Adventures with Gallium Part II + Making a post 1964 ‘Silver’ Coin

in #science6 years ago (edited)

See Adventures with Gallium Part I:

https://steemit.com/story/@goldmatters/adventures-with-gallium-making-a-silver-ring-partialfail

See a Non - Menē ring take on water here:

https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/w3yomfkj

Today, I decided to make a post 1964 half dollar. As silver stackers know, US coins used to be made of 90% silver. Like the Roman Empire, the US started debasing it’s coins of all silver after that.

After last weeks experiment making a silver ring out of Gallium, today I decided to make a “silver” coin.

The Gallium from last week was still frozen:

B54C5792-46E7-454C-8B97-B3E5D30DBC71.jpeg

With an assist from Mrs. Goldmatters, we were able to melt it back down using a hairdryer:

D055A147-93C9-418F-9B87-A0ADEFFFA29B.jpeg

Using a gold chocolate coin, we were able to remove the chocolate and replace it with Gallium, using it like a mold:

171435CD-C2C1-4E42-9EBD-003947E4467B.jpeg

We stuck the top half of the “mold” back on:

F342B8C9-2832-4645-96BE-5FC538201590.jpeg

And placed it near the enchiladas in the freezer:

4EFDAC37-0782-415A-BE31-1A77E3867AC7.jpeg

A few minutes later we pulled it out:

33FC0525-3845-4C56-BB8E-7777024A7390.jpeg

And had a decent replica: (I said decent, not awesome)

150E01F5-863F-4675-99E6-C40BE1806CD9.jpeg

The we made this video:

Only real silver survived!

4C867902-C000-424B-811E-FAAC49B14556.jpeg

This is what happened to the post 1964 ‘silver’

F8040229-F630-428A-ADBC-28BE5AC1165E.jpeg

Here is the comparison:

E1316231-BEE0-4321-B565-ED01E24060F8.jpeg

We have a winner!

CAD57BF5-6B39-418E-B25D-B0729C412161.jpeg

Goldmatters.... and so does silver!

For $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

Goldmatters

2CB6F43F-9E14-478F-8CF7-1B2C80F73776.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

Watch Steemians sing Band of Gold here:

Sort:  

I don't know where you come up with these crazy ass ideas but they make me laugh. I'm surprised at how much definition it held from the mold. Awesome post as usual. Thanks for sharing.

Me neither lol!!

FYI - your first link is broken.

Fascinating stuff. You really know how to have fun with metals.

Sigh I know.... sometimes dtube doesnt work so I included the youtube. Thanks for reading man!

No prob. Unless I misunderstood your reply, I meant the first link "See Adventures with Gallium Part I:"... it leads to a non-existent page.

Thanks for pointing that out! Fixed!

I'll take the silver one, thank you very much. Ha, drip drip drip.

Now that you're gone, all that's left is this band of gold...

Oh man, I just got this song OUT of my head, now it's back again!
@ironshield

It’s permanently in my head. There’s only one solution... ANOTHER KARAOKE VIDEO. oh god no

Bring it on. I'll use headphones this time. :-) @ironshield

It was quite a decent replica only not as strong... I can feel the creativity from here! 👍

Thank you! Did my best

The real silver will definately survive. Heres a huge progress compared to the 1st gullium experiment. I love your openmindedness.

Ha ha thanks!

You are welcome sir. You have successfully inaugurated Mrs goldmatters in the expendition of gold. I look forward to seeing what she can do.

Continue to grow in more knowledge and efficiency @goldmatters, the melted coin in #MrsGoldmoney hand is amazing shining like a diamond. I am learning more experience through your research sir @goldmatters. The way you print on the coin is a new target there are some #goldsmiths in my local area who base on that. More power to your elbow stay strong.

i love mene24k

Nice Gallium Half Dollar @goldmatters! That chocolate mold worked out great 😉

As fun as Gallium seems to play with, I'd have to agree that the silver half is the way to go. A fellow never knows when it's gonna rain!

'goldmatters..........and so does silver' - That pun right there is the cherry on top of this post :-)

As you say that the US government did what Romans had done several centuries ago. But this time the consequence are far severe and just limited to one continent.
I wonder how the people would react if the signature from the treasury/central banks of the countries were to be removed from the banknotes. I am sure that there would be a huge uproar but the truth is that the signature on the banknote is just symbolic. It would be a little ironic to hear people protesting on changes in fake money while most people are not even aware of the Nixon shock.

And we all know how it worked out for the Romans!

I see you are improving. No more peanut butter lol. It actually looked half decent.

I am getting there!

I was just thinking about these gold chocolate coins yesterday...wondering why Vietnam isn't on the vang chocolate train. You came up with a much more creative use than what I was going to do with them! haha love your posts...ugh you totally just looped me into a long trail going through all of your stuff haha

Lol I’m just glad SOMEONE is reading them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70