LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post092

He sent out a flame to Socrati, catching me by surprise. It enveloped him without burning and he paused in his carving to look up and smile. “Thank you Henry.”






Previous Post 091


928

Socrati sent to me that Henry had within his ‘flames’ sent on the love Cherine had given him.

“Henry that is a gift I would love to have. If I teach you one of my gifts, will you teach me yours?”

“You will teach me to make protector?”

“I do not know how. If I did, I would have taught Cherine long ago.”

He looked at her still standing before him, her hand outstretched. Tentatively he put out his hand and touched hers with the tips of his fingers and jerked back.

“Henry, I do not know how much you understand, so I will talk as if you do understand. If you do not, tell me. I stole your body from that place they were keeping you in. I have friends who will make papers, a passport, birth certificate and so on. Then you can travel and go wherever you want. I need a name. Do you remember your name?”

“No.”

“That is a pity. What name do you want to use for your passport. Whatever you choose you will have to use as yours.”


929

“Henry is ok.”

“Surname?”

“What is yours?”

“Teller.”

“Is a stupid name. You tell on your friends?”

I laughed. “No, I do not. I do paint pictures though, and they sometimes tell a story.”

“Teller.”

“Robert, he wants to be called Teller! Henry, you want to be Henry Teller?”

“You will be sister?”

“Oh yes!” Impulsively she stepped forward and hugged him. He started, but then looked down at her face that was beaming up at him. He touched her hair. He pushed her away.

“Not good!! Not good!! You make me afraid!”

“I know what you mean Henry. Sometimes when Robert shows me how much he loves me, I also feel afraid like you. I think he will stop and what will I do then. If I accept his love now, then I will not be able to live without it when he takes it away.”

“Robert takes it away?”

“No. That is the miracle. After three years of loving me, his love is even stronger and deeper.”

Obviously he did not believe her, but he decided not to show it.

“Henry, come, it is time for you to meet your family.”

He went wild. He screamed and flames and lightning shot out, not aimed at us, but still destructive. I quickly dampened him again. He huddled in the corner.

“Henry I said you can use your powers if they are not used with hate. You used them from fear. Fear is allowed, but your fear was wrong. I was not talking about the family that had you when you were a baby. I am talking about us. We are your family now. We want you to meet our daughters, your nieces, and my other wives.”

This time he let Cherine take his hand and, subdued, he followed her.


Over the days I let the girls become normal again - that is, boisterous (ζωηρά - φασαριόζος)! Henry sat with us, went for walks with me. Gradually he adapted. He never spoke unless spoken to and I always had the feeling that inside him he was a little boy and still afraid. There were only two people he did not fear. Socrati and Wendy. He would sit by her and play like a boy. She allowed him to be with her in the studio while she wrote and practised her songs. He was enchanted by her.


Socrati took him to Cyprus where they went for hikes and Socrati taught him about the plants and animals. He made a flute (φλάουτο) for him and we sensed them laughing at their poor efforts at making music. Socrati then taught him how to make the sounds of different animals. They were into a conversation when Socrati called to us to listen.

“Where will I go uncle when he decides to get rid of me? Can I come here to stay in the forests, will you visit me?”

“Did he tell you that he will get tired of you?”

“No, but he will. Also he must hate me for hurting his Cherine. I was very bad.”

“Did Robert say you are his brother now?”


930

“He said I can be if I want to.”

“Do you?”

“I am afraid to be.”

“What is there to fear?”

“I don’t know.” He shyly smiled at Socrati. “You do not make me afraid.”

“Do you want to know why Roberto makes you afraid? It is because he does not ask you to love him. He only asks you to allow him to love you. It is good when the other person asks that you love them - then you at least know what they want.” Henry was nodding in agreement. “You want to know the truth? I think Robert is afraid to ask for love.”

“Me too.”

“Do you think you could love him like a brother, as he wants?”

“Maybe. One day. Not now θείε (uncle). It is still too near.”

