Be careful when you type or you will lose your money!

in #scammers7 years ago

I was going to write this post as a entry for the competition about scammers that @swissclive is making but I thought better and I concluded that the type of scamming that I am going to describe here does not fit so well the model that @swissclive provided. Find the lady is a much better example of classic scammers than what I will show you in this post, which is a kind of phishing if I am not wrong, but I find it important to make people aware of it.

scammers scammers everywhere.png

A few months ago, when I was much more novice to Steem(it) and how these things work, I have written posts, interacted with people and I was collecting a few Steem and SBD in my wallet. It was so hard for me to make these money since I had no support from anybody, I had no followers so the only place where my posts were featured was the new section. To keep this simple, it was simply hard for me to make my first coins here.

One day I decided that I want to change some SBD for Steem, only to see how it works and the single way to convert them that I knew back then, it was through @blocktrades

I am sure that everybody used their exchange to convert coins at least once. I am also sure that very few of the people using @blocktrades have made the same mistake as I did. Instead of reading it well BLOCKTRADES, I don't know why, at the beginning I have read it BLOCKTRADERS. And I was aware that it is very recommended to copy/paste the addresses where you want to send money, but I was sure that I am sending the money where I should send them, because it was just one simple word, how hard would it be to mistype it? I double checked if I typed it correctly and I have typed it correctly, blocktradeRs, because this is how mistakenly I have read it...

I still remember that I was refreshing my wallet to see if I finally received the money from @blocktrades that I was expecting and I was asking myself:

How much time does it takes for a transaction like this to complete, I thought Steem was fast, why I didn't got my money yet?

I then checked my transaction again and then I realized how fool I was.

I was not scammed, I scammed myself!

Here is the @blocktrades wallet, you can see my transaction there:

I know that for many of you, one SBD dosen't mean that much, even for me right now, a single SBD doesn't mean so much, but at that time, it was taking me a whole week to make one SBD from the rewards on my posts on which I was working a lot. I was very sad with my loss and tried to write to that account. I have tried to write to that account with the hope that he will send my money back, do you see, so fool I was!

It is easy to see that right after he received the money from me, he cashed them out, completely ignoring my comment.

Do you think I was a fool? Let me tell you in the John Lennon style that:

I was not the only one!

@blocktraders received a lot of money from unlucky people:

And from the transactions that this account makes, it seems to have more accounts including

If you go to @blocktraded you can see the sad transactions of @marrada who sent them 73 Steem. This is a small fortune for many people. He then tried to talk to these guys sending two transactions:

Hello, I accidently sent you my steem instead of "blocktrade". Can you send it back to me? Please. You can keep a few for the trouble. :)

so i see you decided to keep my money that i sent to you on accident, are you sure you want to do this?

Both of these transactions messages were successfully ignored, but @blocktrades (who would have thought this) has flagged their last posts. Checking their most recent post I have seen another guy writing desperately in the comment section:

I am sorry to read this, I know how that guy feels, I once were in the same situation and it was a lesson learned for me, since then I have been checking the addresses multiple times in order to make sure that everything is okay.

I have finished to describe this Steem phishing and I may be making another post for actual scammers, but at the moment I don't remember so well the scams that I went through in this life, but until then I hope that all of you have learned from my experience and you will be paying attention to the addresses you are sending money to. Better safe than sorry :D

Thanks a lot for reading!

Sort:  

You got a 20.00% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @mejustandrew!

It is amazing how just one letter can make a big difference. And an expensive one at that. I understand how much work we have to do to get 1 SBD so I can relate to this experience.

Followed you after learning what you did for @abbak7's friend. My husband got voted down to 15 (after being only a week old in Steemit) after confronting a votebot and then by a witness selling his SP delegation for a hefty APR! The only thing that revived him is a few other newfound friends who upvoted his comments.

Thanks for supporting the minnows and those who made mistakes and never given a chance to improve.

I can't believe @abbak7 shared the story, it was pretty strange to see somebody being down-voted so hard only for misusing the tags. And when you have under 25 reputation, very few people are upvoting you because they don't trust low reputation users. I was just trying to help... I am sorry to hear that your husband faced a similar situation, unfortunately Steemit is not perfect but I hope it will get better with time.

Thank you for the kind words!

Hi @mejustandrew, I have a question.

