Steemit Music League Challenge Season Two | Round One Entry Beyond Belief

in #smlchallenge7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Steemit Music League Challenge Season Two | Round One

Imgur


We all have to start somewhere.

There are so many mistakes in this recording, I should have just thrown it in the garbage, but I need to show my progress in this beat mastering/ producing project I have started here on Steemit.

Those who don’t know, I am attempting for the first time to make beats and produce songs. Mostly because my voice went to shit, and I refuse to give up; apparently. My attempts to make beats have gone well. I started with the Music Maker Jam, which is a dummy version of the production programs professionals use.

Because the music for the Music Maker Jam is under license, and even if you buy a license you can not publish any of the loops on a platform which they can be downloaded, oops, I stopped putting my creations on dsound. But, I am still using them for the Steemit Music League Challenge.


This week’s challenge theme is Spiritual Enlightenment.

I am a Christian, and therefore lead by the Holy Spirit of God. I rededicated my life to Christ about 17 years ago, and since then I have learned, that being lead by the Spirit means you don’t make plans, and you don’t ask questions.

You just blindly and faithfully follow the Spirit and do what is placed in front of you. Regardless of how you feel about what you are doing, and despite whether you know the end will result in success or complete failure and humiliation. Because it’s not about you, it is about Jesus.

So, when faced with this week’s challenge the first thing I did was ask, what am I going to do, and then next I made a plan to produce some mystically uplifting music. That was at the beginning of the challenge. I quickly went to my program and made some mystical music. I had two weeks to do it. I didn’t feel well, so I pushed it off to the next week.

I went back to the project and decided I would add a meditation. I wrote a quick healing meditation asking the listener to relax and imagine angels surrounding them dispersing healing light. It was very relaxing and mellow- not at all my style, but hey someone might need it right?

Then I heard a new entry to the contest. It was a spiritual hip hop rap. Suddenly the meditation is not going to cut it. Thus, the reason I try my hardest not to listen to the other entries before I post mine. Normally I feel intimidated and just give up before the contest ends, never getting my song to the post, but this time I was like, ok, time to write a rap.


line1 2


Running out of time I write a rap. (I always write raps that are nearly impossible for me to sing…) It took the usual six hours to write it, and I was also changing the music to match, as I wrote. Thank goodness, the loops of the music were already pre-produced, because I am still learning audacity program, and that would have been overwhelming to try and do both.

This week in Audacity, I learned that I could use the command shift- R to add another layer to the vocals. I attempted to do the song one part at a time, and piece them together, but I am not there yet. So, I had to attempt to sing the vocals from beginning to end without messing up, which is not going to happen.

I did get the whole way to the end without messing up too bad. The ending would have been awesome had I given myself more time to practice. But I was running out of time, so I left it with the mess-up, just so I had something to show for all my hard work.


Things I don’t know about Audacity- how to get the microphone background sound out of the recording, how to blend the vocals, and how to make my voice sound better.
I’m not hoping to win, but I had to share it!



Beyond Belief by @simgirl

Don’t be deceived by the common flow of this art,
I’m just dropping off my knowledge, on this college; cause I’m street smart.
First in line, yeah, I rev it up like Nascar.
Keep it pouring; giving warning, like I was the North Star.

You are driving round, head down, in your text man,
Swerving back and forth, not thinking bout’ the next man,
Guessing; worrying about how you gonna dress and,
Wake up one morning, yeah; you turn into a yes man.

I see you curse, making it worse, and then you let it go.
You roll it up; smoke it up like it’s Mendo.
Keep it going; keep on playing like Nintendo.
Riding round in your Lambo; certified psycho.

Player. Steal it now; pay for it later.
Gather up your left-overs; keep them in your refrigerator.
Darth Vader, wouldn’t say he could do it any better.
Your motor starts to sputter; better clean the carburetor.

I’m sent like a time bomb; through space and time.
On a mission from the Top Dog; working with my cross on.
I’m going on a slow ride; cause it’s a long ride.
To tow you from the other side; won’t you take this free ride.

We’re peelin’ out, on our way; yeah we are burning tires
You try to hold us down, but we can’t be tied.
You keep on dealing with those demons on the other side
Drink another drink, another pill; yeah, you’re pacified.

You can’t do battle when the enemy controls your mind.
You can’t get praise; they’re all the same; they’ve been neutralized.
The common core to the problem is to simplify
Subtract the negative from the positive, and then multiply.

I see you broke down, tired; waiting on the side.
You tend to depend on your friends, but they are hypnotized.
Give you directions to the next place they’ve never tried.
Find out all the truth you’ve ever known, has always been lies.

Limp it on a flat; you might make it for a few more miles.
to the pitstop, so you can smile; for now
Devil leaves you face down in a ditch. You be sighing;
wondering why and crying like a little bitch.