“What is too near?”

“I feel the bed, the chain and straps. I look for them and cannot see them, but I feel them. I hear the door open and I feel the injection. The hand that forces my mouth open and forces pills down my throat. It is too near θείε!!”

Socrati held him as he wept.

“Marian. I am in your debt. How can I thank you for stopping me? It would have been my biggest mistake.”

“Henry? Oh I knew you would not kill him, I only meant to remind you.”

“I promise you I would have killed him. All I saw was evil and hate. What he had done to Cherine, I would kill anyone for far less than that.”

“I see my little girl is growing up, she no longer teases you.”

“That is not from growing up - she is just too scared to. She is afraid I will tease her back.”

She gave her a smile. “You are afraid of him Cher?”

She did not treat our conversation in the manner it was intended. She looked at her mother with tears in her eyes.

“A little, yes I am, a little. He is not just the Robert I met and loved. He belongs to so many now. Since the Sparkler war, now even thousands of whole planets depend on him. Mummy, I used to love him and feel he was my god. Now he is a god for everybody. It is not the same - it is frightening. If I say or do anything wrong just to tease him and something bad happens to him, the whole Universe will blame me.”

I asked, “Samantha?”

“Not yet daddy, please.”

“They will wait for you. I will tell them to give you fifty years. Will that be enough?”

“Five hundred would not. Do you have to?”

“No love, I do not. None of us have to. I have told them of my plans. They must wait for Meli. I have no interest in being the void - just in dancing there with my loved ones. They must see to their own destinies; it is the correct way. No species should be beholden to another. Maybe I can teach Solomon to control the void. What a destiny for his people.”

“Robert I was not saying it to make you...”


931

“Come on Cherine! My first interest has always only been my own family. As part of my trying to make the world a safer place for all of you I got carried away. There can be no ultimate safety. We will look for the strengths within our family and close friends. I never was the true leader of the Cherinians, only the husband, father and lover of my own family. You cannot imagine what a weight off my shoulders this is.”

“Mother!”

“You are turning your back on all of us Robert? That was not what my daughter wanted.”

“Marian, whatever I do I lose out. Let me at least still try to have and love my family and friends as I need to.”



Next Post 093

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
13th November, 2018

* posted on Steemit: 13th November, 2018



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Hello @arthur.grafo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @arthur.grafo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Έγινε κι αυτός μέλος ε??? :))
Θα πάει Κύπρο τελικά δε κατάλαβα...
Παντός ο τρόπος που το χειρίστηκε ήταν ο καλύτερος.. κι ωπος είπε έγινε ο κόσμος ασφαλέστερος έτσι...

Apo oti vlepo, to post pou eftiaksa gia sena - den to koitakses. To ksehases, i mipos den sou arese?

(To eidiko post pou eksigi merika pragmata gia ton Robert.)

OXI.... den to ksexasa... den exw prolavei na to diavasw akoma.. (exw diabasei tis 2 protes paragrafous)... :((((
alla to exw sto nou mou na to diabasw... :)

Niko - den ksero ti ginete. Vlepo oti timi synallagmatos einai 0.73 alla, molis alaksa BSD se Steam kai ta agorasa se timi 0.645

Paradeigma:

Paid 1.667 SBD for 2.584 STEEM

Makari to SBD mou na eitan 100 x pio megalo.....

ontos makari...alla pou!!!:))) giati kapos prepei na apoktisoume dinami!!!

Protimo na sou apantiso se email (to diko sou to eho). Theleis?

nai steine moy ekei... :)))

Otan diavaseis to post 93...diavase kai ta comments!!

Skeftika kati, to protina .. kai tora tha ginei kapoia allagi gia to kalo ollon mas!!

Vlepeis? Olloi mas mporoun na kanoume diafora stin zoi - afto to lene sta Agglika ('it is possible to make a difference in life) - den ksero ean to lene etsi sta Ellinika.

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59