Project Ohana

in #smilestory7 years ago (edited)

Bear in cup.jpg

I am a simple man with simple tastes. I smile when I get that first sip of a freshly brewed coffee in the morning. I smile when I talk to my lovely China Doll niece and she shows me her artwork. She knows I don't draw well and lording it over me. I smile when I get home from work and see my dog wagging its tail and howling for attention.

20170305_155949.jpg

Lately what makes me smile is getting home and opening the discord channel and Facebook group chats of Ohana @Steemitfamilyph

Two months ago we were about 10 or so people because a lot of people were busy or not really interacting. Fast Forward to January and we opened @steemitfamilyph to more people and things really took off.

A flood of new people came in and I admit it was overwhelming with so many questions and so many people to support in terms of voting and was one of the times I wish I could clone myself so one would do Steemit fulltime while the other worked.

Yet it always puts a smile on my face whenever I go through different posts and see improvements in terms of content, markdowns and quality. It puts a smile when I see them engage and laugh with one another. It makes me smile when I see people succeed and get a curie or an OCD vote because they have good content.

You know that feeling that you beam with pride because someone did well because of their own merit and not because they vote begged from a whale nor abused the system. You feel like a proud dad ( I know my bullies will love this line) who see their kids get first place, or take that game winning shot, or do well in their piano recital.

It may sound weird that I have created deep meaningful relationships with some of the people that I have met in this platform that I care enough to call them friends and look forward to talking to them in Discord and Messenger and leave comments on their posts. A day does not go by that I don't interact with them in some way.

The world is changing as we go digital. Just because they are not in front of us or got to know them through unconventional means that the relationships that we build is false. In a way they might be more true because we don't wear masks or try to hide some of the things we do. We are more open and accepting of people. We show our flaws and they get accepted.

ohana.jpg

The Origins of Ohana

It was a couple weeks back as I remember that looking at how people treated each other other that it was becoming more than a loose confederation of individuals who was trying to get upvotes. Sure we still had drop and run people who just dropped links and was not interacting with anyone but more and more were talking to each other and giving support not only by upvoting but through genuine human interactions.

I was loving the vibe when it struck me that it was truly becoming a Steemit Family. I needed something catchy and create an emotional attachment. Then like lighting it struck OHANA

Made popular by the Lilo and Stitch movie it talked about accepting people or in the movie's case alien even if they were not connected by blood or race. It was about accepting their flaws and welcoming them to the fold. Of letting them go if they want but that they will always be remembered and welcomed back.

"'Ohana" means "family." "Family" means "no one gets left behind." But if you want to leave, you can. I'll remember you though.
-Lilo

It was perfect and it had the values that we wanted the community to have. To treat everyone that they mattered, that they would be loved and guided no matter what, that they would be understood as always. They would be family.

I know not everyone shares this sentiment yet this is how I feel about them. A lot thank me for guiding and mentoring them when in fact I want to thank them for being there and giving me a purpose. I do not do this for influence nor do I do this because I want people to think highly of me and make me feel superior to other people. Frankly I detest those kinds of people that show a superiority complex and brag about their connections or how they are this or that they are a curator. These are fake mentors and a word of caution when you deal with them.

In a lot of ways Ohana has saved me and given me inspiration to really do good and be selfless. That is the true essence of the GIFTECONOMY of Steemit. Ohana is one of the reasons why I smile.

I am particularly proud of this post if ever you are interested to know more about us.
A Role Model Steemian | The most basic reason WHY

What makes you smile? Why don't you join this contest Project S.M.I.L.E. Contest | Join and WIN more than 3 SBD by @hundredlbsbeauty

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

legate mav.png

Sort:  

You are one of the most genuine people I know here on Steemit sir Mav. Everything that you share here are mostly for the benefit of the majority. Selfless is the word. The Ohana is so proud of you along with the other leaders! Ohana also makes me smile in many different ways. And I hope that everyone will continue to uphold the good values of our Ohana -- supportimg each other, bringing laughter to each other, and always welcoming those who are new and those who have left and came back. Family is forever. Cheers!

Awww awesome comment and you made me smile. Thank you for the very kind words.

Indeed Family is forever and no matter how far or long a person has gone they are always welcome to go back and it would be as if they never left.

I see it in a lot of individuals as they pay-it-forward and guide the new ones as well. I know they would be great leaders as well.

Ayiii chichi forever!!!🤗🤗🤗
Proud daddy you are boss @mavs to the ohana!!! Big hug🤗

Chichi for the win! <3 <3

My Chichi heart! Lol

like omg kayo hahahahahha

Proud Dad haha! I'm happy for being part of Ohana and grateful for having to know the people in the family. It helps me in a lot of ways not only in steemit but also in other matters like relieving my stress for the people there are so warm and joyful. You guys may don't know that you always pud smile in my face knowing that I have a family like @steemitfamilyph. And to you kuya @Maverickinvictus thank you for helping me improve and love ka namin kahit binubully ka namin hahahaha

I knew it that you would use that line hahaha!!! I was really proud when you got curie. It was by your own talent and it was a huge win.

Is this an entry on the contest? Because it is great! I am always thankful for your support "Dad" lol. I am one of the many who can attest on how you helped us grow here on Steemit. You've been a role model to me and I am replicating what you do and are now helping the newbies too.

You are right Ohana has been one of the reasons I smile after a looooong day at work. It's a form of stress reliever for me. How I wish more people will interact so we get to know everyone. :) thank you for this post "Dad" lol I can't help it sorry.

Yes it is! I told you I am joining your contest haha.
Indeed the paying-it-forward mentality is what we encourage people to have. Steemit is a gifteconomy and the more you give the more it is returned to you.

Yes I wish more people to join in the fun and camaraderie. I wish everyone to feel that Ohana spirit.

You're always a great leader friend and you've done greater things than this. This group is close-knit because you put lots of hear that in it. Proud of yah. ^^

Lol I don't see myself as a leader but merely as a guide to greater things for people.

I'm glad that you managed to find a happy place to go to in your new Ohana! Since joining Steemit i have also been able to find friendly groups of people to hang around, we even share one :-D If i promise i'll behave would you allow me to join your Ohana too?

Quick hide the women! Cover the children's ears as Luna is here hahahha

People there speak mostly in the local language but there is an English only channel and you are free to join. We are very inclusive of anyone.

Though I'm not always active on the fb group or discord, I'm very happy to see #steemitfamilyph is growing big & being a part of the community. ❤️

Anyway @maverickinvictus, what is an "OVD Vote"? ?

Thanks
Upvoted

Lol you should drop by the Discord or Facebook chat one of these days as it usually full of holes or me getting bullied in good clean fun hahha.

We don't bite much lol.

The OCD vote is from a major curation guild that tries to discover underappreciated talents and posts. If nominated for one votes can be anywhere from 10-90 dollars in value so we really encourage people to do good content.

The meaning of Ohana is excellent, and it suits well to a group who's main intention is to help one another especially the newbies.

Yes indeed thank you sir Long for the kind words.

You're amazing Dad!!! 😍😍
Thank you for all the support, motivations and lending your time just to answer all our question.

I knew it! You hate when we call you dad but deep inside you're admitting it and you're loving it. Hehehehe.

Isa ka pa!!! Hahahha mga bullies ko but I am still proud :)

Yup yup yup!! Thank you :)

Great read, Dad. It was amazing to see our group grow. We are happy to have you in the group. Your support is very much appreciated. You never get tired of helping and guiding others, especially the newbies. Thank you.

-K 😊

OMG you too K! hahhaa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51