Complete Three Way Philosophical Extraction of Equisetum Arvense [Extraction and purification of the medicinal constituents of the herb Horsetail] [Basic Spagyric Alchemy Explained]

in #science7 years ago

Spagyric Alchemy was first described in detail by Paracelsus, a Greek philosopher.


In this series of posts I will be describing the laboratory processes involved with creating a Spagyric tincture through a full extraction process. I will do my best to use the Alchemical terms and relate them to the Modern Sciences and modern lexicon.

Today, I am working to purify the herb Equisetum arvense, or horsetail.

1200px-Equisetum_arvense_foliage.jpg

Horsetail has the highest silica content of any herb and thus is incredible at assisting in bone and cartilage reformation.


Distillation of volatile sulfur.jpg

I began by attempting a distillation of the Philosophical Volatile Sulfur (the essential oils); however, I found out rather quickly that this herb has very little Volatile Sulfur to be retrieved, but that there could be Fixed Sulfur which could be retrieved through other process so I moved forward to fermentation.


The fermentation process will yield the Philosophical Mercury (Ethyl-alcohol), which will have bonded with the volatile Sulfur.

fermentation.jpg

This process, unlike beer/wine/liquor fermentation, can take many months to complete. The Alchemist awaits the sign most commonly referred to as "The Peacock's Tail," which is when an iridescent sheen appears across the top of the fermentation signifying that the Sulfur has been released and the fermentation has completed.


Once the Peacock has shown its Tail, the ferment will be strained of the herb, which is set aside, and rectified (purified repeatedly) upwards of seven times to produce the purified Tears of Diana, the Mercury, which will bring the volatile Sulfur over along with it.

The herb will be dried and calcined, burnt to white ash, from which I shall extract the Philosophical Salt (mineral salts) through further purification techniques.

The original ferment, now distilled of its Mercury, will be evaporated completely. A dark muck will rise and bubble. This too shall be calcined, from which I shall receive the Philosophical fixed Salt of Sulfur.

I will then add them all together to cohabitate until they've sufficiently been wed.


Be sure to follow me to receive updates as they come and as I complete these processes! Fermentation began only yesterday morning, 7/19/17.


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this article, please follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Join us in our Discord Server and become a part of the MinnowsUnite minnow pond to share on the rewards!
https://discord.gg/PdWxgus


Sort:  

Nice setup, you help me learn how little I know about extraction. All I know are simple acid/base to extract alkaloids and non-polar washes to extract non-polar oils like terpenes. Your language choice has given me a lot to research.

Sending love to you and your efforts.

Thank you for the compliment. :) I too know very little about extraction, I've only scratched the surface of the realm you deal in. Should you want to learn more about what I am doing here, check out the book "Spagyrics" by Manfred M Junius.

Love gratefully received, much love to you and your journey!

Cracking sounds very tenchical although it does make some sense. Fascinating stuff though, we definitly need to rekinl these technique to use in the new world :)

I'm not sure what you mean by "cracking" :O

Thank you for the compliment. :) I fully agree that these techniques need to be brought back to use and made available for the public to do themselves with ease.

Sorry means great basically just sounds better to me. To be honest think it comes from ‘Wallace & Gomit’ “Cracking Cheese Gromit” and it stuck. Haha a northern England thing :)

Ahhh, okay! That makes sense, heh - I'm not all the way up on my English slang. ;) Thanks for explaining.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66