Why I joined SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sims7 years ago (edited)

This was my comment in response to a post I read from @eco-alex, in NEW TO STEEMIT? NEED HELP? READ WELCOME MESSAGES FROM 12 PEOPLE TO HELP YOU ON YOUR WAY! WELCOME TO STEEMIT!!! WIN $1 or $10 SBD JUST FOR COMMENTING

I started on Steemit because my friend, @snook, has a son @ecoinstant who had been writing on Steemit, and he loved it. The fact that the social site was focused on reading, and writing was enough to peek my interest. The idea that I could earn money for my writing, was the best reason to join.

Sim Girl

Right before I joined Steemit, I wrote a book, How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life. I published the book on Kindle at Amazon, days before I joined. I was looking for a way to blog, so that I could promote my book. I did not know very much about writing a blog, so when @snook told me about Steemit, it just fit.

I had a lot of topics to write about, because I am interested in many subjects, but from previous attempts at writing a music blog, I decided I had better write about something I know, and that I am good at; this being playing the Sims game.

This also seemed to fit because my book, How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life, is about how to live your life successfully, the same way I play the Sims game. What better way to understand my book, than to explain to my readers how to play the game?

Book

After only sixteen days on Steemit, I have written more than just a how-to blog; I have also written a few short stories, a few articles about writing, and a Steemit song. My account is worth $150.00 and I have 98 followers. I have met new people, joined the eco-train, and have made Steemit a part of my every day life.

My theory about building skills, and moving up in a career in my book, have also been proven correct. The more I write, the higher my writing skills become, the more I can do with my writing, and the more I can earn with my skill. The more I post on Steemit, the more followers I have, the higher my reputation on Steemit, and the more earning potential my posts have.

Steem

The novelty of earning money for my writing, has been replaced with the desire to entertain and inform my readers. Yes, it is cool to make money for my writing, especially after trying to be published for over twenty years, but I like that I can also read other people's writing, and learn more about those in this community.

The main reason I joined Steemit was to escape the prison of Facebook that I have been in for eight years. I found myself endlessly scrolling the wall every day, reading the same senseless, and low-information posts that were making me dumber every time I read them. My brain was craving something new. Steemit was that something new I had been looking for, and I do believe this is only the beginning.

For More Posts @simgirl, follow these links:
Be Happy
Sally Steemit: Gutters or Strikes?
I’m on Steemit…. Now What Do I Do? How Do You Steemit?
What’s the Write Way to Blog?
Playing the Sims: The Great Start- Choosing a Career
Playing the Sims: Skills, Needs, and Other Things

How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life

SimgirlGif

EcoSupport
What is the ecoTrain in a nut shell!

Simgirlbanner

Sort:  

You are so right Simgirl!
I truly believe facebook is a big contributing factor in the fact that kids losing their ability for long term concentration.
Steemit is a paradigm shift. You are being rewarded for contributing to this community, so it's not just useless scrolling anymore, it's reading and writing, which are both devices for learning.

You are right. Facebook has gone from being a platform for original thought to people posting articles posted by other people, which I have usually read before, and pictures of what people are eating. Besides the lack of original content, there is also a bias against real life. We post filtered, arranged, photoshopped images of a Pinterest worthy life. We post positive quotes. What about our sad days? No one posts pictures of themselves crying or starts meaning ful discussions about important deep personal choices much. I wanna see the real person, not the posed plastic pictures they chose to post.

Yep! I've wanted to leave Facebook for a long time, but needed something to replace the habit. I kept thinking I would lose contact with people I am friends with on there, and lose all the progress on my games, and have no way to see the live feeds I was addicted to, but I know it is the evolution of social sites, and that eventually everyone I know will be on this site, or one similar. Even when I deactivated my accounts, Facebook showed pictures of my friends, saying how much they would miss me. An extra dose of guilt before I go. But I stood strong! I don't even miss it.

Here instead of posting what you ate for lunch, people can take pictures of their meals, and create posts about all the foods they ate that day, or how they prepared them. They can write about how their day went, what problems they faced, and how they solved them, instead of the vague comments about them being upset. We all sit there, like okay, is there like a follow up to this story??? lol

Shoot, people should be excited that they can get paid to post all their drama on Steemit! lol

Ugg. My friend got me back on FB to see her photos. I guess there is no escape.... :D

Welcome to Steemit! Nice to meet you. :-)
Upvoted and followed!
I hope you have lots of fun here and make many friends! :-)
Thank you for sharing! :-)

Thanks. It is nice to meet you too. Your blog seems very interesting. I will be reading your posts. I love psychology.

You're very welcome. :-)
Thank you for your reply! :-)
Wishing you happiness, smiles, sweet dreams and sunshine! :-)

Welcome to steemit @simgirl , your gifs are quite beautiful how amazing and colorful it is. Good luck and may you have a good fortune here. Followed you so i can check your trends.

Thanks for the welcome. It seems like I have been here for a while. I was surprised to look and see I have only been here sixteen days! I love colors! I try to spread a rainbow of color wherever I go. Ironically, I always wear black. Go figure. It looks like you have a lot of post to read, so I have followed you, and will be checking them out!

Yeah.. sure. It seems you are really addicted with The Sims Game. =)

So true. I was so tired of the echo chamber. Looking forward to reading more of how to Sim my life! (Even though I've never played sims...that's okay right?) :)

Of course, anyone can Sim their life! I don't give my Sims any slack in the game. They go to work tired, they are sore from workouts, and they talk... a lot! I mostly stress in my book, How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life, to be sure to have fun, and be social every day. This will help to keep depression away. I have always been a gamer, so my first choice for fun is a game, but people can do all sorts of things for fun, and having fun with others, makes us all happy :D

Here's your order.

Right click on the image to save file or copy image address.


simgirl.gif


Thank you for using the Custom Banner Store.

Thank you!!!!

This is great! I agree, the more I write the better I get! Ive been leveling up my skills in image editing, markup and html tags, even video and music production!

Steemit seems to gamify writing and content creation in just the right way to motivate me, and the community seems uniquely great and positive.

Yep! When I started, I was editing my posts, posting, and then editing again. I have been able to edit more before I post, and edit less after. I look at my earlier posts, and wish I could still go back and edit it. But that is the beauty of block chain. People can see my success and errors, long after I am gone.

The help in this community is tremendous, and the creativity is contagious. I learn a lot from reading others' posts. And love the fact that I can communicate with people from all over the world! I am also learning a lot about cryptocurrency.

Indeed, and theres a lot to learn!

P.S. There is still time to join the Steem Song writing contest! Enter before October 20th!

Steemit Song Collaboration Project Contest - Post your entries in comments

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

A new Steemian ^^ hello @simgirl I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thanks. Happy to be here!

Hi, Simgirl, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thanks! I would be glad to follow you. We can grow together! Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30