What is the difference between Atoms and Molecules? Battlr's Chemistry Series Ep. 1

in #science7 years ago

Hello steemit!

I joined yesterday and have been overwhelmed by the community here. You all are fantastic. I have been wanting to create a series of chemistry mini-lectures that are easy to grasp, and hopefully leave you all with a little bit of chemistry knowledge at the end of it. I am still figuring out how and what this will evolve into, so I decided to start at the basics of the basics! Atoms and Molecules!

A lot of people wonder what exactly is the difference between an atom and a molecule, so lets dive in!

20616076_1827192763988035_1556771249_o.jpg
20622801_1827193407321304_893274592_o.jpg
20616355_1827194030654575_1081973435_o.jpg
20615415_1827193763987935_676628199_o.jpg
20598039_1827194380654540_2100846636_o.jpg

It is also interesting to note that if you have a molecular compound such as H2, N2, or O2, that you DO indeed have a molecule, but you do not have a compound, which is a molecule that contains at least two different elements, like H2O!
Feedback is welcome. Later on, I think I would like to find new research or articles and perhaps illustrate what is going on in the research in the style above. But for now, I will outline basic principles so that people might spark an interest in chemisrty or ask questions!
Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome!

-Battlr

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit !!! Seems we are going to more chemistry here soon :DDD
Lego is a really nice analogy for those who work in total synthesis XD
Keep it up!!!

Thank you! I am glad you like the lego analogy!

Magnets might be a better one? Cos who's putting those legos together? Well, a kid. But what does it represent? Granted, if you shake up a bunch of legos in a bag, some will bind to each other. My eyes are closing. Time for bed..

Thank you so much! Your work is highly appreciated. I am definitely going to follow your future posts with interest.

I am glad you like it! I am working on an episode on electroplating, should be up within the hour!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post!

If you accept this, you'll be nominated and the members of the OCD team will vote on whether we'll feature your post in our next compilation post.

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


I'm mostly curating in #science and am always glad to see quality posts like yours peeking out between the garbage and plagiarism!

Oh wow thats awesome! Yes I accept!

Great! :D

Good to see another chemist on here!

Yes! Chemists unite!

I like the drawings, upvoted and followed for more science post~

Thank you very much! I am looking forward to making more of these and refining my approach!

hahaha awesome! You actually made that FUN and interesting!!! Really awesome concept! Hats off to you! oh... and welcome to Steemit :) It is a truly fabulous community. I finally feel like I have found a home for my writing.

Congrats on your spot on the OCD Daily Issue #30 I am also super grateful to have even been nominated :)

Looking forward to reading more from you!

Thought you might like to check out my latest post too... https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/unapologetically-me

Your post is so awesome! I am glad that you have grown to love and accept yourself for who you are. I liked and followed and look forward to more posts!

Thank you! I am truly overwhelmed and honored by how amazing this community has been. Ive never considered myself an artist, but this cross between art and science is causing me to see a side of myself i never knew was there!

Nice diagram. :)

Thanks! I am going to improve the methods and format. All I have to work with is a stylus for my phone. We will see where this can go!

Congratulations @battlr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome @battlr I'm new too, and am always on the lookout for quality Steemers to follow, now it looks like I've found another one. Thanks for breaking it down for me.

I remember when i was a kid, and my Aunt, (A nurse) told me about all the little things that were on our body. I still remember my amazement after looking through a microscope for the first time. Ever since then, I've been hooked on learning new things. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! And yes! It was an experience very like what you experienced that made me constantly in awe at the universe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41