Showcase-Sunday - "Sheep, wolves, flocks & packs"

Overcoming many Steem Hard Forks before and two years later. Basically @nonameslefttouse gives me license to resurrect, refry and retort one of my ancient incomprehensible posts which even today seem pretty relevant to the current 'social' dynamic going on.

The recent appearance of exclusive tribes with their brandnew rules. Small islands of assembly and interaction. Tiny atomized niches with clans of specific subject discussion and engagement. And the suddenly rampant proliferation of 'Curation' groups, guilds and trails pivoting from their profitable previous 'bizniz' tactics & practices within the steem blockchain.

Made me think about which one of my previous articles would be worth choosing to participate in the Showcase-Sunday initiative as a Lazarus just came out of the grave to make a few neurons out there squeak and then hopefully squeeze some drops of coherent live interaction & upvotes. };)

Therefore, in the uplifting spirit to jump shamelessly and participate actively into the #showcase-sunday crafty movement. I guess I'm gonna pick this original piece next, as my first contribution to fulfill the tag.

The modern etymology of a mind hack.

"Sheep, wolves, flocks & packs"

(Oct 24 2017)

Last night I was reading an excellent post from my friend @tarazkp whose title is: "Fear of mind: A hijacking" This great article kept me thinking for a long time about the issue. And the more I analyzed it, the more I was inclined to respond with a comment that really would encourage a true heated discussion about what I consider to be a matter of the utmost importance for the current times.

This post immediately led me to review my own huge library of links and notes that I've been accumulating over time about the subject. Just to be able to quickly comment and produce the effect I wanted to fire-up in his article through a remarkable thought provoking reply. Yes, a comment kinda extravagant like most of mine. }:)

But the truth was, I was not quick enough to find the notes and links I was looking for in my files. Consequently, I only responded 'in part' with the one that first came to my head of what I wanted to highlight & discuss over there. And then, I decided that to discuss the subject in greater depth, I should write my own post later to achieve my mischievous goals better.

However, I would like to highlight a fragment of his remarkable and striking article below before start to develop mine.

"The vast majority of us will not invest into understanding who we are and this means we open ourselves to being told who we are and who we should be."

"The sheep - The wolves - The flock and The pack"

Ask anyone who actually keeps sheep. Sheep are weird. Sheep are evolved to have a very different intelligence than humans. But sheep are not stupid. Sheep are not obedient. And sheep are definitely not easily led.
Sheep are intensely selfish, intensely intelligent (but only in an other-regarding way) and intensely dogmatic, willing to pursue a myopic behavior even unto death.

"Zero altruism and overwhelming selfishness"

The most popular misconception about sheep is that they are obedient followers. It’s true that they’re not leaders. It’s true that they are incredibly sensitive to other sheep. But it’s also true that they are the most selfish mammal that you could ever encounter. They don’t lead other sheep or form leadership structures like a pack because they don’t care about other sheep. Every sheep lives in a universe of One, which makes them just about the most non-obedient creature around.

"Sheep Logic or ¿How The Common Knowledge Game Works?"

It’s not what the crowd believes. ¡It’s what the crowd believes that the crowd believes!
It's fascinating indeed what happens when people's sense of what everyone else thinks shifts.
A current world managed by high-functioning sociopaths. Shameless creatures of jealousy and schadenfreude, which is exactly the type of human most purely designed to succeed in the modern age.

"A shameless politics has no honor. A riskless market has no reward"

In the same way that the modern story of what it means to be a sheep — docile, obedient, stupid — is totally wrong, so is the modern story of what it means to be a wolf. We think of a wolf as the epitome of rapacious independence, but wolves, like all pack animals, are far less independent (and far less greedy) than your average sheep. Unlike sheep, wolves can act outside of their group because they’re not consumed by other-regarding behavior, but those actions are ultimately in service to the pack.

A sheep always acts within its group, but it’s never in service to the flock, only to its own needs.

Yes, sheep are indeed sociopaths. But don't miss the point, they are not nearly as dangerous as some other predatory sociopaths out there in the wild.

¡Hence, The Law will be always The Law!

The Law

Yeh Yeh Yeh! for the SOURCE to ingest the full nutritional context: ¡Click on the image!

In the meantime, I think I'd better smoke a big cigar waiting for your comments. }:)

This is a #discussion post!

A #discussion post is intended to spark an engaging conversation with the community. Everyone is encouraged to participate in the discussion below with thoughtful comments! Remember to upvote the comments that are adding value to the discussion. You can read more about the #discussion tag here: Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!

Yeah! that's all folks. A renewed 'discussion' post as my first entry to the proposal of that nameless & homeless chap who has pushed me to do this by his inviting experimental call for the relaxed weekends.
So, don't blame me yo. Blame him. He is the only one absolutely and totally guilty in all this plot of revive corpses. };)

«-'Abstract Aural Bit'-»

«««-$-»»»

Leave a comment. Share your experiences and feedback. ¡Be part of the conversation!

"Follows, Comments, Resteems & Upvotes will be highly appreciated"

Cranky Gandalf

Cheers!!

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @macchiata.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Oh! thank you! Thank you for this yummy piece of cake @macchiata!! :)

Oh boy, finally one of my posts 'captured' by @helpie's radar. Hahahaha

LOL gotta share some cakes around

Yeah mate. Spread the sweetness!! :D

Ayy cheers!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 147 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @por500bolos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I like this breakdown of sheep, and although I use the word sheeple it feels like this fills that space which seemed to be amiss when using the word with my narrow definition of sheep. Your explanation accounts for many of the variables that go unspoken and unexplained when just saying the sheep. At the back of my mind, I was always happy no one pushed it further because I do not think I could say anything other than "They are sheep they follow any stupid thing because others do" Maybe now I can flesh it out more and even get my contempt to translate better.

To a degree, it is good to be a sheep with everything it entails, although none of the other sheep care you are safe biding your time protected by numbers, unless you are a... rather not. Something I guess can be admired is their conviction in what they do. I do not truly understand fanboy conviction or patriotism style things, you lose sight of the line in the sand and you do not reassess new information so you never grow and learn.

Then again if you are the only one that does it might make you a martyr because with growth and things you do need those around you to adopt the same values. With so few even having any concern for not harming the habitat they are in or those in the habitat the best that can happen is segregation especially in a decentralized world. Mainly because now more than ever instead of wanting to enforce control and just do a good job many opt for letting the masses decide. The new tribes are all fine and dandy, pretty shiny things but they are merely random groups, implementing the most basic control you could and hoping fanboying makes something happen...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95