Slayer - Some life story, some experience, and some media.

in #slayer8 years ago (edited)

A friend here on Steemit @DamianCraymond did a cool post about the band Slayer awhile ago. Tonight I am inspired so I felt like doing a Slayer post of my own. It all started by learning that Metallica's James Hetfield had moved to Vail, Colorado. I was looking into things and of course Youtube sidetracked me... I have zero doubt that ALL of you have experience with youtube distractions.

Let's talk Slayer... (though you should check out Damian's post... I really like how he presented it).

Slayer


I was a young Metal head growing up in a remote part of Colorado. I didn't live near the city. I did live near a lot of rancher/cowboys that occasionally I'd have friction with, so I was kind of an odd duck.

One day I wandered into an Alco (which was kind of like Walmart) and I was feeling particularly diabolical or something. I emerged from the Alco with these two albums...

As you can see from the captions I added to that image, I was likely reacting to Tipper Gore and the PMRC bullshit, or perhaps the latest Geraldo Rivera Devil Worshipper documentary making my mother paranoid. Either of those would do in a pinch.

I ended up with Slayer's Reign In Blood, and Grim Reaper's Rock You to Hell. This may have been the day I fell from grace, or perhaps it was they day I took my first bite of the apple of knowledge and was thus no longer blissfully ignorant.

One thing is for certain... REIGN IN BLOOD was like nothing I'd ever heard before. I was a huge metal fan, and I imported my metal into this remote region of Colorado. I corrupted many a person with new music.

REIGN IN BLOOD surprised me. Thrash/Speed Metal was my favorite genre at the time. This though took speed to a new level. It had some of the most brutal and rapid rhythms I'd ever heard. That is still true even to this day. To many this is considered one of the top metal albums ever. This was the day of the cassettes still, though I think a few fortunates were starting to get CD Players. I remember being bummed that the entire album actually fit on one side of a cassette tape. Normally, you have to flip the tape over to listen to the other half. With Reign in Blood you simply flipped it over and listened to the same tape again. This is because the songs were so fast they were short.

The opening track Angel of Death has what is likely one of the most amazing studio metal screams in history. It has even been sampled by a few hip hop artists, and techno people and used in their songs. It is about the Holocaust and the Nazi experimentation and killing of Jews. As such there are Jewish metal fans that actually love this song. Check it out...


Auschwitz, the meaning of pain
The way that I want you to die
Slow death, immense decay
Showers that cleanse you of your life
Forced in
Like cattle
You run
Stripped of
Your lifes worth
Human mice, for the angel of death
Four hundred thousand more to die
Angel of death
Monarch to the kingdom of the dead
Sadistic, surgeon of demise
Sadist of the noblest blood


Destroying, without mercy
To benefit the aryan race


Surgery, with no anesthesia
Fell the knife pierce you intensely
Inferior, no use to mankind
Strapped down screaming out to die
Angel of death
Monarch to the kingdom of the dead
Infamous butcher,
Angel of death


Pumped with fluid, inside your brain
Pressure in your skull begins pushing through your eyes
Burning flesh, drips away
Test of heat burns your skin, your mind starts to boil
Frigid cold, cracks your limbs
How long can you last
In this frozen water burial?
Sewn together, joining heads
Just a matter of time
til you rip yourselves apart
Millions laid out in their
Crowded tombs
Sickening ways to achieve
The holocaust
Seas of blood, bury life
Smell your death as it burns
Deep inside of you
Abacinate, eyes that bleed
Praying for the end of
Your wide awake nightmare
Wings of pain, reach out for you
His face of death staring down,
Your blood running cold
Injecting cells, dying eyes
Feeding on the screams of
The mutants hes creating
Pathetic harmless victims
Left to die
Rancid angel of death
Flying free


angel of death
Monarch to the kingdom of the dead
Infamous butcher,
Angel of death

Angel of death

Whoa


Yeah, Whoa. I learned a lot of vocabulary when I was younger from having to look up words in a lot of Slayer lyrics. They of course got the "They are Satanic!"

I have some questions...
"Are Stephen King , Edgar Allen Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Clive Barker, Dean R. Koontz satanic?"

"Why is it music that you can tell a story about anything you want, but as soon as you start telling a horror story you are satanic?"

These guys are way into horror literature, and movies. That is why their lyrics are what they are. I myself am not particularly religious but as far as I know Tom Araya Bass/Vocals for Slayer attends church.

This form of media when you tell a story makes you satanic.

By that logic I guess all the people singing about alcoholism, drug use, etc are all alcoholics and drug addicts....

