You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Slayer - Some life story, some experience, and some media.

in #slayer8 years ago

Informative! (and entertaining; well, at least the ukulele youtube bit).

As a fan of an earlier era of metal from the 60s and 70s, a form called "hard rock" (examples: Black Sabbath, Led Zeplin, Iron Butterfly, Vanilla Fudge), I appreciate the deeper lyrics, fuzzed out guitar riffs and powerful percussion. I was more into the melody and rhythm than lyrics as I began high school, but I soon gravitated toward bands like Yes and Genesis and started listening more to the lyrics.

I became an instant fan of the band Kansas for the way Kerry Livgren explored spirituality and expressed his struggles in the band's music. All of the band members were musical masters of their instruments, and the band had a very unique sound with Robby Steinhardt's violin and orchestral composition, and lyrics that were enunciated and sang with clarity. Kansas was my Slayer of the day.

Have either of you seen the research into the "roots of rock" that Jan Irvin of Gnostic Media has done? This is primary research that reveals a deeper social engineering agenda behind the formation of many rock bands.

Jan and Hans Utter, another excellent researcher and musician himself, go into depth on the music industry and the influence alphabet soup gubernet agencies had on music. For example, did you know the father of Jim Morrison of The Doors was Admiral George Steven Morrison who was commander of U.S. naval forces during the Gulf of Tonkin incident in 1964? That was the false flag excuse Lyndon Johnson used to get the U.S. into the Vietnam war.

Much of the cultural revolution that started in the 50s and gained popular momentum in the 60s was engineered to destroy the family and dumb down youth with the drug culture (Timothy Leary was paid by "the gubernet" to distribute LSD as part of the MK-Ultra program). I am very much a product of that era, however I have largely overcome my indoctrination and thrown off the shackles of my youthful programming.

I can see that I'm really rambling here now so enough. I'm upvoting your post despite the thrash style of metal (it's just not my thing man) as much as for the creative manor this article is written and that you are passionate about music.

The world would be a mighty boring place without diversity, and I applaud your willingness to express yourself through music and writing here on Steemit.

Sort:  

Thanks for the up vote. I am passionate about music. I frequently up vote posts about music that are not my style simply because they are informative, well done, or in some way interesting. I also up vote people making their own Open Mic RAP videos here, because they are creative, even though I am not a fan of rap. :) So I do as you did for me.

On a side note... ALL of the bands you mentioned (especially Yes, Genesis, Kansas) are bands that I like a lot. A LOT! In fact, I can talk about Thrash as I was around when it came into being and it was important to me for a lot of my earlier life. Though if I had to pick my favorite music genre it is Progressive Metal. All that is really is Yes, Kansas, Rush, Genesis, King Crimson, etc with a bit of a more metal drums, distortion, etc. Though I really love Progressive Rock as well which all of those bands are considered. :)

I will write about Thrash frequently because it was the prominent music style I listened to 20+ years ago. It did shape a lot of my later tastes. I went on to become a music major and physics major when I went to college. Mainly so they wouldn't balk at me taking Music Theory Classes and such. They would not let me play classical guitar (guitar is my primary instrument) as my instrument for my major so I trained in Cello. I didn't get good at the Cello though I liked it because, I still mostly practiced guitar. I played in the Jazz band on campus for a bit to expand my knowledge there.

I also was big into electronic music at the time (more Trackers/MODs than MIDI) in terms of making my own. I'd found that if I DIDN'T like a style of music that if I tried to write a piece in that style myself I'd usually begin to appreciate it.

So yeah I will write about Metal quite a bit (many types)... but I like most music forms. I like watching performers of virtually any style... even those I don't like. IF there is something to actually watch. Not too excited about them bobbing with the beat and pushing an occasional button from a performance standard. Those people I have to just listen to the music from a compositional or arrangement perspective as I don't admire the "performance" so I must focus on the music.

I don't like a particular variant of Techno at all from Poland though most other Techno is okay.

I don't like RAP from the studio. The only RAP I truly have any interest in is rap battles where they make up the lyrics and responses on the spot improvisationally. That I can admire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51