You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happiness is a Full Tobacco Jar - Introducing Pipe Smoking to Steemit

in #smoking7 years ago

I love the smell of pipe tobacco.

There's a certain kind of earthiness it evokes. Dark wood paneled rooms, with leather upholstered chairs and soft light illuminating the walls covered from floor to 10' ceilings in books.

I've had a few pipes and dabbled but never consistently or for very long.

I've wanted to try a hand rolled clay chuchwarden because I understand the long stems give a very cool smoke but they're almost impossible to find.

Sort:  

Surprisingly enough, there are a few places you can still order clay pipes. It looks like tobaccopipes.com has them here.

I used to have a set of four really long ones, but over the years they got broken one by one.

I'll have to do a post on clay pipes. They used to be really cheap and common. In taverns you'd order a bowl of tobacco and they'd give you a clay pipe to use. When you were done they'd cut off the end of the stem for sanitary reasons, then give the (slightly shorter) pipe to the next customer. What's kind of ironic is they could have just set the pipes in the fireplace to sterilize them, but they were made and used in the thousands.

There's a site on Great Island in Wellfleet on Cape Cod where there used to be a tavern. Long after the tavern was gone people found stubby pipe bowls in the sand.

If you try one, make sure you order pipe cleaners that are long enough for your stem, and - most importantly - don't hold the pipe by the bowl while you're smoking. It's hot!

I was considering this: https://shop.pipeshoppe.com/product/markus-fohr-clay-pipe-5-white-curved-stem/

Years ago I had seen someone in Vancouver who was making hand rolled churchwardens that were 12" long but he's not around any more.

I think my wife is willing to let me get one again. ;-)

That's a handsome pipe. I say go for it!

You've convinced me.

I'm going to go ask permission. ;-)

Those look interesting. I'd love to hear a review.

I've never seen a clay bowl with a stem of another material, and I'm unfamiliar with the term "ebonite." A visit to Wikipedia has me thinking it's the same thing as the "Vulcanite" used for briar pipe stems. (These are either vulcanite - hard rubber, or lucite - plastic.) Clay gets much hotter during smoking than briar, so I'd be a little concerned it might melt the tenon. On the other hand, those guys look like they know what they're doing.

I ordered this one:
https://shop.pipeshoppe.com/product/markus-fohr-47/

they've got a combo with this and a 15" but that wouldn't have gotten approval from "purchasing".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32