Shady Exchanges price fixing where you lose.

in #shapeshift7 years ago

Hopefully everyone knows this, I mean really! I hope that everyone finds this information as uninformative as only second nature. However, I did not know and due to experience first hand I feel compelled to let the community know.

Friday June 16th 2017 I had just over 283,000 DogeCoin kind of stagnant in my cryptostash. I felt some risky behavior and decided to shift my Doge to something that might move a little more. I decided to go to ByteCoin.. Alright now hear me out. Please spare me from the ultimate mistake move to begin with. I know personally now, that alone was stupid. (unless you like Byte) either way I consider it a stupid move now. However I based my findings on such data as coincap.io , coinmarketcap.com. I have been using exodus app to shapeshift coins with great success however somewhat limited as to to exposure to the other coins. Wanting Bytecoin 'I had a deathwish I'm telling you' I found the shift site that would do it and that site is www.changer.com I checked the going rate of the coin and it seemed to be a good deal I loaded up my at the time roughly $900 USD in doge. and exchanged it for Byte.. Success I thought. after realizing I had no damn wallet for Byte I quickly bashed through that in order to send it to it. HOLY SHIT! i've been scanning the Blockchain for 3 hours and I am not even 20% complete.. long pause. .. 20 hours later. My block finally scanned and I had the 262,000 Bytecoins after this fiasco of sweating bullets for 23 hours. I was practically done with Bytecoin already and looked into just blowing it at a loss because I had already then been exposed to somewhat gloom and doom of the coin. That was my first attempt to shift to something else. to my dismay, www.changer.com "the very site I shifted to bytecoin to begin with" doesn't allow you to shift from bytecoin only to bytecoin. I thought. Thats messed up, after poking around and going to changelly.com I found that my 262,000 Bytecoins were only good for $447.00 USD worth of BitCoin.. I immediately sneered at the screen and thought screw you changelly.com you suck. I then check around and found poloniex.com Sweet they're selling ByteCoin and I'll make a profit. Create account upload photos of me with ID and all that. Go to deposit Byte Coin... Sorry we don't accept Bytecoin... WTF! I think? that's bullshit.

It then dawned on me.. I've been taken.![poloshade.PNG]
Here is an image of Poloniex.com saying "Temporarily disabled"
()

Here is an image of coincap.io showing the prices for Bytecoincoincapshade.PNG

and here is an image of coinmarketcap.com showing the price of the exchanges. capcoinshade.PNG

If you'll notice the prices and some at .0032 others at .0020
exchanges ALL OF THEM with the high prices. Don't accept bytecoin deposits. Yes you heard that. They disabled bytecoin deposits. SO there price is based on internal trades because they'll sell it to you at that price all day. you might even be able to sell it if you keep it on their exchange. But remember, I shifted from dogecoin using www.changer.com. I was then practically pissed. WHERE THE HELL ARE THEY GETTING THIS PRICE if you can't deposit? that's messed up. So I asked www.changer.com where they get the prices from if they don't allow deposits or shapeshifts? they responded saying that bytecoin deposits are disabled. ... Right, yes I can see that, Where do you get the price for current market value? because it's sure as hell not what I paid for them..

TLDR: I lost $400 USD by using www.changer.com

Here is what you get for 286,000 Doge at changer.comchanger.PNG

Here is what you get when you go to changelly.com
changelly.PNG

and to think I almost went to 29 Litecoin that day SMH

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @zohaibkhan Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thanks. It's not hard. I just don't want people to lose money on simple mistakes :)

Congratulations @gurugarzah! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gurugarzah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63