How to prevent screen tearing in Google Chrome

in #screen8 years ago (edited)

The Frustration Begins:

Having just experienced screen tearing/flickering, I thought I'd share how I fixed it on my rig. It all began one day when I upgraded my graphics card to a GTX 1070. I popped it in and had a smooth installation of the drivers. Upon opening chrome I noticed tearing would occur intermittently but especially while I was scrolling or watching videos. Sound familiar? Don't worry, there's no need to scour a bunch of obscure forum posts. I have your remedy right here.

The Breakdown: 

Screen tearing is usually caused by high frame rates or the lack of sync between your computer and your monitor's refresh rate. This would be the most obvious reason why the screen tearing occurred when I first installed my new graphics card.


The Solution:

Disable hardware acceleration within Chrome.

  • Open Google Chrome and click the the 3 horizontal lines icon in the upper right hand corner of your chrome window. Now select "Settings".



  • Scroll to the bottom of the settings page and select "Show advanced settings"


  • Scroll down the page again until you find the "Use hardware acceleration when available". Uncheck it and this should solve your screen tearing woes.


If this does not solve your issue, you can also try setting up global V-Sync settings from your graphics card's control panel. V-Sync will limit your graphics card to 60 frames per second and should help mitigate screen flicker. 


Please leave a comment if you ran into any problems or would like to request a post about a particular issue. Also, any constructive criticism is welcome as this is my first post. I look forward to writing more content for steemit!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptobur! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cryptobur! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81