DRAWING A SUPERHERO #6 - AQUAMAN - JASON MOMOA

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody!

More than a month ago I started a series called "Drawing a Superhero" in which I developed my favorite SuperHeroes with my drawing techniques, in this case DCcomics Superheroes.

In this post I will finish this series, maybe start something new, I do not know. I always want to draw everything I see, everything I like and what I find wonderful, I would like to start illustrating Marvel House Superheroes, since they are very popular and there are some characters that catch my attention, we will see how give me time for this.

For reasons of holidays and some work outside Steemit I could not show the last superhero last week, for which I was scheduled but is already here!

We are going to finish by the big thing, in my opinion it is the most complicated character that I have drawn, this took me around 3 days of work, every detail in the suit was something very exhausting, today I finally finished it and I want to show you the drawing :

Aquaman

Escaneo 1.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Very good, as we are going to finish big, I will show step by step how I did it.

Tittle.png

To describe the process. I chose Jason Momoa, the only and best actor of AQUAMAN, he began to illustrate with a HB pencil the eyes, his pupil is white so he shades a little to make them notice, the eyebrows and the depth of the eyes illustrate them with a pencil 4B, Blur and soften with a brush.
For the face I continued using the HB pencil and with the same shade and volume, for the beard and the darker areas I used a 6B pencil, making a very light first layer and then tracing over to avoid gaps, then soften with the brush.
The hair was complicated, this is a complete uproar ... with a 4B pencil I was making strokes, the dark parts were made with a carbon pencil so I avoid the brightness of the graphite, the residual dust of the carbon pencil I use it with the brush , to make a base layer on the hair, use a moldable eraser to make the lights and hair clearer, since this one has at the end the hair much lighter. Finished the hair began the most difficult part of everything, and what took me more days to make, his suit, these are scales which I was drawing and softening one by one, erasing and repeating to take all the same synergy and not harm the style of his suit. Make them with a 2B pencil.
Illustrating scale by scale, softening with the brush and the smudge. The same procedure for the whole suit. On the left side there is more light, some effects were lost, in the center there is more darkness, in the right side the details are much more noticeable, it was more complex so therefore it required much more time.
The right side was more difficult, more details, more time, more soften and more blur, the scales on this side are different, they go in another direction according to the perspective of the photo, although the progress is quite good. One of the most important things for a drawing is very good is patience, without patience things go wrong, no matter how long, no matter how difficult it is, with patience everything is achieved, and it was what most needed for this.

IMG_20180405_155128.jpg

... And after so much patience and persistence I managed to finish it, feeling a great satisfaction, after so many days AQUAMAN was finally born.

This is a detailed list of the materials I used:

  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • HB, 2B, 4B, 6B Mines.
  • Charcoal Pencil.
  • A4 Opaline 180G.
  • Brush.
  • Moldeable Eraser.
  • Diffuser.
  • PATIENCE!!

Dear friends, it has been a complete pleasure for me to present you with my project. I hope you like it as much as me.

You can see my previous post here:
Batman
Superman
Wonder Woman
Flash
Cyborg

Maybe if I get a little excited I'll make a Bonus of some character :)

Thank you all, I say goodbye.
Until next time!

Steemit.png

Sort:  

Thnaks my Friend! :)

I love working working with pencils - in these past 5 years, the majority of my work is b/w
Good post with the step by step development.
upvoted and resteemed

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KenDraw from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Aquaman IS NOT A SUPERHERO! He´s just an dude that can talk with fishes.

Speedy the all mighty one!

Awesome drawing :)

Buen trabajo amigo. Me encantan los detalles de la chaqueta.

gracias bro! bastante complicado hacerlo pero alfin lo logre

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36