Brother printer hack

in #saving7 years ago

I have a printer Brother HL-7130CDW. It's been working just fine and I've been very satisfied with it until just recently when it started acting weird saying I needed to change to a new cartridge even though I just did. I tried to take the "old" one out and put it back again, but that didn't solve my problem.

I contacted Brother and they would only help me if i "swore" that I only used Brother original products. Ffs! That is something that brings the stubborn devil out of me. I should be allowed to chose wichever producer I want.

So I googled around a bit and I found out how to fool my machine. So if you have a Brother printer then this can help out saving a lot of money (not having to buy cartridges more often than should be needed.

  1. Open the top of the machine so that you see the cartridges
  2. Press "cancel" and "secure" at the same time. A list of the cartridges appears that you can scroll through.
  3. Pick one and press "OK". Press "reset" and then repeat with all on the list.

This process resets the machine so it thinks that the cartridges are new. Voila!

Sort:  

Congratulations @health4families! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44