Sepia Saturday Building Detail

in #sepiasaturday6 years ago

Sepia Saturday Building detail

This is a post for a new challenge hosted by @old-guy-photos I think this has just started i just read about it yesterday but wanted to show my support and submit a post for the challenge today.
I also thought it would be good to throw something different up before getting back to sharing some of the Christmas decorations and windows I got shots of this past week, and now need to get into gear and edit.

So for something different and in line with the Sepia Saturday challenge here are some shots of cool building detail I have come across in NYC.

1 Sepia Saturday_-2.jpg

Sony A6500 139mm F6.3 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I came across this building on one of my walks around the city, I forget exactly where this buildign is but i think it is on 5th Ave near 33rd street from the other shots I took that morning.
Isn't that some cool detail on the top of the building, I wonder it was a medical facility at some stage with the emblem near the top of the building which I believe is the caduceus, with its two snakes a symbol for medicinal matters often.

1 Sepia Saturday_-3.jpg

Sony A6500 775mm F5.6 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I believe this is on the same building but I could be wrong if not it is inthe same area, I think cool building detail like this works well in Sepia.
I have no idea if there is any significance in any of these symbols

1 Sepia Saturday_-4.jpg

Sony A6500 78mm F5.6 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And more cool detail the row of heads at the top look a little eerie to me


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.748724 lat -73.984360 long 5th Ave NYC d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 335 (12/09/18)

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 52000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have a feeling that all the 'decoratives' features on buildings of this era were representational to a high degree. Cups and fruit bowls, figureheads and mythological beings and creatures.

Love the sepia ~ So apt for these architectural images Jay.

Don't know if you would know the Queen Victoria Statue sitting under her dome of the Post Office in Sydney? Was created by one of my ancestors. Your buildings have inspired me to try and capture it. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

yes I think your right they had style back then, I may well have seen the Statue when I visited there but it was so long ago I cannot remember it so looking forward to seeing your shots please do tag me when you get shots of it

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sepia-saturday-building-detail


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

those photos are so freaking cool!!!! Thank you for sharing them!!

Thanks it is such a cool old building

I went and pulled out some old pictures as I was walking down 5th Avenue and I didn't see it, but, my shots are sporadic and I was pushing through the Rolodex in my head, trying to see it.

It is so distinctive, you would think I would remember it. I was trying to see if there was a small medical facility there long ago and far away. Drats!

Sorry! I wish I could identify this absolute beauty that deviated from her surroundings.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

The pictures either side of these ones were on 5th, but I do tend to wander around down side streets so I could be wrong I will have to be on the look out for it again

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

So amazing to see the detail we used to do when we built a building. Really beautiful. Too bad we don't continue that today...Thanks @tatoodjay great shots, love the sepia

I so agree with you the modern buildings may be cool in some ways but they do not have the style they had back then

Built with love. Or a whole lot of money! It's a beauty and your photos are great.

or perhaps a bit of both :)
thanks kindly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36