Happiness is a Full Tobacco Jar - Introducing Pipe Smoking to Steemit

in #smoking7 years ago

Everyone's writing about meditation and mindfulness these days. People are over-stimulated and exhausted by their responsibilities and the torrent of information they face. Why is it so hard to sit still and enjoy a moment of peace?

PipeRacks2.jpg

Smoking a pipe provides a lot of the benefits that people are looking for. I honestly believe that we'd live in a calmer, more thoughtful and peaceful world if more people smoked pipe tobacco. We'd also enjoy ourselves more.

Smoking a pipe is a ritual. It takes patience and a bit of practice. It can't be rushed. The nicotine stimulates brain function and improves focus. (There's a reason so many famous scientists, artists, and politicians smoke.) You can puff while you're doing something else, or you can focus on the flavor and really enjoy it like a good meal.

Pipe tobacco is also remarkably affordable. Even with the insane taxes applied by the states, I can usually acquire a pound of the stuff for $40 - $60, and that's enough to last me six months or more. Even a small tin of a luxury blend is around $15 - about the cost of one fine cigar. But that small tin enough to keep me puffing a few bowls a day for a week or so.

Unlike with cigarettes, it's possible - and preferable - to enjoy pipe tobacco in moderation.

There's a ton of history associated with pipe smoking. Here's just a couple of pages from The Pipe Smoker's Ephemeris, a publication maintained and distributed by the late Tom Dunn for over 40 years. This bound volume covers the years 1980 to 1994, and weighs in at 800 pages.

PipeEphemeris.jpg

All of this material was sent in by the readers who supported Mr. Dunn's efforts. He laid out and produced this magazine entirely by hand¸ with an electric typewriter and heaps of patience. It was a miracle of self-publishing. And he distributed it to thousands of readers for free. (After his death, it was discovered that Tom had over fifty filing cabinets of carefully indexed material to share.) I share this as an example of the sort of dedication and enthusiasm the pipe can generate.

Since Tom's passing, pipe enthusiasts have continued to share their passion for the hobby at sites like Pipes Magazine. Back when newsgroups were a popular thing, one of the first places I hung out with my new Compaq computer (circa 1997) was "alt.smokers.pipes." It was one of the friendliest havens of the early Internet.

I've noticed there's a pipe shaped hole here on Steemit. @gregm is doing a nice job sharing some cigar reviews with us, but he's the only one I can find. (If I've missed anyone please leave a link in the comments.) I've been a devoted pipe smoker for over 20 years and worked in tobacco retail for nearly a dozen. So I think I might just start sharing a few pipe related observations on here - smoking basics, pipe and tobacco reviews, visits to worthwhile tobacco shops (too few and far between), discussions on the health and psychological benefits of moderate tobacco use, observations on the industry and the crazy politics that seem to follow it around.

I'm enjoying this stuff anyway, so why not share it on here?

Sort:  

A good pipe is better than cigarettes. But I switched 100% to e-cig. Same nicotine buzz still no tobacco smell. And I can change flavor according to my mood. Today: cohiba.

Resteemed to remind steemers that nicotine is not all bad.

I haven't gone in for the vaping craze yet, although The Wife did use an e-cigarette for a while and liked it. No denying that it's probably safer, and there are a lot of wild flavors out there. How convincing is the cigar flavor of the Cohiba liquid?

Very. It's made from the leaves. It is of course sweeter, since the solvents are sugary.

I love the smell of pipe tobacco.

There's a certain kind of earthiness it evokes. Dark wood paneled rooms, with leather upholstered chairs and soft light illuminating the walls covered from floor to 10' ceilings in books.

I've had a few pipes and dabbled but never consistently or for very long.

I've wanted to try a hand rolled clay chuchwarden because I understand the long stems give a very cool smoke but they're almost impossible to find.

Surprisingly enough, there are a few places you can still order clay pipes. It looks like tobaccopipes.com has them here.

I used to have a set of four really long ones, but over the years they got broken one by one.