I’m sent like a time bomb; through space and time,
On a mission from the Top Dog; working with my cross on,
I’m going on a slow ride; cause it’s a long ride.
To tow you from the other side; won’t you take this free ride.

I’m moving fast; we in the last days I’m telling you.
We’re facing stronger opposition then we ever knew.
Satan tells you he’s not real, he’s just a fool.
He knows the day is coming; he be living underneath our boot.

Reality stays the same; yeah, it will never change.
Stop contemplating you’re the one who’s gonna change this game.
You are controlled by One or the other here,
Thinking you’re the exception is not helping anyone

Hear our motors while we moving into pole position.
Keep in time; behind; while we pass the opposition.
We ain’t got no time to slow down for condemnation.
Gonna win this race; before the demolition.

Beyond belief, yes that what I’m saying.
Take it or leave it, I’ll still be praying;
Staying; waiting; obeying; and saving.
Gas is on the right- Go on and join the race.

I’m sent like a time bomb; through space and time.
On a mission from the Top Dog; working with my cross on.
I’m going on a slow ride; cause it’s a long ride.
To tow you from the other side; won’t you take this free ride.

Just sit back and enjoy the ride!

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur


APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

WOW It's pretty neat !!! actually for real. you should try this more often :P it's cool to experiment like this isnt it ?:P i really like your progress also in the beat!

Thank you!!! I just need to read more. I hate that I rushed this entry, but I will work on it and see if I can't get a better version :D

Well done, #simgirl ... never give up!!!

I use Audacity too ... that shift-R is an 'append record' to the end of whichever track is highlighted when you hit it ... without 'shift' it creates a new track and to 'recombine' the old and the 'punch-in' you'd have to do a 'mix and render' without 'to new track', (the other mix and render option). Getting handy with 'punch-in and punch-out does enhance productivity greatly ... You have seen how placing the cursor on one track and hitting R starts recording a new track from that point in time ... OH try 'generate ...silence' highlighting the 'noise' background mic, or 'unintentional improvisation' (no mistakes right? ;-) ) that you want to silence out .. because 'delete' shifts everything in time, highly undesireable if you want to save something that happened later in that track ...

About that spiritual rap you mention ... yeah the competition here is fierce ... the only way I can go on is by not comparing myself to others! But at the same time, appreciate how this ultimately forces one to bring out one's best ...

You're finding your inner voice for sure, have faith you're on the right path ... not like abiding by the Sermon on the Mount isn't quite a rigorous demand for all of us!

Thank you for the help! I am so glad there are so many different kinds of music in the contest. It gives us all new ideas :D I will try your tips in Audacity for sure!

Glad to be of help! You are sooo right about appreciating all our co-creators here for the suggestions they implant in our conscious/subconscious minds ...

Damn, don't you like to breathe? Straight bars. Just the way I like. Well done!

Ha ha I guess not. Thank you!

Well from reading the post about your entry I didn't know what expect... but dam! You go ;-) It's actually really good, for a rush job. ;-) You was settin us up for the kill shot eh? LOL Cool entry, keep up the good work on your craft.

Thanks! I'd rather build it down :D I very self-critical.

Holy smokessssssssssss you continue to bring the heat and passion.

First, absolutely love this post. Love the flow of consciousness and how you show your progression for this round's entry. Love the authentic window into how you came up with your entry.

And your words about Jesus resonated with me so much. So inspirational to see another soul having faith.

And now to the entry:

  • love that first 20 seconds setting the tone with the beat
  • and that bass you use and your lyrics holy smokes that is some passion and knowledge. You got bars. Next Cardi B ?
    -so many lines I love I can't figure out which is my favorite :)

Much love and respect for this entry. You definitely enlightening my soul with this one and love the progression of your skills.

God bless

That's awesome. Thank you so much. I liked a lot of the lines too. It really came together nicely.

Haha ayyyy loved the lyrics holy smokes keep it up. Excited to see that tattoo of @seveaux. I know it's only a matter of time now :)

"The common core to the problem is to simplify
Subtract the negative from the positive, and then multiply."

^^^ TRUTH!!!

Also, hit me up on discord if you have any questions about recording. I'm not the best engineer when it comes to instrumentals/production, but when it comes to making vocals sound better, I'm pretty legit, lol.

Your flow is cool. I would suggest to try and switch it up a little bit here and there, especially from verse to verse. Is cool to have all verse have same flow, but can really blow people away when you switch it up.

I dig it!

Thanks!!! I wasn't sure if I stole that verse or not it seemed too prerehersed to have been an original lyric. I wouldn't be shocked if there was an old 80's rap that said something like that :D

Thanks for the offer to help too. :)

It's really amazing try. There is a bit noise there you should remove it otherwise everything amazing.
It's my first day on steemit please checkout my introduction.
My Introduction - Travelling Queen narisatravel Please support my first day on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55