove Pits


Hollow out with spoon


Blend all remaining ingredients


Please note: a full blender of smoothie is more than enough to fill six hollow peaches. The remainder is to be enjoyed in the traditional manner.


Slice kiwano skins into 1/2 inch slices


Place sliced kiwano skins on tray


Place hollow peaches on top of sliced kiwano skins


The kiwano skin "coasters" will prevent tipping and just look cool


Fill hollow peaches with smoothie blend and chill


Serve chilled smoothie filled peaches after dinner, because they are a dessert to die for


I was actually impressed with how easy they were to eat.


A little sipping and a little biting was all it took to enjoy this delicious dessert.


Also, it is interesting that this challenge is called Desserts to Die For, because after we had finished eating, I saw this guy, another Pygmy Rattlesnake.

In case you want to be sure, here's verification

I'll be relocating him, I didn't hurt it, just held it tight. (It is illegal to kill snakes in Arkansas, so I'll move him to a new home.) Also, thankfully, he didn't hurt us, so I guess it may not have been dessert to die for after all. If we hadn't already eaten the the smoothie filled peaches, perhaps I could have wrapped the rattlesnake around the base of the peach instead of the Kiwano skins.

Now that would have made a good cover photo!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof


proof-of-smoothie-filled-peaches



Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!

Sort:  

THANK YOU FOR THAT, AND I'M GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT!

The peaches with smoothie are looking good. So relaxed taking the selfie with the snake...I would be running like crazy

The whole snake thing is exciting to me, and it certainly is dangerous, but once I'm in control, I might as well relax about it.

You are right though, that is a pretty relaxed look on my face, almost like I was catching snakes in my sleep.

Thank you @alina1, and yes, we did chill them. LOL

That looks yummi, will try that today.

Let me know how you like it!
Thanks @elyaque.

I remember encountering a really young python is India (Goa actually), that just ate a rat and was busy chilling in the middle of the road. We almost ran it over whith our bike, but didn't. After some interaction when we tried to convince it to vacate the road, it barfed out the rat and ran. Apparently it either tried to bribe us with it, or it was cramping its scampering style as it slithered off. It was in the dusk, so no good photos, and even ones that I have are on computer some 5.500 km away.

Great story.
Yeah, they puke under stress. It apparently helps make them more mobile.

I guess no one wants to run on an full stomach.

Yeah, regurgitation is a pretty effective self-defense mechanism. I wonder why they don't promote that option more.

Fight, Flight, or Puke.

That looks great :)) Yummy! I just posted some cookies as well :)

Thanks, I'll check them cookies out.

SNAKEsmoothie MAY BE? :)))

Snakes are certainly delicious and easy to clean, but unfortunately it is illegal to kill them in Arkansas, otherwise that would have been a great idea @nekromarinist!

Cool recipe!! And scary snake haha, but it suits perfect for the theme. Is it dangerous? Thanks for your contribution to the challenge! :)

It's both fun and delicious, and I appreciate the opportunity to get in the kitchen. That little rattlesnake is certainly venomous, but I don't think it could kill me, (though opinions vary).

Such a great recipe! Kiwano, seems like an interesting fruit. Not sure if I ever had that one. Does it come from a cactus? On the side, killing snakes (or other wildlife) should be illegal everywhere. They have as much right to roam the earth as we do. Although I'm not too keen on them either. So big thumbs up for relocating it to a better place. Our cat caught one a while ago; luckily it was a harmless green tree snake. ​Not sure if I would pick up a rattlesnake​ though!

The KIWANO is also known as the African Horned Melon, and it grows on a vine. We are growing them for the first time this year, and the inside reminds me of a Passion Fruit. I did a Garden Plant Spotlight about it a while ago, so you can check out that link to learn more. If you're in the states and like to garden, I'll even send you some free seeds if you want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51