How did you restore @abbak7's friend's reputation? I'm asking because my husband got flagged again just for telling the truth. One of the Steemit Inc's devs is attacking most of the Steemit accounts that are into freedom and don't want the censorship happening here.

Anyway, my husband's comment got flagged and his rep went from 36ish down to 11. We're slowly going back up again. We're not backing down to bullies but this is really frustrating that this flagging war is happening rampantly.

We've invested in Steemit because we can see the potential. We're hanging in there.

I'm asking so I'd know what to do or check if I even have the capability to do it.

A user's reputation is influenced only by how much upvotes he receives (but they need to be big to really matter). In this case, I have bought votes using a bot. The problem right now is that the reputation is something logarithmic as you may already know, but with the 0 of the logarithmic function corresponding to 25 in our reputation. So decreasing from 25 to 20 is easier than decreasing from 20 to 18ish. Since he went to 11 it means that he got a big flag. If you buy a vote of 5 SBD with around 14$ in return if you are lucky, I guess it is okay. His reputation will be restored. But I won't do that in case he is going to get flagged again. Who was he fighting with?

Wow. Ok, I understand it better now.

He wasn't fighting with anyone. He was supporting @clarityofsignal with his post and also commenting on censorship

Oh well, we will have to slowly work our way up then! :) Thanks so much for taking the time to explain things to me.

If this is how we fight crap, my friend, get ready to cash out... I like that person, I spend some SBD crap for some posts, just to Incurage him, and it was working ...he was voting me, me voting him... you know, like you do it too... You know is not great material but you vote for it, to push them, he made every post way better then my quotes.crap...Buuuutttt that's how they figure they will clean Steemit.... It makes me vomit... Worst of it, And comes and votes the crap that the cleaner did... I'm disgusted... He was 32...now 18 and no idea why... Cash out bro...

I will see what I can do with the reputation of your friend, if you ask me, it seems that he learned his lesson and @steemcleaners shouldn't have flagged his post so hard, a very small flag would have been more than enough to completely remove his rewards... I have notified a few times @steemcleaners when I saw abuse like plagiarism, because that is what I think it is harmful for the platform, but mistagging, that is something very common, especially for newcomers.

I am impressed to see that you have $5000 invested in crypto, that's a lot, congrats! Which are your favorite coins?

Please disregard all this, I don't mean to put you in any trouble.. I was very drunk last night and I needed to say it to someone, that's all, you don't have to do anything...

It was September last year when I really got interested about crypto, for 2 weeks I was reading nonstop, everything I could find about crypto... So I decided to open a Coinbase acc. It took them 3 weeks to sync my bank account and have the money transfered, and in that time BTW almost doubled in price because it was right before the October fork, so I end up buying mostly ETH... I have some BTC and LTC,but that's less then 2% of the money... The reason I haven't bought any other altcoints yet it's for the lack of ways to secure them, you need too many accounts and passwords and no place where to move and hold them secure... And in USA you can't invest in ICOs, it's illegal, I can probably do it thru VPN, but I haven't tried it yet... I have HI hopes in EOS... and for some reason that I can't really explain... in Waves, but haven't done anything yet...

Wait, are you in USA right now?

Wow, that is great, you must kinda have fun :D I would have suggested you a place where you could buy crypto from in romania pretty simple, but since you are in USA, I don't know if it works the same. How cool is that, I always imagined that you are from Bucharest :)

Dude... I should call you Bro.... Mai făcut să mă simt acceptat, cu toate ca nu merit
..bravo tzie, tziai făcut un prieten, pe bune, o sa vezi pe parcurs, we will keep in touch... but I will never put 1$ on this crap...

I have about 5000$ invested in crypto... 0 in Steemit..

I think many people have made silly mistakes due to carelessness or lack of attention. I made one today which cost me 20steem. It’s no fun to lose money like this, but if you make a mistake it’s hard to call the other person a scammer. Yes, he is taking advantage of people’s mistakes, but he isn’t telling you any lies.

Yeap, making mistakes is very bad, especially when they cost you your hard worked money. I am sorry to hear that you made this kind of mistake today, 20 Steem is a thing.

At least we can learn from our mistakes :D

As always, really aware in everything thay you do! Consequences is await..

You got a 5.06% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @mejustandrew!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 1.85% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @mejustandrew!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75