Adventures With Gallium + Making a Silver Ring + #partialfail

in #story6 years ago (edited)

81D222E0-2151-40B2-B8BA-BD84D714CBE2.jpeg

Adventures with Gallium:

Anyone who wants to have some fun with some “liquid metal” needs to get their hands on some Gallium!

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallium

I wanted to make an awesome ring to show Steemians, and I even had some fun experiments planned! Anyone who has followed my blog for awhile knows about The Disaster of The Silver Egg:
https://steemit.com/food/@goldmatters/the-silver-egg-experiment-fail

What other experiments can I mess up?? It was time to find out. I got my hands on some Gallium, this incredible stuff that turns into a liquidity metal that you can play with, then freeze back and melt all over again.

51A13BBF-6CCF-44B0-8E2D-5394F7052E76.jpeg

This is what it looks like in its solid form:

EADEA0A4-56FE-4987-A2E6-D30E36A943A3.jpeg

I wanted to make a “silver” ring. Too impatient to wait for a mold... I improvised.

First I warmed up the Gallium:

0BF6B9F9-7A07-4DD1-8CC6-5429EFD7230B.jpeg

I poured it in a bottle cap thinking this would create a ring.

#FAIL

The Gallium ended up just pooling into a weird blob. So I melted it back down:

49451273-FE76-44FC-82C2-C54965A2D370.jpeg

The hair dryer worked much quicker:

F8838F6B-9982-4E1B-92E2-D5C6FFF86034.jpeg

I decided to try and make a mold after all. For some reason I thought I could do this with:

F14B6BA7-E6E1-48B9-B946-AA2AF39DD96E.jpeg

#FAIL

Using my 42% Not Gold ring (14k) I did make a mold, but the precision was completely lacking.

EE3A0B5E-0717-44F1-82F3-8B18C85B3C0E.jpeg

Undaunted, I forged forward with my Peanut Butter ring!

After filling the mold with melted Gallium, I stuck it in the freezer. After 20 minutes I took it back out and cleaned it off. I had to repeat this process serveral times, sticking it back in the freezer and taking it out and cleaning it over and over, I was worried I would melt the ring.

A strange obsessiveness started to come over me. Not sure why.

D8AA6D63-18AD-4CBD-B938-9CD6C2426B69.jpeg
Google images

After cleaning it over and over, I revealed this beauty:

1DB15825-59F9-407B-8EFA-31AAB23DA19E.jpeg

While not the most chic design I have ever seen, I was quite proud of my Gallium silver ring!

28E726FF-8F1A-45BC-BEE9-8E7481286327.jpeg

I even showed it off next to my Menē 24 karat gold ring:

D7C7D85D-2F30-45DF-A470-B7E55B4E6329.jpeg

In the end, my Peanut Butter Gallium ring was returned to it’s orginal state. Though it broke my heart, I dipped it in some warm water and watched it melt away:

CD575CD9-8F74-4875-A324-E72268192F41.jpeg

Be still my beating heart.

5417CFE6-C19D-4B13-A8B0-3846B4AA23AD.jpeg

It ended up looking like this:

D62CE688-A0E1-40E0-9F45-46621A558EC0.jpeg

While I will call this experiment a partial fail, it was a total home run in terms of fun!

Thanks for reading everyone,

Goldmatters or

Silverfinger

For $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

25DCF4BA-F446-4123-B0D1-131586558FD4.jpeg
Don’t forget to enter my Steemit Karaoke compilation which we will release as soon as we can!

Here is a refresher on how to do this best:

If you can, wear headphones when singing the song so we don’t hear the background music but you can.

Make sure to send your @username with your video

Remember to film horizontally on your phone

The song is BAND OF GOLD by Freda Payne.

Also..... It its okay to sing in your native language! If you do this though, please sing the same song. You can say the lyrics in any language as long as they are the same lyrics.

Let’s do this Steemit!

Goldmatters

***UPLOAD YOUR VIDEO HERE: https://www.dropbox.com/request/8nqyGVsKBtIJdkkFBf2X

For $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

CF6AB117-9DAA-4FBE-B8BF-51707DA1F98F.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

What is Menē 24k gold and platinum investment jewelry?

I will let famous Steemian @coruscate explain:

Sort:  

That was hilarious. I must say that's the first thing I've ever seen cast in Peanut Butter. Keep up the good work!

Lol thanks, I had no idea what I was doing whatesover :)

I'd say you did a pretty good job. Maybe try making an ice mold for it. Might save you some time having to keep refreezing it.

Yeah what I should have really done is buy an actual ring mold, but that would have been too easy :)

but the precision was completely lacking.

I guess the butter is not viscous enough.

Mehn! Your adventure is extraordinary, this is the first time I am seeing this metal, last I saw it was in periodic table :)

It is a lot of fun to play with, I reccomend it!

Haha...I think that I could play with Gallium all weekend! That stuff is too cool!

I was counting on your to kick my ass and show me how this is done just like the Silver Egg :)

Nope, I have no Gallium experience lol. Your egg experiment was fun. I wouldn't have even considered doing it if I hadn't seen yours first!

Love your experiments .Didn't know that stuff existed. Looks like lots of fun. think you should go train with Mene first though. You won't find peanut butter there.

Thank you! It was super fun :) next time i’ll get a real mold

A peanut butter mold? That's a first! What a strange element. A metal that melts in water. @ironshield

Lol this just proves I have not idea what I am doing sometimes :) not sure what i was thinking. It worked out only slightly better than the Silver Egg experiment :)

Lol who does that? I like the twist the experiment took from warming up the gallium to adding up dye and peanut butter ( quite strange but fun) but what made this post exciting was that tho u fail to produce what u expected u enjoyed the process and thats true fullfillment.

Lol yeah it was a weird idea. If I had putty or something else it would have worked much better :)

Yeah but with weirdness comes new innovations, you'll never know the result until you try. You grow along the way. Enjoy yourself sir

What occurrences, a butter mold 😂😄

This experiment was the most fun I have ever seen. The mixture of gallium and peanut butter will be a permanent asset in all chemistry books.

Thanks! Yes, this should be taught in high schools for sure

That's something you don't see every day right there. Interesting to see there are methods for basic jewelry work that don't require fancy equipment haha. Peanut butter isn't too hard to obtain.

It was a lot of fun, next time I will actually try to have the right equipment on hand :)

Great experiment a stitch in time safes nine...gradually it will work perfectly. Kudos to you @goldmatters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70