Speed Drawing Contest entry "The Don"

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Firstly, I would like to shout out to @cookiespooky for this contest. I mostly do digital stuff, so when I saw his post, I thought it is a good chance for me to do some pencil work which I haven't done in ages.

My drawing is based on Jon Hamm from the series Mad Men. Mad Men is about the office work and politics of an advertising agency in 1960s New York. The series has really good production value , interesting and complex characters. Hamm ties it all together when he plays the lead as Don Draper which is like an American James Bond.

Here is the reference picture that I used.


image source

I also think in his prime, he could pull being Superman that is set in the 50s. He has that look from the old Max Fleischer cartoons.

image source

20 minutes should be more than enough time to get that basic form there. But when the timer came down to zero it was hard to put the pencil down and be done with it but those are the rules.

TIP: You can type in "Timer" in the google search and a handy timer will come up which you can also use as a stopwatch. Google has thought of everything!

So here it is, my 20 minute sketch of the coolest creative cat in town. Donald Draper.

madmenfinal.jpg

What do you think? Does he look like him or someone else?

Thanks for watching :D

wanafsmall.jpg

Latest Work

Whale Wars: Banzai Dolphin
Slothicorn Story Entry
Chinese New Year E-card
State of Sndbox Entry- Camping (won Forth Place)
Sndbox Dtube Animation Contest Entry (won Forth Place)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62