Cytotechnologist: Introducing Myself

in #science8 years ago (edited)

My name is Lola Comes and in my first post for Steemit I spoke about human papillomavirus, but I didn't introduce myself.

So, here we go!!!

I've been working  in a hospital in the north of Spain for twelve years now. In my daily routine I study many kinds of cytology samples: gynecological cytology, bronchial suction, urine, fine needle aspiration tumors (FNA) (breast, salivary gland, thyroid, liver...)


My work consists on studying if the cells are atypical or not, looking for the causative agent in inflammation/infection cases (fungus, bacterium, parasite...) and typify the tumor in FNAs. I do all my work under the supervision of a pathologist.


This is me during a workshop.


From the great variety of samples that I study, there are ones that capture my attention, this ones are gynecological samples, preneoplastic lesions, cervical cancer and his relationship with human papillomavirus.


Human Papillomavirus


In 2014, I won a research scholarship to make a study about human papillomavirus in our health area.


It was the point that made me get extremely involved in the HPV world.


I was a member of the professional group that designed the cervical cancer screening program in our health area, I also started to attend international congresses about the theme.  


 
Presenting my poster in the Eurogin Congress, Seville 2015


In the last years, I've been very lucky to meet lots of experts in the theme, attend presentations from this experts that always have news to explain about vaccines, prevention programs as well as present my works and studies.


HPV Congress, Lisbon 2015


My last publication is very recent, it consists in a statistical study about HPV behavior in our health area.   


My HPV Statistical Study publication


In the next posts I'll be glad to tell you more interesting things about my job.


Images Credits  [2]

Sort:  

Would you mind posting an image of you holding something with steemit written on it? It's quite common for people to try to impersonate someone they are not.

Very beautifull presentation and I dare say you are a gorgeous lady @mdcomes we are happy to have you here on Steemit!

HPV 16 and 18 are nasty ones. I do cancer bioinformatics work, seen many carcinomas of mucus membranes with massive amount of both strains, and a few others. I wonder what influences these infections to resolve or become cancerous.

Hi @pwn, there are many factors that can affect, smoking, multiple sexual partners, starting having sexual relations at early ages, etc.

welcome to steemit....^^

I'm interested to read about some of your discoveries. I tried researching some information on HPV a couple years back and was astounded by how much contradictory information I was finding. I'm not sure if you are the right kind of scientist to ask this question, but what the heck.... Do you believe that the recent discovery that DNA is dynamic (rather than previously being assumed to be unchanging during the life span of an organism) could be the element missing from Darwin's theory of natural selection that would account for the amount of time it has taken for biodiversity to evolve on earth? His theory has been criticized, stating that it would have take far longer for organisms to evolve if they were waiting on random mutations. This has led to theories such as intelligent design.

This is such an intersting topic, but as far as I know we are still the result of randon mutations right? DNA dynamic? Wow I need to look for this

I'm afraid I can't answer your question @fascinate, but I'm sure there are many ways of view about it. Sorry!!!

I believe DNA is dynamic! :)

Welcome to steemit. Very enjoyable post

I'm glad you like it @ianstrat

Welcome. Nice to meet. Up voted and up voting my blogs will be appreciated.
Go to my blog to help you to get more up votes:
https://steemit.com/newbie/@hanamana/dummies-guide-to-attracting-more-up-votes-for-newbies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10