Something About Me challenge - Something about...books

in #sam-saturday5 years ago

One of the nicest challenges on Steemit is Something About Me or SAM challenge hosted by @bluemoon. The details are here. Every Saturday we are invited to share something about us. Unfortunately, this week was not a very good one for me hence the delay on posting.

This week I will tell you about another passion of mine: reading.
Even from early childhood I loved books. My family still spread nasty rumors about a cute six months little girl who's greatest pleasure was to torn books pages and taste the paper. 😂
Later on, my parents noticed how much time I spent with the books, looking at pictures and wishing to understand the text. So, they taught me to read (somewhere around the age of four). Within a year, I read all the children books we had in the house and I started to check the big humans literature. I remember that I kept buzzing my mom with questions... I did not know all words and some of them were really strange to me. Plus, how can you explain a five years old child why grown-ups fight or betray?
In order to avoid this ordeal, my mother gave me an illustrated edition of the dictionary. 🙂

WaterMark_2018-11-11-10-37-30.jpg

A whole year I was busy reading and understanding the dictionary but then...nothing could stop me.

During the teenage years I developed my taste for British romantic movement and the French classics. At the same time I was fascinated by heroic stories and adventures so I've read everything that Henryk Sienkiewicz wrote. Not to mention that around the age of 17-18, I felt in love with J. R. R. Tolkien style.
Other authors I really treasure: Balzac, Mikhail Bulgakov, Hemingway.

Nowadays? I guess I'm one of the many waiting for George R. R. Martin to publish the The Winds of Winter. 🙂

I hope you enjoyed reading this SAM. And what about your favourite book?

Have a great weekend, friends!


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Fall (these being the theme until 1st of December).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great reading story. I think that most book lovers would feel identified with you.
I did not know about Henryk Sienkiewicz (have not read anything by him).
I do remember watching Quo Vadis (the 1951 adaptation)

Thank you, my friend. I would have been lost without books. Reading makes us evolve, shapes our personality.
I totally recommend H. Sienkiewicz. His novels are amazing. You get to know the history of the Polish nation and not only. I'm talking about that type of books that you will not let go until you reach the last page. 🙂

That sounds great. Unfortunately, we have zero access to international lit these days. Depend on the internet and one does not always find a good website with e-books available. I'll see what i can get. I love historical fiction.

I don't read books at all.
They say opposites attract and this is a proof LOL.

I suppose if there's a good book, Hollywood will surely make a movie, right? 😂

Oh, tnat is so nice to read how you love noks. I missed this week to post but I was thinking too to write about my passion of reading. 😀
One of my favourite authors is Terry Pratchet.

Great minds think alike. 😂
I've heard about Terry Pratchet but I did not read any of his works yet. Thank you for the recommendation. 🙂

How pretty! Books. I recognize myself in you until 18 to 20 years old. That was in the 70s when I was reading almost all the time, I even experienced reading on the street while I was walking (as many people do now with the smartphone). Terribly young!
Then I went to the movies and later on the internet. I have not read anything in the past 20 years ... I'm scaring when I say that.
The even more unpleasant part is that I forgot almost everything I read!
Congratulations on your passion and because you have time to read now when you are so busy, especially with your little children.

I think we read so much during our youth due to the comunist regime and its limitations. I don't believe things would be similar if we had our kids' life.
Lately it is hard to read. Instead of finishing a book within a day or two, now I spent weeks before reaching the last page. But I will not give up. 🙂

You're right! I like that you are consistent and determined to read to the end.

There is no way that I could choose just one favorite book! Maybe I could do a top 20 list! Now that I'm here on Steem, I do not read nearly as much as I used to.

It looks like Steemit is a new form if procrastination. 😂
However, I read quite interesting articles here. But it's true, I don't read as much as before.

I'm ok with all the reading I do here. I seldom watch TV these days either. I would rather be here!

A good thing about Steemit (apart from the information I found), is the fact that it helped me improve my English. I even started to read some classics in English. 🙂
Tv? No, thank you. The news are rarely bringing happy events and most of the other shows are too hectic and violent.

Your English is perfect. I assumed you were a native speaker!
I never watch the news. I made a decision 25 years ago to not allow all the horror that the TV news brings into my house. I remember the exact moment that I made the decision. I was sitting in front of my TV set watching the news and crying. It was a beautiful day outdoors and I shut the TV set off and went out and worked in my garden and I've never watch the news again.

Thank you, Melinda. English is my second foreign language, the first being French.
I'm watching the news from time to time as I like to be informed but lately is being very hard to cope with the horros they show. You are so right, nature is far more pleasant to watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05