Day 3 : Cute Crawling Critter Went On A Hunger Strike!

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I only get to collect three stinky orange gifts which he probably pushed out'a himself on his second night. "Hmmm ... that was odd" .. I thought. I found him looking like this on top of the slice of zucchini I gave him. He's okay and very much alive just won't budge. I got rid of the kitchen towel and replaced it with a new one and just placed him back in.

a.jpg

a1.jpg

He budged when I put him back but was just going around for more the whole coffee break so I was worried. Is he on a hunger strike? He snobbed his ball courgette flower and at that time it gave me an impression that he doesn't like left overs but since the flower was looking all dried up, I took a cup of water and let half of it sit on it to rehydrate and placed it in the fridge while my OC and that small voice in my head ganged up on me screaming ; "gerrrrmmmmmssss"~~~. I ignored both and went out to the backyard, picked a nasturtium flower and placed it back in his glass house. The lil' green guy just went crawling around his glass house restlessly.

b.jpg

I checked back later on and noticed - not a bite on neither the slices of zucchinis nor the nasturtium. I also noticed that the color of his head till the last pair of his six tiny upper legs are dull and his hooves like legs seem to be wearing boots? Black boots! Where did he get those? !!! Plus, the little guy keeps trying to go between the folds of the kitchen towel. Is he morphing? That small voice in my head again .. of course I had to listen to it this time.

I carefully took the whole kitchen towel out - with him and the plants in there and placed the plants with him on it on a bowl (don't worry I wasn't planning to make a soup out of him) and he curled himself up again. Since the kitchen towel lays flat under the plants and if he's actually a moth.. he must be trying to bury himself under it so I crumpled the kitchen towel to make sure it has a space underneath which he could crawl on. I placed the kitchen crumpled kitchen towel back in the glasshouse and pinch the middle hoping it would create a cave like effect for him to crawl on and placed back the plants on one corner since he didn't really touch them at all.

I felt like taking care of a sick kid that time hoping to ease what seem to be a tough phase he was going through so I left the lil' guy all curled up on the zucchini slices and left him alone in his glass house.

... the next morning: The first thing I did before having breakfast was check on the lil' guy. He was missing but the plants and the plastic cover on top of his glass house remained untouched. It's impossible for him to go through them toothpick size holes so I lifted the glass house and found him crawling around in there. The light must have bugged him so he crawled between that cave like fold in the middle so I took my phone and took a quick snap because I don't want to bug him further if he was already going through the morphing process. Two snaps and I placed him back between the pots of the avocados on top of the fridge to let him go on.

c1.png

These are all I got and notice that his legs look all different. I didn't get to capture his face and I didn't bother because I didn't want to disturb him but it just looked the same to that of the video on top just paler. I left the guy alone and that time I wish I have a pincam I could use to spy his morphing process in that kitchen towel cave. For now, this is all I could share you.

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics and video with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016. Disclaimer : No lil' green creature on those videos was harmed nor hurt in making this post.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for keeping Steemians up to date.

Lovely photographs @englishtchrivy.

Fantastic observations.

All the best...mon ami....Cheers.

thanks :D

have a great night!

Wow, that's amazing how you hold it in your hand. I could never do it.

thanks .. it's very very cute and clean I think
I didn't want to touch it but I was worried it was dead so I carefully tipped over the zucchini slice he was on to feel whether he was warm or not on my palm but I didn't notice that anymore because as you can see he crawled up some more so I placed him back on the zucchini slice thinking he was comfortable on it .. can you see his eye seemingly being alert on me?

Yes, I think I can see his eye.. I'm kinda scared of caterpillar since I was a few days in the hospital with an iv when I was a kid. My face was all swollen from some caterpillars; to this day I get chills when seeing them.

that's weird this part was saying ; "Loading ..."

and I posted a comment saying that's a normal reaction to someone who has experienced what you did and that I have the same fear when it comes to centipede, mice, rats and snakes, too and that I hope you didn't have a trauma for what happened

I tried posting tonight but it just vanished so now I have to re-do it ...

Yes. It happened to me too..loading. Then it would disappear.
The experience was when I was a kid.
A long time ago :)
I just try to ignore them as well as possible

Oh! You are trying to get a butterfly!
And I thought you garnished a cucumber slice with the green baby and.... you know... have some proteins for lunch ;)

that's a funny thought :D
but the only thing I eat raw are greens and fruits :D

Very nice, I hope the little guy does well!

It is nice to follow the development of the little one @englishtchrivy
Re-steemed

Thank you!
I forgot to drop by your page first and resteem your contest post :(
forgive me .. I'll try again the next time I log in
I was absent for a day to let my voting power recover it was down to 50% so I forgot :(
shy ...

Hi @ englishtchrivy
It's all right, Voting Power, you're the first to teach me after the hard fork came the first time. And I am very pleased.
hehe it's not easy to keep up with everyone you want to follow in here.
And when the readers grow up, it becomes even more difficult.
Steemit is also slow by day and it does not make it easy to comment and give upovte.
I'm looking at my competition that I'm constantly getting the same thing I write over and the same goes for upvote.
But we are still in beta version in steemit so it will be better in the future, I hope

I've managed to keep my promise between very very sleepy eyes after a session of heavy doze of disco music and dancing fun
am off to bed!
see you in the morrow .. or whenever I can come here!
have a great week ahead!
it's been recharged .. (my VP ) but I've drained it to less than 70 again hahaha

Nice comment

Nice comment

The hunger strike is normal. He is likely going to do one of two things. Moult (shed skin) to grow bigger or try to pupate into a cocoon or chrysalis. This could take a couple of days...

wow! how did you know that? are you also a biologist?

Yes, thanks to macro photography, we can see the smallest parts of the caterpillar.

This animal looks so cute on photos, but in fact i'm afraid of them lol. Especially when they fall down from trees on my head....😵😱😨

that's a normal reaction :)
I suggest that you give your chance to take a closer look at their reaction, too
you'd see that they would just also crawl away from you - you're a giant for them
when you do - you'll discover a whole new world .. I promise ! and believe em you'll find out - you're braver than you thought with them :)

This green caterpillar looks really nice but not these black hairy ones 😁😁😁 if it falls on the skin then there will be a red, swollen trace, that's why i don't like them :((

thats weird again
am sure I replied on this one already
I said .. that's a normal reaction and that
you should give yourself a chance to watch their reaction when they fell on you
that they would crawl away fast from you cause you're a giant to them
and that you'll discover a whole new world!

and that you're braver that you think you are about fearing them :D

I will try to check it soon 😂😂😂😂

Pick you're own size!!

wahahah .. but he's the bully :P
no not really .. I think I didn't get what the lil' fellow was telling me
you know he can't speak right ? so he crawled himself up - (i guess) probably to tell me - "I need to morph" you lousy caterpillar caretaker hahaha

He morphed??!!! And u didnt get any pics??
Am on a conference ;)

hmmm.. you're not reading :P
read .. read ate dali
maya read mo
my net is acting up and pretty low
I might log out and come back tonight so in case I don't get to reply it's cause I left to sort things out
but I'll be back asap everything's fixed!

Binasa ko lahat noh..rushed nga lang ahahaha

binasa lang di inintindi ..
me pics me video p nga e
tingnan mo ulit dali!

edit : I'm logging out
see you again tonight!
sorting things out :(

Ay di ko watch ang video..nasa conference nga noh

He's so cute! :) Btw great macro Miss

thank you belle :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86