In reality, such statements are purely Ad-Hominem attacks and have no actual logical basis. Sure there are some foolish Satanic people out there, but most people with much intelligence don't bother. That type of symbology sells though as it is banned and or viewed as a taboo. Taboos attract interest. So go ahead and keep restricting those violent movies, and video games. It'll make them that much more attractive to your children as they age. ;)

Life Continues


Then one summer I am a dish washer at a restaurant. I survived my shifts with my Sony Walkman cassette player and I remember distinctly the summer that Slayer's South of Heaven album came out. I played that one a lot. It was not nearly as fast as Reign in Blood, but how likely is it that lightning will strike the same exact place twice? It did however, have the powerful lyrics, drums, and the haunting use of all the intervals in music that classical artists avoided as the "Devil's Tones" and they were amazing at coming up with wicked sounding guitar riffs...

I would later in my next year of High School be told I needed to read some poetry in front of class. I would go on to read two Slayer songs from this album... Mandatory Suicide, and Live Undead. People (including my teacher) seemed to like my delivery. I might have been like the Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure where they say "Recite some lyrics..." :) That movie was still really new at the time and was one my friends and I really liked.

Mandatory Suicide


This song is powerful and is more or less an anti-war song. At least it is an anti-blindly running into war song. (sarcasm = some pretty satanic shit)


Murder at your every foot step.
A child's toy sudden death.
Sniper blazes you through your knees
Falling down can you feel the heat,
Burn!
Ambushed by the spray of lead
Count the bullet holes in your head.
Offspring sent out to cry,
Living mandatory suicide.
Suicide.


Holes burn deep in your chest,
Raked by machine gun fire.
Screaming soul sent out to die,
Living mandatory suicide.
Suicide.


Lying, dying, screaming in pain.
Begging, pleading, bullets drop like rain.
Mines explode, pain sheers through your brain,
Radical amputation, this is insane.


Fly swatter stakes drive through your chest.
Spikes impale you as you're forced off the crest.
Soldier of misfortune
Hunting with bated breath.


A vile smell, like tasting death.
Dead bodies, dying and wounded
Litter the city streets
Shattered glass, bits of clothing and human deceit.
Dying [in] terror,
Blood's cheap, it's everywhere.
Mandatory suicide, massacre on the front line.

Live Undead


This one should be pretty positive lyrically for people that like Zombies, Vampires, etc.


Cascaded darkness
Walls close in on me.
Nailed shut but my eyes still see.
Severe anguish as my body evolves.
The pain of life after death it resolves.


Emptiness in twilight's rebirth,
The faint sounds of shoveled earth.
Madness growing as your mind dissolves.
Merely secret in my dreams.


Night grows cold, twilight's near,
On the edge of madness the wounds are sheared.
Forms of hanging, flesh shredded carcass
No spared breath.
Imprisoned in a shell, ready to explode.
Dead soul,
Stone cold,
Out into the night.


Voices inside my head
Hold me under.
Voices oppress.
Like roaring thunder.
An echo bouncing inside my brain.
How much can I take of the pain,
The pain!


A war raging deep inside my head,
A split decision that will end with me dead.


You see the agony in my eyes,
Protruding aimless,
I think it's time to...die.


A cannibal's desire feeds the fire
that burns in your head.


Intense pain eats away at your brain,
Thorazine pumping through your veins.


Death walks inside you,
Smell death around you,
Hell's evil spell takes a soul,
Hear the sound of the bell
Counting off death tolls.


Laughing as you eternally rot,
Searching for human flesh
And life's blood.

Live Undead.

Influence on Society and other Artists


I believe Slayer went on to have further reach than people would suspect. They would occasionally end up in the sound track of various movies. Though the interesting thing for me was some of the bizarre and unexpected things other artists did with their songs.

Tori Amos - Raining Blood


So this one was pretty surprising and came out of nowhere. I remember the first time I heard this. I was very familiar with the Slayer song from the album Reign in Blood.

Apocalyptica


These guys are very much worthy of a post of their own, and I likely will provide one unless someone beats me to it. These amazing Cellists (they play Cellos!!!) have rocked many a Slayer, Metallica, and other song. They are absolutely amazing to watch and to listen to. Here is them doing a cover live of South of Heaven.

The Modern Era of Youtube


I've posted the video of Raining Blood being played on a Banjo on several other posts. I encountered a new fun one today and this partially inspired this post. This was the diversion I encountered on youtube.


Steem On!

Sort:  

Informative! (and entertaining; well, at least the ukulele youtube bit).

As a fan of an earlier era of metal from the 60s and 70s, a form called "hard rock" (examples: Black Sabbath, Led Zeplin, Iron Butterfly, Vanilla Fudge), I appreciate the deeper lyrics, fuzzed out guitar riffs and powerful percussion. I was more into the melody and rhythm than lyrics as I began high school, but I soon gravitated toward bands like Yes and Genesis and started listening more to the lyrics.

