LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 03 - post026

There was no point in arguing. I became the void and methodically went around from World to World placing my barriers. I then returned home.




Previous Post 025


1477

“Do not ask me again to attack, I will not! Can none of you see that there is something not right with the whole situation? They are acting against their own instincts, they are neither possessive nor aggressive by nature. Something must be affecting them.”

Themi cleared his throat so I turned to him.

“Could they be suffering from culture shock? Think back to our own history, the results of European ships visiting parts of the world where the people did not share our culture. Though they often started off friendly, they tended to become violent as the shock of our culture made itself felt.”

Jonathan answered, “I do not agree Themi. Those that turned violent did so out of genuine grievances, even if the grievances were based on the differences of our cultures. For instance, our missionaries trying to alter their way of life. Far more often though, the reasons were economic. Our people taking advantage of them, bringing hunger and despair to them.”

“You are both right as applies to this situation. I have brought them twice to the brink of mass suicide. Our attack and killing of so many of them was far more painful to them than we have probably realised. Solomon tended to try and smooth things between us.

The whole reason for their existence was shown to be false and having the opposite effect to what they had intended. They have had to release souls and in doing so they have been left with no further purpose to their existence. To top it all off, I learnt how to become the void and their very existence, the food they eat, the number of births they have, all depend on me. Now that I spell it out it is beginning to sound as if I have been the cause, driving them all into a psychosis. Themi, how do I undo the damage?”

Perikli interrupted. “I think you should wait to hear from Ordinx. If they speak to him you may have a better and sounder basis for making decisions. I also suggest that none of us go to the void until this matter has been settled. To do otherwise would only provoke them.”

“I have to go Perikli, the barriers do not exist permanently, I have to replenish the energy on a regular basis. Even the food the Sparklers eat, the energy, it has to be imported by me. Their population is so vast that all the energy within this area would be depleted within weeks. If Ordinx comes to us within the next few days I will risk it, thereafter I have to go there.”

I knew the time would not pass easily and my heart would be like lead within me. I reminded myself that Sam and Meli will both be taking this very hard and that I should show extra love to them. Seeing Sylvestro also reminded me of our last duty.

“Sylvestro, you will have to return home by tomorrow night. We would love to link you to us so that you become a Cherinian, but I am worried that something may happen and prevent me from being here to see to it. I do not want to push you to make a decision immediately. I know that your body is already giving you problems due to your visit to the void, so this is not a good time to ask you to make a decision. The others suffer also, but they have had time to learn to cope with it. Will you mind Cherine alone linking you if you so decide tomorrow, and it happens while I am not here?”


1478

“You are asking whether I may wish to return to my life and leave all this as a dream behind me, or whether to become a part of it and be a dreamer?”

“A nice way to put it.”

“There is no question Roberto. If you had asked when I first came, fear may have pushed me to make the wrong decision. Now there is no fear, only wonder.”

“Edward, you and your wife, you prefer to wait?”

“She is ready. I fear I may not make a good Cherinian yet. Your entire philosophy is the opposite of how I have lived till now.”

“What of your youth, did not your dreams of that time resemble ours?”

He gave a small smile, “They did. Now that I think of it, I did not recognise it, but Hettie never truly learnt to think as I do. What she did was mostly love me and try to follow the path I had taken. It may not be good for the Cherinians to have me as one of you, I think you should give me time to adjust so that I do not end up poisoning your loved ones.”

“If you could Edward, I would welcome you with twice as much reason, as it may have the effect of making them more practical. I fear they will poison you instead with their dreams of love and empathy. It would have been good to test our beliefs, but I do not think you are truly the person you were when you first came here.”

He shook his head in wonder. “If you will risk it, then I agree.”

“Not only for the sake of the love you have for your wife?”

“It is part of it.”

“I’ll accept that.” I changed to Greek. “Apostoli, you and your daughters, Martha and Vicky, do you still feel too bewildered and shocked or do you wish to join us?”

“My daughters are eager, as all young ones they were able to adapt faster. I still feel a superstitious fear. Roberto, how would this affect my life? I cannot start showing to all love and empathy. In my business that would lead to bankruptcy. There are many criminal elements that wish to use the club for selling drugs, prostitution and so on. I have to be harsh.”

