My Steemit Experience This Far

in #sharing6 years ago (edited)

Steemit, as I have found out, is an interesting community. In my year of being here, nothing says positive like this site. Though a few greedy souls lurk in the shadows of selfishness, most people here would do a lot to elevate this community.

I speak from a place of continuously thinking I wanna give up but then I read inspiring journeys inspiring me to hold on.

To believe a little in the future of a platform that is hailed unstable yet it has still managed to change so many lives. I mean, what if it was indeed stable? My mind can only drool at the possibilities... especially in continents like mine.

In Africa, unemployment disses even graduate papers. Our economy is still staggering behind with third world countries. Corruption has eaten away resources and led to massive looting. This takes away capital and opportunities required to create more jobs.

Sadly, I don't think there's much we can do via ballots. Not with the tribalism in my country Kenya, not with the racism in South Africa or the endless rebel rule in DRC.

But with a platform on a global scale like Steemit, we can support each other as Africans. As Asians. As Mexicans. As any third world country. As global citizens.

I wish dreams can be typed in detail on a keyboard, I'd explain mine to sell the whole idea. I guess adversity has taught me to wish everyone the best and this community can do some good if we let it thrive. Conversations like this one, are you a steem 1 percenter? by @tarazkp should be instigated between appropriate parties.

It is because of such conversations that I and all one percenters were patiently made aware of why we should invest in steem, if we plan on having a future here still by @tarazkp which is good because I am guessing we ALL want one. I demand you read it for your own good... especially if your SP is as pathecially low as mine (214.738) :D

I am pulling up my socks here as I recently voted for my first fifteen witnesses, I am still deciding on the remaining fifteen. This list includes @ocd through @ocd-witness, @reggaemuffin, @pharesim, @smooth.witness, @curie, @followbtcnews, @blocktrades, @anyx, @drakos, @themarkymark, @pfunk, @someguy123, @jesta, and the @cryptodrive. If you have not voted for your witnesses, you can start there.

Do your personal research, #generalchat and discord helps a lot especially if you don't know who does what here and you want to vote for the right person. Also if you know someone else who deserves to be a witness, please holla in the replying section. I'll appreciate it.

Screenshot_2018-05-23_18.25.57.png


This is my today's attempt to share as I polish my writing skills. Hopefully you've enjoyed... You can check yesterday's on my recent posts! :D

Recent Posts :)

Poetry... Earthling.

Writing... Fighting Challenges. (Yesterday's share)

Poetry... Reborn.

Thank you for coming.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding your first year of steemit. It definitely is an interesting community and there definitely are some greedy souls as you appropriately stated. I too have wondered at times if it is worth it and am still trying to figure it out and find a happy medium. That steemit 1 percenter posting was excellent especially in the discussions that ensued. Anyways, best of luck to you in your country's steemit journey.

I believe it will all be better soon. That many souls can find themselves here. .. The one percenter covered all of the needs those Steemians trying to rise above the minnow fog. Thank you for your read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50