I'll have to do a post on clay pipes. They used to be really cheap and common. In taverns you'd order a bowl of tobacco and they'd give you a clay pipe to use. When you were done they'd cut off the end of the stem for sanitary reasons, then give the (slightly shorter) pipe to the next customer. What's kind of ironic is they could have just set the pipes in the fireplace to sterilize them, but they were made and used in the thousands.

There's a site on Great Island in Wellfleet on Cape Cod where there used to be a tavern. Long after the tavern was gone people found stubby pipe bowls in the sand.

If you try one, make sure you order pipe cleaners that are long enough for your stem, and - most importantly - don't hold the pipe by the bowl while you're smoking. It's hot!

I was considering this: https://shop.pipeshoppe.com/product/markus-fohr-clay-pipe-5-white-curved-stem/

Years ago I had seen someone in Vancouver who was making hand rolled churchwardens that were 12" long but he's not around any more.

I think my wife is willing to let me get one again. ;-)

That's a handsome pipe. I say go for it!

You've convinced me.

I'm going to go ask permission. ;-)

Those look interesting. I'd love to hear a review.

I've never seen a clay bowl with a stem of another material, and I'm unfamiliar with the term "ebonite." A visit to Wikipedia has me thinking it's the same thing as the "Vulcanite" used for briar pipe stems. (These are either vulcanite - hard rubber, or lucite - plastic.) Clay gets much hotter during smoking than briar, so I'd be a little concerned it might melt the tenon. On the other hand, those guys look like they know what they're doing.

I ordered this one:
https://shop.pipeshoppe.com/product/markus-fohr-47/

they've got a combo with this and a 15" but that wouldn't have gotten approval from "purchasing".

This is a great post :) I love anyone enthusiastic about smoking lol! People who complain about the smell, I tell them, it's my asshole repellant. Usually f**ks em off right fast LOL!

I grow my own tobacco, it's my second year. We didn't cure it very tastily last year, gonna try a new method this year <3 <3

Cool - I've always wanted to try a grow your own tobacco. I've heard the seeds are tiny. What kind is it? Virginia cigarette tobacco?

Yeah, asshole repellent for sure. Also good for keeping the bugs away. I just smoked a Punch cigar while watching the sunset and didn't get bitten by a single mosquito.

Yes, Virginia gold seeds, and I saved the seeds from last year, I let one plant go to flower, so this year our seeds were free baby yeah!! :) A friend in Northern Alberta is actually mailing me seeds right now too, traditional tobacco gifted to him from the local Indigenous "Pueblo tobacco". I can't wait to grow it next year.

Yes the seeds are soooooo teeny tiny it's crazy, like a pin head, but yet the plant is enormous, I have one in my greenhouse that is already way taller than me!!

Wow fantastic - I LOVE to grow my food and buds - have been meaning to grow some tobacco - you have inspired me - THANKS - I am following you now!

images.png

You're gonna love growing tobacco, getting the seeds to germinate is the hardest part, after that, it's smooth sailing! The seeds just need to be sprinkled on top of your soil, and watered in. I would over plant them, just to be on the safe side. The plant is SOOOOOO small when it first starts that you'll need to water it from the bottom, because even a gentle mist can collapse the seedling. Best luck, you'll do great!! xo

Thank you lyndsay - keep well!

I'm not quite the tobacco connoisseur but I can really appreciate the smell of a good tobacco pipe or cigar.

I really enjoyed Mr. Dunn's magazine story. It shows that when there's a will, there's a way.
I've got quite a handle in graphic design and publishing and I can always appreciate when people take the matters in their own hands, and just do it. Also the publishing in the picture looks amazing, considering he's an amateur, in that time period.

He really was extraordinarily generous. I initially sent him a note asking to have a sample copy, and he sent back six massive 80 page issues. He was a wonderful correspondent, too, often including personal letters to many of his subscribers when he sent out the copies. I sent him what cash I could as a donation, and I know a lot of his readers sent gifts of pipes and tobacco as well. It must have been enough to sustain the endeavor.

By these actions you know he was an amazing human being. We need more people in the world like him :)

Hei, jeg tror kanskje jeg må begynne å røyke pipe i steden for rullings.

Hvorfor ikke få en corn cob pipe og gi den en prøve - du vil sannsynligvis elske det!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52