Something About Me - Sisters

in #sam-saturday6 years ago

One of the nicest challenges on Steemit is Something About Me or SAM challenge hosted by @bluemoon. The details are here. Every Saturday we are invited to share something about us.

Yesterday I wrote a post about my mother and the relationship between us. Today, I will speak about another woman who always stood by me: my sister.
About my sister.... She is four years younger than me and, as we use to joke, she started to ruin my life in the April of 1985. On 13th of April to be more precise. I'm born on 27th so my mom had the funny idea that the baby would make the perfect gift. I was fascinated by the little one: a blue eyed little miracle always sleeping, almost never crying. I remember spending hours by her crib waiting to wake up and speak. I even asked my mom why is she sleeping so much.
Everything was nice and wonderful until the little angel started to move around. My toys became our toys and everyday I was hearing the same phrase: share with your sister.
We were always together: going to the same school, attending the same events...inseparable. You might say how nice of you to have such a great relationship. Oh, my dear friends...you are so wrong. We hated each other, at least this is what we believed at that time. Our parents insisted to be so close despite my strong objection.

WaterMark_2018-11-17-18-27-40.jpeg

Years passed by and we, me and my sister, became closer although we were still fighting on a daily basis. From our teenage years we kept the wonderful habit to greet each other with a very nice formula: how are you, obnoxious creature?. Also, I was always a cow (born under the Taurus sign) while she was a stupid sheep (Aries). Getting ready for our proms was a joint effort and we both looked like scarecrows, our term for looking good.

Today we are still the same crazy kids who used to drive mad parents and grandparents. We are phoning each other for every important reason (our neighbours have a new dog, I bought a new nail polish, mom forgot Lizzy outside....again, etc.). Also, my sister christened my son and I will stay by her side when she'll get married.
There are so many things I could say about her... But I will stop here. The most important thing is that she is my best friend, the person who is always there when needed and I'm proud to call her my sister.

The edit I made for this post is a photo of her favourite flower. She filled the garden with these wild carnations and for some peculiar reason she hates tulips.
But I have a surprise for her. I planted tulips right under her bedroom window. Next spring will arrive with a great surprise for her. 😂

Have a great weekend, friends!


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Fall (these being the theme until 1st of December).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Such a lovely writeup Roxy cat. Sisters are special. ❤️
Luckily my sister is 13 yrs. younger than me so we never had sibling rivalry. she is my best friend although we have never lived near each other, We always manage to get together for special occasions.

Thank you, my dear. Yes, sisters are very special and it is great to have someone to share with joy and sorrow.
This sibling rivalry is somehow driven by the parents. We tend to protect the younger one forgetting sometimes that the older sibling requires the same attention. Later on, it is them against us. Breaking the rules will always unite toddlers. 😂

Seriously? You planted the flower your sister hates under her bedroom window - you are so naughty! 😂
Have a grest weekend too!
!tip

I surely did. This is my revenge for one of her remarks. She asked my husband how is it to live in Purgatory. He did not get it so she said he must have great sins since he married me. 😒

LOL
You both know how to be mischievous.

You have no idea, my dear. You have no idea. 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Cheers 🍻

Perfect edits.

I also have a younger brother, first when I was little, we both often went to the rice fields together, joking and we never fought. Now we are big but not as familiar as before, we never joked anymore even though our relationship is still fine, now we are embarrassed to joke.

And now I miss that childhood again.

I know what you're saying. Growing up is not always fun. We gain some freedom (or this is what we believe) but we loose more important things. We should try to keep some of the childhood within us.
I know how lucky I am to have such a good relationship with my sister. I'd only wish to be the same for all my friends.
Thank you for stopping by

How fun it must be to have a sister! I have always wished for one. Well okay maybe it's not the best when you're little, but when you get older like me I think it would be wonderful to have a sister! I guess I have the next best thing, my best friend does not have a sister either, so 20 years ago we agreed to be each other's sister and although it's not exactly the same, it's pretty good!

Having a sibling is great although, if I may quote my sister, sharing the inheritance is not a good thing. 😂
Family are those who know us best, those who will always stand by our side.
Perhaps you and your friend were supposed to meet and become friends. Who knows? Maybe you were sisters in a previous life. 🙂
Thank you for your kind words and your support, my dear Melinda. 😘

I've never planted flowers that she hates in her yard! I can't wait to hear the reaction to the tulips!

Oh my dear Melinda... I'm sure you will actually hear it despite the distance. 😂

That is true as you say, when we are old, we will be lonely and of course people who want to see us when we are old are our own children or siblings.

I am happy that I have all of you to keep me from being lonely!

I am not married, but I know what the elderly people want, they want to always have their grandchildren or children to mendampingi so as not to be lonely.

Sometimes wealth cannot make us happy without the children and grandchildren of our own children.

Glad my grandmother had 10 children and had nearly 40 grandchildren.

40! I only have five grandchildren. And you are right , I love being with them.

I pray that you can always be happy with them.
👉🧒👦👧👨‍👩‍👧‍👦👨‍👦👨‍👦‍👦💏👫👬👭👈

🎁 Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @nelinoeva!

@nelinoeva wrote lately about: Friday Rocks | #5 Feel free to follow @nelinoeva if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Is so important have a good relationship with the family. I am sure that you and your sister despite of the fight love so much😊

We do love each other and always being supportive. In fact, I believe our fights are some sort of love display. 😂
Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

I understand... This happen with my brother hahaha

How interesting and funny is it to learn about your family relations dear Miss ! =))

Thank you, mon cher ami. 🙂
We all need a good laugh from time to time, and a good part of my family saga is quite funny. I could write a novel. 🤔

I don't have a sister (only brothers) so I don't know what kind of relations we could have, but your story is so very interesting, i love the way you tell it, as well as in the post about your mother... thanks for sharing that with us ! ^_^

Thank you for your kind words and support, my dear.
When I was a little child I wished to have a brother. I had the strange idea that he would make a better sibling. I told this to my sister and her reply simply stunned me: "you are lucky to have a sister...a brother would have kicked your butt harder than me". Needles to say what followed. It was one of the best fights we had....and I mean an actual fight, kick box style. 😂

Thank you! You've done a great post! I like to read the comments in a post ... they say a lot about the quality of posting. You must be happy to have such a sister. I'm glad for you two. Life will show you how good it is to be together.

Thank you for your kind words and support. Much appreciated.
I'm happy I have my sister by my side. We are lucky to have such a strong bond between us. It could have been messy (I had a case in my family where sisters fought over inheritance and never spoke to each other again). And the laugh we have when we meet... It's out of this world. I think I will start a memories serie for your challenge. 🙂

I'm looking forward to your series ... You're right, not all brothers and sisters are close. I cannot understand that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83