LoveFriday Challenge - Mothers and Daughters

in #lovefriday6 years ago

Yesterday was my mother's birthday. She turned 64. As always, she did not want anything special: "don't spend your money on me, buy something for the kids". I hate when she says that. I owe her everything and not buying her a present seems so wrong.
Today I want to speak about her, to write some things that I always wanted to tell her but never did.
My mother is a very strong person, perhaps the strongest woman I've ever met in my life. Sometimes stubborn, sometimes too permisive, she is the one who shaped my personality. Our relationship was not an ideal one... And I suppose it will never be. But this will never break the strong bond between us.

I still remember the beautiful childhood years when we laughed together and always had a great time. Of course, a bad mark at school would start a neverending quarrel between us but I was a diligent pupil so this did not happen often.

Our relationship started to alter when I went to highschool (basically during the teenage years). The first clash we had was when I chose IT despite her wish to study economics. She never missed an opportunity to tell me how wrong I was. But I proved her wrong and finished highschool among the first...what else could I have done since she forbid me to go out with my friends (I believe I was the only teenager who had a ridiculous returning home hour: "while it's still light outside")? I know she did it just because she wanted me to be safe but I would have loved some trust.

After finishing highschool, following my mom's advice, I applied for Law school and Economics. Without her knowledge I also applied for Biochemistry. This is the moment when I think the gap in our relationship really appeared. A gap that took me years to fill and surpass. I was admited to all the schools and my choice shocked her: Biochemistry. It was the second time when I confronted her and this time it was a bitter sweet victory.
I graduated with a good score, met my future husband and moved to a different city. We did not speak too much during this time, me and my mom. She always helped me, but we never had the conversations we used to have before.

While I was searching for a good job and also helping my little sister (she started to study Journalism), the unthinkable happened: my father died in a car crash leaving us completely helpless. Financial issues, four sick grandparents were added to the pain we felt. This was a dark period of my life which I would gladly forget but... This is the time when me and my mom stopped speaking to each other for several years. She got me a job (without asking me) and I said no. I had a better offer but she refused to understand. The job she found for me was in my hometown, low income but I was home.
Within two years I lost my grandparents and it was only me and mom who carried the burden. But we did not speak to each other. Time passed and we started to communicate again....but it was not the same. Reluctant to share our true feelings, our conversations were cold and formal.

Few years later I got married and had my son. This is the moment when I realised that she might have been right about some things. And she only wanted the best for me but I was blinded by the youth adrenaline. This was also the moment when she realised that she could have trusted me. My son was, in fact, the peace angel. 🙂

Today we speak more than an hour daily, we share our feelings and I feel like the happy kid I used to be. The fights we have (of course we still quarrel: I'm a Taurus and she's a Scorpio, both equally stubborn and impulsive) are different though. I learned to shut up and she learned to listen. We both realised that our tumultuous past shaped my character while she is proud of her daughter.

I bought her orchids and lilies, her favourite flowers. She almost refused them as they are too expensive, she has to have a grumble. But I don't care, as long as I have her by my side, I will spoil her and love her, and be thankful for having her in my life.

Happy birthday, dear mom!

I don't think she will read these lines as she does not speak English (just German and French...and I refused to learn German just to annoy her...stupid kid). But I will make sure she knows my feelings without novels or poems. 🙂

This is my contribution to the #lovefriday challenge hosted by @liliana.duarte.

WaterMark_2018-11-16-17-13-55.jpg


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Fall (these being the theme until 1st of December).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

You have traveled some difficult paths, @roxy-cat. Mother daughter relationships can be challenging. Happy Birthday to your mom. You are so wonderful that I am sure she sees that and is proud of you!

Thank you so much, Melinda. Indeed, I had some dark times in my life but hopefully from now on things will be good. I can only hope she sees how much I love her as words never came easily between us. 😔

First of all I want your mother Happy birthday!
You made a sensitive and tender posting talking about your mother, about you and about your relationship. A relationship that is somewhat common between a mother and a daughter (I have examples in my family). I'm glad you're back to your mom again, as normal.
You could use totally justified the tag #sam-saturday for this post.

Thank you, Dan. I will pass her the message. Usually she is inyerested on what happens "on that thing you do on the phone". 🙂
Having a daughter certainly changed my point of view. I believe I will be a similar parent as I already tend to be overprotective. I can only hope my relationship with my daughter would be a little different.
I could use your tag however I would like to have a separate post for your challenge. I'm thinking about sharing some funny childhood memories. Something about me and my sister, how we both drove my mom crazy. 🙂

Surely the relationship with your daughter will be different because the times will be different.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow, wish my vote was bigger!! Teenage age is tuff for mum and daughters relations...and when we are fighting for our independence too:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, we all wish our votes were bigger. 🙂
Don't worry about votes. As long as I know my words awoke some feelings, I am happy.
Teenage years are very difficult for both mothera and daughters. And we can understand their opinions only when we become parents.
Thank you for your support. 😘

I wish you both many happy hours together! :) Happy Birthday to your mom! :) I'm very happy that everything is good now :)
I understand you so well! The first thing I would wish now is that my mom was here - she left us 19 years ago... :( My relations with my mother were not so complicated... She somehow always managed to find a way out and find a solution in every situation. Although, just like you, I also had a very similar situation with my studies, we argued fiercely, but finally I took her advice and never regretted it. :)

Thank you for your wishes, my dear. I will pass her the message. 🙂
Sorry to hear about your mom. It's so sad when you loose a parent, especially mothers. It is said that when you loose your mother, you also loose half of the heart.
I did not follow my mother's advice regarding the studies as I have no passion for Law or Economics. This is something she would have liked to study. And today I work in the IT field, this being what I wanted during highschool.
But I'm glad all is fine now. 🙂

Thank you, @roxy-cat, for your nice words. Yes, I really was and still am very sad about this loss. I don't think it is possible to recover and feel totally full without her... :(

Indeed, life will not be the same but you owe her to be happy. She wouldn't like to see you sad. It's hard, very hard but life goes on and they will be with us forever in our hearts. 😔

Thank you so much, my dear @roxy-cat!..

I have so much to say, so that's why I would say only a few words. Happy birthday to your mom, may God keep her by your side for a long time!
You're a strong and amazing woman Roxy, keep it up!

Thank you for your kind words, Erika. May God hear you! 🙂

Wish your mom happy birthday and all the very best!
I was touched by your story,
All I can say is that it is great to have your mon by your side. There are tough times in our lives and I can understand how you have felt wishing to follow your own path. Mothers wish only the best for their kids.
!tip

Thank you for your kind words, my dear. Much appreciated.
Indeed, we come to fully appreciate our mothers only when we become parents. 🙂
Why is life so complicated?
Thank you for the tip

🎁 Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @nelinoeva!

@nelinoeva wrote lately about: Three Dancing Fauns Statue Feel free to follow @nelinoeva if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33