Shadow Photo Contest Round 67 - Leaf Shadows ~ A Delicate Canopy

in #shadowphoto5 years ago

This is my entry for the Shadow Photo Contest Round 67 - Leaf Shadows. Thank you @melinda010100 for the Shadow Photo Contest! Be sure to check out the contest post for the rules and how to enter your leafy shadow photo!

My photo was taken on a day that started out cloudy with light rain off and on. We (husband and I) were on the Falling Branch Trail which is part of Rocks State Park in Harford County, Maryland. We were there to see the Kilgore Falls. On our way up to the Falls, the sun began peeking out occasionally. It was during one of those occasions that I came upon this little tree. The little tree had a delicate look to it and it's branches made a little canopy overhead and over the trail. It was a beautiful sight as the sun came out and shined down over the little tree and its pretty green leaves. This is the photo I took of the little tree and the shadow it cast.

My Entry

ifrmni4bp7.jpg

Most of the trail going up was cloudy but once the sun came out, it stayed out for a while. This is a photo that I took along the same trail when the sun was trying to break through the clouds.

li4gb46ht1.jpg

Earlier in the day, the clouds looked a bit ominous. I took this next photo as we were on our way there.

ix14yklfxv.jpg

Later in the afternoon, it turned ominous again. We were in Monkton, Maryland when we got alerts on our phones of a tornado warning. The following day we heard on the news that an EF1 tornado did, in fact, touch down in Monkton. My husband looked it up on the map and it was pretty close to where we had been. I'm just happy we didn't run into it and it didn't run into us. 😊

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

That is a beautiful leaf shadow photo! How fun to see an entry from you! Don't you just love that fresh new green color in the woods right now? I'm glad you missed the tornado, too!

Thank you Melinda!! It was a really pretty shade of new green and the sun shining through the leaves gave it a magical look. Made me feel blessed to have seen it. Me too..they are scary! 😬

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hard to do shadows on gloomy days :-)

Thank you @manorvillemike!! Now, now, an artificial light will make some awesome shadows also. 😎

Won't that give you an artificial shadow :_)

Hmmm..now you're making me think too hard..lol! ;)

That shadow shot is so cool, good luck in the contests, thats scary stuff with the Tornado touching down I am glad you were safely out of its path

Thank you @tattoodjay! I found out this morning that I am a winner! My first shadow photo win..yay! Me too Jay...that was way too close.

Woohoo Congratulations ;)

Thank you Jay! :)

Most Welcome :)

Those lovely green leaves have certainly captured the sun perfectly and created a great shadow.

Thank you so much @trudeehunter! It was so pretty how it draped over the trail.

The path with the shadows looks so inviting to hike on. The sky is darkening but you captured a lovely red barn. 😊 Happy you were out of the tornado’s path. One so close would be scary!

Thank you Jo! We were at someplace special when the alerts came in. I was telling the person there about my friend in Canada (you) and I was trying to get a particular photo. Did not turn out quite like I wanted as it was an unplanned stop and I did not have a better camera but when you see it then I think (maybe) you will see why I wanted that particular photo. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47