The Old Dog Asks: Could This Rundown Ramshackle Hold Unbelievable Art Treasures?

in #sculpture7 years ago (edited)

I had passed by the dilapidated factory many times in my daily life. How sad to see such an unkempt building in such an affluent area and country. Then last week I saw something out of the corner of my eye. It shocked and delighted me!


It looks abandoned, sad and ghostly but there was something very special and exciting behind the gates and walls!

What Was Really Going On In That Building? I had To Investigate!

I parked my car on the shoulder of the road and approached the building to investigate what I thought that I saw. As I peered beyond the gated property to look at the immense statue that had caught my eye more and more amazing images began to emerge!


This is the first piece that caught my eye and caused me to stop and investigate. Using the car as a scale you can see that the statue is colossal and of a nature that peaks one's interest! But there was much more!

There Was More To Discover And So I Walked Around The Building's Perimeter!

As I continued to walk along the perimeter of the gated "junkyard" many large, strange statues began to appear. Some seemed to have been inspired by the great artist Salvador Dalì! 


These pieces were about 50 meters beyond me and so I've zoomed in to show them a bit better.  I can see a cast statue of St. George and the Dragon on the right and to the left of him what appears to be a horse with Dalì like legs!


Here you can see some more of these wondrous creations including the melted clock!


Can you make out the gigantic moose that is being suspended by a crane? I could also make out the lower part of the legs of what will be a monumental work! I later discovered that they produce pieces up to 7 meters in height!

Who Was Behind All Of This Fascinating Sculpture?

I decide to continue around the perimeter and I came upon a sign which would lead to more discovery!


This sign gives the name of the business and it says that you can call for guided tours of the foundry as well as courses in sculpture! 

An Online Search Revealed Much About This Mysterious Place!

When I got home I searched for information about the company on the internet. Their artwork and their site tell a much different story compared to the abandoned looking building that I had investigated. Does this give new meaning to the phrase "Starving Artist"?


Here is their home page which can be viewed in Italian, English, German, and French!


Perseo SA Art Foundry

I invite you to take a quick look at their web site and you'll discover some interesting things:

  • They were established in 1952 and have close ties with the art world and sculptors!
  • They use 3 different casting methods!
  • They can conduct business in English, French, Italian and German
  • They build sculptures up to 7 meters high!
  • They collaborate with 18 different sculptors!

I Will Return To Discover More!

Since they offer free tours I would like to return and discover more in an up close and personal way. Life as a Steemit blogger is interesting and good!


Points to Ponder

  • What interesting places have you discovered lately?
  • Does Steemit give you more reasons to explore?
  • Have you passed by a place many times never realizing what was there?


I hope that you enjoyed seeing that a "Rundown Ramshackle Can Hold Unbelievable Art Treasures!"


Until next time,


Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

What a beautiful little treasure! That surely looks like a gem to rediscover, as you said so well. again, it reminded me of this place in Quebec where the statues are coming out of the St. Lawrence River.

Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

Statues coming out of the St Lawrence River? Do tell more perhaps in a post!

@kus-knee interesting ey?

Does Steemit give you more reasons to explore?

Yes!!! a lot! maybe am quite hook though am pretty busy .. I go somewhere and always think - what's a Steemit moment in there or do something and have the same thought :D
thanks to Steemit ey :D

Oh, you write very interesting things!I learn about a lot of beautiful places in the world here. In my city Lviv is similar stone sculptures of women.

That is a very exciting find! Is it the lower body of a giant?

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Can hardly wait the guided tour that I know you are going to take. What a great place to 'discover' , well done kus-knee.

Yes the tour is on my list! Thanks for having a look!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thank you old dog, if we ever meet I'll give you a scratch behind your ear.

You should never go past old buildings and grounds. Here in the region there are old abandoned grounds of the millitar from the years 1933-1945 which I always explore

Very cool! Please write a post about them and let us explore with you!

You should never go past old buildings and grounds! Here in the region there are old abandoned grounds of the Millitar from the years 1933-1945, which I always explore!

Very cool! I am awaiting your pictures and posts!

I had already told about the terrain, it was a rocket camp of the former National People's Army (NVA) of the GDR. DSC_6457.jpg

Very cool! I love that kind of stuff! Your boy must have been excited!

Oh yes very exciting. Before the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, we were the last year of the age of fifteen, already at the AK47 were trained. That was part of the school day.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Italian Quality!!!

Yes the Italians are great artists!

Many are... I'm not!

Well perhaps you will find new hidden talents!

You never know! My talent seemed to be academic writing... stuff nobody reads. By the way, your post reminded me of a story, I'll try to find it. A guy bought some property I think in upstate NY that had a barn on it. When he opened the barn it was full of old classic cars worth a fortune.

You have lots of things to write about!

I try... I'm finishing up an episode of my horror story. I just don't think I'm very good... But I love doing it and that's what counts.

To me you're becoming a pillar here! Plus your older than me and I admire your work on this platform! Respect!

Yesterday my husband and I made a walk around the city. And in one small alley, too, stumbled upon one the destroyed building. It looked abandoned too. But we were interested in them. Arriving home, we found information about it on the city's website. It was said that this area will be put to the restoration and upon its completion the building will benefit our city.

Now, thanks to the platform steemit, I began to look more closely and interested in the surrounding things around me. I even began to see differently. I've been wearing a small camera in my purse. Because you can at any time to see something interesting. Before, I was less attentive at everything. Steemit very much starting to change in my life for the better.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thank you @kus-knee . I am very pleased. You are kind and generous dog ^,^

That is a very interesting looking building. I like it very much and I am happy when buildings can be restored to their former glory!

I am happy tho read about the camera in your purse and your reporting work! Keep it up!

Hire them to make a sculpture of your introductory post pic holding Steemit placard.

Great idea! How is your back these days? An better?

Not really, still trying to accumulate 200 SBD for MRI scan.

Very interesting!

Yes, I love your avatar @lus!

wow, great!!! My hubby worked in a Art Foundry here in my city, he was young, he learned many things and he met some artists working there.
Well done, @kus-knee ! ^_^

Thanks so much. Your hubby knows a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50