Appreciating The Smaller Things I Life

in #share2steem6 years ago (edited)

Being able to make my friends happy with a gift so small, is one of the biggest delights in my life.

20181206_182105.jpgClick to enlarge

December 6th

Every year on December 6th, it is a tradition here in Belgium and the Netherlands to celebrate Saint Nicholas, patron saint of the children.

Parents lie to their kids for years, telling them a bearded man on a horse is bringing them presents if they have been good during the previous year. The Saint has some some dark-skinned helpers, who crawl to the chimney to deliver the presents. If kids didn't behave, they are told that the saint won't bring them presents, and his helpers will put them in a bag and beat them up.

The entire idea is so wrong in so many different ways, still, it's one of the most popular celebrations of the year.

sint-and-piet-559519_1280.jpg
Source

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

Don't Believe Their Lies = Not Getting Presents

In a lot of families, people stop buying their children presents once they stop believing the story about the Saint bringing the presents with him from Spain, and start realizing that the presents are bought by their parents themselves. Most kids become aware of the fact that their parents have been lying to them when they are about 6 years old.

Personally, I don't think you are setting a good example as a parent by lying to your kids from the day they were born, but of course everybody is free to do as he likes.

My mum never lied to me. She never pretended this Saint Nicholas figure was real in any way. Still, I received a present every year until she died when I was 30 years old. I have great respect for that.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

Keeping The Tradition Alive

I'm not very fond of celebrations based on Christian traditions, but to honor her legacy, I try to keep the tradition in alive.

I don't have any children, but I think it's a lot of fun surprising my grown-up friends (who don't receive gifts from their parents anymore) with a little gift on that day. My gifts are small, but they are always super happy with it. Their inner child is still glad that the 'Saint' didn't forget about them.

It's wonderful to see how happy people can be with just a small gift.

Since the 'Saint' mostly brings a lot of tangerines and chocolate, I created a very last-minute gift for the friends that would come over for dinner that night.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

DiY Gift

I didn't have time to go to the store, so I had to work with what I had.

So I filled a small flower pot with a tangarine and some chocolate, added some glow-in-the dark figures and a feather to it. Once finished, I noticed something was missing.

My craft suppies are very limited, but I had finally found my #googlyeyes a couple of days earlier, and used them to give the small present just that little extra touch.

This was the end result:

20181206_182105.jpg
Click to enlarge

I'm not very handy, nor do I have a lot of inspiration when it comes to DIY gifts, so they still look like they were made by a 5 years old. My friends didn't care about that. They were just excited that someone had put in the effort to give them a little gift.

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcvwkQa8A7z5ooVs4b19kkfdzoVLgjNvy4iHZ5kD3JZjx9iRGaf8xYFam6KdmzMapMBR3wJUpgeCoSCB7boNfrbN4E1Tk.png

Enjoying The Small Things In Life

I felt so satisfied seeing the lights in their eyes. They looked like toddlers who had just received the very expensive present they wanted so badly. Their happiness was the best gift I could ever get..

It's nice to be surrounded with people who know how to appreciate the smallest things in live... 💜💜


Share your Instagram posts on Steemit on autopilot with Share2Steem

Webp.net-gifmaker_1-1.gif


Orginal Post On Instagram


I got my friends a (very) little something for our Saint Nicholas celebration. It's satisfying to see how 30- and 40 year olds can still appreciate the smaller things in life... 💜😎


#share2steem #googlyeyes #life #love #stemitbloggers #gifts #presents #friendship #sinterklaas #funny #diy #hapiness #instagood #fun #thebest #tangerines #chocolate #surprise #payitforward #enjoythelittlethings #diypresent #rewarding #gift





signature2.gif

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Images have been sourced inside the post. Images that aren't sourced were taken myself or created with The Logo Creator 7.

More Posts You Might Like


Learn all the basics of the Steem Blockchain with SteemSavvy

steemsavvy468x60.gif



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



JOIN THE DISCORD

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

I love your thinking my friend. Nothing that is based on lies can be good. I remember how upset I was when I found out. But I soon forgave My Mum and Dadbthe next year when the presents still arrived. How easy it is to forgive lol. 😁 Happy Hollidays.

Posted using Partiko Android

So you were one of the lucky ones, haha. Many of my friends haven't received gifts since they were like 6 or 7 years old...

Posted using Partiko Android

Well look on the bright side look how you have saved the planets resources by not receiving things you didnt need 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

That little extra touch sure makes a big difference :)

Isn't it alwags that little final touch that makes the difference ? ;0)

Posted using Partiko Android

What's important is that the gift is genuinely from the heart. No about how big or expensive it is... That should be the true meaning of gift..
Love your creativity... And I'm sure your friends would love it too

Thanks, @ireenchew. For years I really struggled with the fact that 'm not artistic: I color, draw, paint and cfaft at the same level I did 35 years ago, in kindergarden. Meanwhile I've learned that
a. I'll probably have other talents
b. If it comes straight from the heart, it is appreciated for sure :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 13.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.671 which ranks you at #1576 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1567).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

oh wow :D this has to be one of the most heart-warming #GooglyEyes posts I've seen in a while.

Embrace the inner 5-year-old!

Thanks for sharing this wonderful post with #GooglyEyes!

Thanks for the kind words. I wanted to make it a short post, but these pictures just needed their background stofy tl be told.
Thanks again for the prize and the feeling of accomplishment that it gave me :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

What a very cute diy creative craft gift! Love it! Congrats on your win as well! 😉

Absolutely! 😉

Hi simplymike !

After approximatively 48 hours, your post has 3.927 of pending rewards.
To compensate the fact that @share2steem is taking a fee on your posts, please allow us to upvote you via @tipu.

Our fee : 0.393
Value of votes you got from S2S trails : 0.264
Value to compensate : 0.129

!tipuvote 0.129

For the latest news about the Share2Steem application, visit our @share2steem profile.

Participate in our Christmas Challenge : 5 SBI shares to win !

See you soon on https://www.share2steem.com

This message is generated automatically.

This post is supported by $0.11 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48