Imperative Pastime

in #self-care6 years ago

Sometimes, the busyness of our days and the efforts we put in striving toward our goals or dwelling on the past, can get in the way of the here and now.
Occasionally, I go through the whole day thinking about what I want to do or should have done and not what I AM doing. In the past year, I have made an effort to live in the now.
I think was sparked this was someone asking “Soo what do you like to do?” & I thought, haven’t I already answered this?! I’m in school, I work, I’m in the Army, I go out with friends sometimes... what else is there? I realized, I was living solely on striving for the future or worrying about things in my past.
So, I wanted to share some hobbies of mine:

559AC5E9-C2CC-4E0D-84AC-6D7F2EF4EA14.jpeg
Gardening,

9EF5824E-9898-4ECF-BBBA-DA4EAAF857CF.jpeg
Cooking,

7020CF8A-9E60-49AC-B24C-27338AA600B5.jpeg
Hiking,
503DADB3-1C25-419E-AB5A-F68CA8D020E9.jpeg
Throwing pottery

I can’t say that I do these activities regularly, but I realize these are the things that make me feel present and promote self-care. I envy Artisans and Artists. I feel they are so successful at being present, creating, and displaying their true selves. I think being present is essential.

Sort:  

Oh nice!
I created a garden for the first time in my life this year, and it's been amazing to watch... we've gotten so many veggies from it, and I can't get over how exciting it is to actually eat your own produce. I might be a little bit addicted as I keep coming up with new plans to expand our new orchard and veggie patch. That zucchini is so big!

Looks like you're definitely army strong with all those hiking supplies.
Do you do anything in particular fitness-wise or does all your training happen at your time in the army?

This year is my first time too! It really has been exciting. I just want to grow everything now. Zucchini was our best produce, can’t wait for next year!
I go to the gym to prepare for the training we have to do in the Army, but that is solely push-ups, sit-ups and running.... I was doing some strength training but I get so frustrated/tired with that. Definitely something I’m trying to work on!

I am so excited for next year!!! We learnt our lesson this season and have got decent deer-proof fencing now... they tore through all our spinach, tomatoes and lettuce... zucchini was our best too, even though the deer ate half of them. We also put all our carrots in a clump, so they didn't grow well.... lessons learned.

051776C0-BBAC-4BD9-92E7-218571DB7440.jpeg

Fencing is a goood idea! It’s kind of annoying but not as ugly as I expected. I definitely learned that it matters when you plant, and that you actually need to plan space for your plants to grow...
I threw three sunflower seeds in the holes I dug “ just in case” and three grew right out of every spot: F6212674-52CD-4FF1-A38D-EC96E4D34909.jpeg

Your garden is so good! And so big!

We've got an orchard of 10 trees and a very small box... it's just sometimes tricky to fit a garden in around driveways, etc. These photos make me so happy for you!

That's looks like enough to keep you busy :) In my case, my hobbies and my career are pretty much the same producing artwork, so my problem in finding time to expand beyond that. If I'm not making something, I really just like hanging out with my family, and maybe going out and enjoying nature with them. Not as hardcore as a legit hike though :p, just a trip to the park or something. The pottery looks really nice!

Congratulations @aariiin7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aariiin7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aariiin7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63