Season Challenge #3 ~ Mr Pumpkinman - Then and Now

in #seasonchallenge6 years ago

A few days ago, I wrote a POST about my very first time trick or treating. It was through a reply by @redheadpei that I learned of the cool new #seasonchallenge tag by @roxy-cat and @erikah. You can read more about #seasonchallenge and how to participate HERE.

Mr Pumpkinman
My last post was about trick or treating when I was a kid which was mostly fun because what’s not to love about putting on a costume and collecting free candy! For myself and a few siblings, we also had just as much fun decorating our parents house with skeletons, ghosts, spider webs and setting up Mr Pumpkinman. Mr Pumpkinman was a full size character that was stuffed with straw, leaves and newspaper and had a pumpkin head which was carved a face. He was, at least, six foot tall and he wore blue jeans and a flannel shirt. It was Fall after all...lol. I think the most formidable part about him though was his big old boots. He always sat by the front door on a large wrought iron porch rocker. He would get lots of compliments from both children and adults. Some younger kids would be a little scared at first but my mom would explain that he was a nice Mr Pumpkinman and you could tell by his smile. My mom had a way with children and storytelling, she did have nine of us. I have fond memories of Mr Pumpkinman sitting in that rocker for probably a week every Halloween for many years. I still have a photo of Mr Pumpkinman too but it was taken many years ago with my very first camera which was a Chinon 110 so it does show some age. I’ll show you the original photo first and then a few edits I did on it.

Original
hd07p5ut01.jpg

Edits
gb3v4gwoxf.jpg

6sqb6vlhbw.jpg

21pemwzw5f.jpg

Here is just a headshot (lol) with a couple of edits.

Original
0yeg41k2mg.jpg

Edits
0911ezdmk8.jpg

4m9l8n4un7.jpg

Nowadays, I still have a Mr Pumpkinman. He isn’t as big as the original Mr Pumpkinman but he shines bright and lights up the night..well..maybe just the window. 😉 Anyway, here he is in his glittery glory along with a few edits. 😊

Original
hoswo018hb.jpg

Edits
975c5i8qwf.gif

d59r60dyqe.gif

tiqczseex4.gif

ugqkagjw3f.gif

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of October 29 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Awesome!! Thank you!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much!!

What a lovely story, my dear. Mr. Pumpkinman was quite a character. You don't mind if I like the first one better, do you? It has that vintage flavour we are all missing nowadays. The new one is cool but the old one...you can almost feel the love and warmth of the place we call home.
About the edits...amazing work! I think Trudee will like them too.
Thank you so much for this great entry. U & R. 🙂

Thank you @roxy-cat! I don't mind at all and I love the sentiment more also! ❤

A great Halloween story, Dee. Love Mr. Pumpkinman 🎃 and your edits. Your Mom sounded like a fun person. 💕 U&R.

Thanks Jo!! "Now", Mr Pumpkinman will be coming out of his box for a short appearance soon 😉. She was but also let you know when you were out of line..lol! I tried not to get out of line too often though. :)

How cool is Mr. Pumkinman- the old and the new one!
The old is really amazing. 😀

Thank you @nelinoeva!! Brought back a lot of memories coming across that photo. Mostly good ones. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26