“Alki, should you answer him or should Perikli? Apostoli, do you believe either of them have become soft, can you see Perikli telling his officers to love criminals?”

That got a laugh, but I made sure they had time to talk to him, to explain that if anything he would become even less tolerant of those things he had mentioned. No Cherinian would condemn any prostitute or the service she offers. We do not have any sympathy for those who use them to make themselves wealthy though.

I had left the best for last. I went to our Eddie and took him and his wife aside.

“Hettie, you have already felt that the love of all of us extends to you. We need to know how you feel about that. I know you have had a traumatic time, coming back as a sixteen year old, then discovering you have nearly two hundred years of memories. Through your struggles to adjust, our hearts have been with you and we will understand if you need more time to decide, or if you even decide not to join us. All that I have promised you, will not depend on your decision.”

“You would offer that I take, but do not give?”

“Don’t you see that what we have offered, what you would be taking, would in reality be a giving from you?”

“I am not afraid of becoming a Cherinian, I am terrified of you Robert.”

“Am I really that nasty?”

“No. You are just too powerful.”


1479

“How do I answer that? I try hard as I can to remain the person I was before all this. It makes things sometimes very confusing for those around me. If you have more time, do you think an understanding of me would help?”

“I probably would need another two hundred years.” She said it with a smile, trying not to upset me. “I suppose there would be no sense to my procrastinating. If you will link me, then I agree.”

I let my joy and love wash over her and she flushed. “I have caused you and your loved ones so much pain and you send me those feelings? You really are strange. I think it is that part of you I find most frightening.”

“My wife is right. Sometimes you are too much of a good thing to be true.”

“I think the girls will love your description of me. The strange thing is that I too often feel that I am not good enough. Certainly not good enough to deserve all the love I am given.”

I explained to Cherine what I wished for. “Let’s do the golden circle of love. This time, if you are able, before we hit the peak, bring them all in, for, as you link them I think the joy and hearts swelling with love will carry the circle to it’s peak without your help.”

“Why did we never do it this way before! I love it Robert.”

As I was about to leave she grabbed my hand. “Robert, when are you going to explain to Apostoli about his daughters?”

“I dread doing so Cherine. He will be extremely shocked and upset. Can’t we just leave it for them to work it out themselves?”

“No! He will find himself a woman and leave the girls to suffer. That would not be fair.”

“Why do I always have to explain? Why can’t I also be allowed to chicken out now and then?”

“Okay, I’ll ask Candy to explain to him.”

“If I believed you meant that you would be in trouble my girl.” I pinched her bum and she squealed, making heads turn. They smiled at the love they saw and looked away again. “May I explain to him after the next dance?”

“Okay.”

I grinned. “Old Chen really looks smitten with Lua, we better get on with this so that they all can go home.” (We rarely called him Charlie now.)

“I think they said they are going to visit Daniel. You jealous of Chen?”

“Of course I am, she is really lovely and just as sweet as Wendy.”

“Nobody is as sweet as our Wendy!”

I had no argument with that comment. Well, perhaps Candy is sweeter, or at best it is a tie, but then that is my opinion at this moment as she sits on my lap.


The effect on the golden circle of love was just as beautiful as I’d hoped it would be. For those being linked, I think it was the most beautiful linking any of us have ever experienced. Even Savva forgot to be happy about the effect it would be having on the district, lost only in the wonder and ecstasy of our emotions. Never have new Cherinians been made to feel so welcome.

Once our guests had left, the rest sent to their bedrooms, we carried with us the feelings of that miracle and brought them into our lovemaking. Because of the baby I was extremely tender with my Dommi, but my sister was more demanding. By daybreak they were still not ready to let me sleep and my heart was more than overfilled with love and the need to hold each and every warm body in my arms. If I am ever forced to go live on an island by myself, my girls have already given me more than enough lovely wonderful memories to keep me happy for the rest of my life.



Next Post 027

I hope you enjoy reading this long, long story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
31st July, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 31st July, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.



Sort:  

Μπερδεύτηκα λίγο : τον Jonathan ή τον Perikli θέλει να κάνει , cherinian?

Το υπόλοιπο το κατάλαβα!!!!

Loading...

And they lived happily ever after 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90