I became an instant fan of the band Kansas for the way Kerry Livgren explored spirituality and expressed his struggles in the band's music. All of the band members were musical masters of their instruments, and the band had a very unique sound with Robby Steinhardt's violin and orchestral composition, and lyrics that were enunciated and sang with clarity. Kansas was my Slayer of the day.

Have either of you seen the research into the "roots of rock" that Jan Irvin of Gnostic Media has done? This is primary research that reveals a deeper social engineering agenda behind the formation of many rock bands.

Jan and Hans Utter, another excellent researcher and musician himself, go into depth on the music industry and the influence alphabet soup gubernet agencies had on music. For example, did you know the father of Jim Morrison of The Doors was Admiral George Steven Morrison who was commander of U.S. naval forces during the Gulf of Tonkin incident in 1964? That was the false flag excuse Lyndon Johnson used to get the U.S. into the Vietnam war.

Much of the cultural revolution that started in the 50s and gained popular momentum in the 60s was engineered to destroy the family and dumb down youth with the drug culture (Timothy Leary was paid by "the gubernet" to distribute LSD as part of the MK-Ultra program). I am very much a product of that era, however I have largely overcome my indoctrination and thrown off the shackles of my youthful programming.

I can see that I'm really rambling here now so enough. I'm upvoting your post despite the thrash style of metal (it's just not my thing man) as much as for the creative manor this article is written and that you are passionate about music.

The world would be a mighty boring place without diversity, and I applaud your willingness to express yourself through music and writing here on Steemit.

Thanks for the up vote. I am passionate about music. I frequently up vote posts about music that are not my style simply because they are informative, well done, or in some way interesting. I also up vote people making their own Open Mic RAP videos here, because they are creative, even though I am not a fan of rap. :) So I do as you did for me.

On a side note... ALL of the bands you mentioned (especially Yes, Genesis, Kansas) are bands that I like a lot. A LOT! In fact, I can talk about Thrash as I was around when it came into being and it was important to me for a lot of my earlier life. Though if I had to pick my favorite music genre it is Progressive Metal. All that is really is Yes, Kansas, Rush, Genesis, King Crimson, etc with a bit of a more metal drums, distortion, etc. Though I really love Progressive Rock as well which all of those bands are considered. :)

I will write about Thrash frequently because it was the prominent music style I listened to 20+ years ago. It did shape a lot of my later tastes. I went on to become a music major and physics major when I went to college. Mainly so they wouldn't balk at me taking Music Theory Classes and such. They would not let me play classical guitar (guitar is my primary instrument) as my instrument for my major so I trained in Cello. I didn't get good at the Cello though I liked it because, I still mostly practiced guitar. I played in the Jazz band on campus for a bit to expand my knowledge there.

I also was big into electronic music at the time (more Trackers/MODs than MIDI) in terms of making my own. I'd found that if I DIDN'T like a style of music that if I tried to write a piece in that style myself I'd usually begin to appreciate it.

So yeah I will write about Metal quite a bit (many types)... but I like most music forms. I like watching performers of virtually any style... even those I don't like. IF there is something to actually watch. Not too excited about them bobbing with the beat and pushing an occasional button from a performance standard. Those people I have to just listen to the music from a compositional or arrangement perspective as I don't admire the "performance" so I must focus on the music.

I don't like a particular variant of Techno at all from Poland though most other Techno is okay.

I don't like RAP from the studio. The only RAP I truly have any interest in is rap battles where they make up the lyrics and responses on the spot improvisationally. That I can admire.

Duuuude! I'm SO sorry I missed the opp to upvote this when it counted, but I upvoted anyway.... cuz this shit is AWESOME!!!! :D

I feel bad that I haven't been as active on here as I used to be, but life has been gradually getting very complicated, so much so that my posts on here are probably going to have to be fewer and farther between, but my journey on here is far from over, that's for sure. Anyway....

Well done brother, I'm so glad I got on here and saw this! Had a pretty shitty day at work today, and this really helped (by the way, thanks for the shout-out on this post, very much appreciated!). Cheers, good sir! \m/

No problem brother. Life happens. I have stepped away from time to time too. I try to do something here at least once a week. More if I can do it. Yet, we do have a life. I assumed you'd drop back in at some point. :)

Tori Amos! Thats a new one on me! Great post man, I love metal posts. You made me laugh when you mentioned the Bill and Ted reciting lyrics bit

The Bill and Ted moment when I thought of it made me chuckle too and also ushered in a wave of nostalgic thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48