Something About Me (SAM)#sam-saturday post by me @c0ff33a ☕️

in #sam-saturday6 years ago

This my #sam-saturday post, a tag started by @bluemoon which you can read about in something about me on Saturday

The idea is simple and fun, with our introduce me posts long past and forgotten, this tag allows us to let everyone know something about us - a hobby, about where we live, anything that helps us get to know each other better.

IMG_0397.JPG

This post is all about my hobby Snowboarding, which I have been doing for around 25 years now.

IMG_0160.JPG

One week a year spent in either France, Italy or Switzerland in a ski-resort

IMG_0381.JPG

Generally late February or Early March is the optimum time to go, because you get the best weather - nice and sunny although the snow can be a little thin that late in the season.

IMG_0405.JPG

The amazing views make this hobby more then just sliding down a mountain with a plank strapped to your feet.

IMG_0412.JPG

I tend to head for the runs that are not groomed, or off piste between runs.

IMG_0568.JPG

You can find some challenging terrain, and new routes back to the lift.

IMG_0586.JPG

And at the end of the day, some fun structures back at the apartment. That's a little something about me, why not join in #sam-saturday yourself?

Some of my previous posts you might have missed


<a href="https://steemit.com/witness/@c0ff33a/witness-update-c0ff33a-and-derangedvisions-20-6-dstors-and-more”>
Witness Update by @c0ff33a 20.6 @dstors and more

The C0ff33 Vlog 5th October 2018
Sublime Sunday by @c0ff33a ☕️


Last Confirmed Block Number 27,791,886 Last Aslot 27,887,229
Steemd v0.20.6


Kind thanks to @enginewitty for employing his Ninja graphic design skills and producing this 🔥 banner

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

To grow your presence and following on Steemit, be active in the community Discords that offer the chance to learn, network, share and be found. The #SteemitRamble discord https://discord.gg/HZYzEry hosts a range of shows where you can join in and get your name shown, every Thursday there are two Pimp My Post Thursdays which are hugely popular and give you an opportunity to get your posts seen.

For fun and entertainment then #SteemStar is the discord to be in, https://discord.gg/ZDANjzy with regular shows during the week it’s the best place to relax, and also network the friends you make could be your future biggest upvoters.

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my Steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

You can view my current Witness Statistics using this tool produced by Witness @justyy

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

" A Shy Old British Geography and Biology Geek, is a Nut addict and loves Coffee and obcessed with Jax Jones" as @steemflow describes me.

The greatest challenge we face on Steemit is getting our posts seen, I have always believed the simplest and best value way of doing this is by commenting on the blog posts of others, the more you engage people and interact with them the greater the chance they will visit your own blog and return the favour. Other then spending all my free time commenting on Steemit posts, I also distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr


This awesome animated Banner has been kindly been created by the wonderful @snook

Don’t forget to vote for Witnesses https://steemit.com/~witnesses

I am the official Witness supporting the @dstors project by @kaliju and @derangedvisions, buying and selling products worldwide with Steem and @dstors contributing to the shipping with the reward pool. Learn More

You can vote for the Witness team c0ff33a and @derangedvisions if you like what we are doing for people and communities throughout the Steem blockchain - click below to vote easily
witness.png

If you are uncertain about Witnesses and who to vote for you can set c0ff33a as your Witness Proxy and you will vote for the same Witnesses as I do.

nuczw2pkib.png

Sort:  

looks like a lot of fun!

when snowboarding, are the balancing skills required similar to skiing? (i live in that part of the earth where it doesn't snow)

Posted using Partiko Android

I started off skiing, the skills are similar but snowboarding is more brutal to learn. With skiing to control speed easily by putting the skis in a V shape - tips together backs splayed out. Snowboarding however you have to learn quickly how to whip the board sideways and lift the front edge so the back edge drags to stop you. Once you have the board in a straight line down hill it will go like a rocket - you have to transition edges and turn left right to control speed which is all balance and delicate foot movements - if you can’t the only way to stop if throw yourself on the floor. And then there is the dreaded front edge digging in - you can traverse sideways on a board sliding down the slope side on if you keep the front of the board up - but if you let the front drop too close to the snow it can catch in it stopping you dead - and basically you will go full pelt face or back first into the snow - that hurts. Once you get it snowboarding is awesome- but I think many give up after a few lessons because it’s really painful at the start!

Posted using Partiko iOS

it sounds too complex for me. i tried skiing and a friend tried to teach me hockey once.. i thought that hurt a lot. snowboarding sounds like its gonna hurt even more.

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG!!!
Snow boarding is MY FAVORITE THING!
Well except for snow. mountains. and you know... boards.

They actually have these little tri-ski bikes you sit on - literally it's like a kids tricycle but with ski's instead of wheels, steers and has brakes the dig into the snow everything - I could just see you sauntering down the mountain on one of those.

skibike.gif

@dreemsteem - you wanna go halves for christmas 🤣

Yessssssssss all the better to evade bears with!!!! Lololol

Posted using Partiko Android

So, your interests run "hot and cold" — from the heat of roasting coffee to sliding down a mountain on cold snow! 😁

Yes, I know it's a very unusual combination. Although all the mountain restaurants have coffee machines, so I often check out the machine to see what is reliable - because you don't want to be calling an engineer out when your machine is at the top of a mountain in the middle of a blizzard!

Thank you for keeping your promise and participating in this challenge. It is an honor for me and my colleagues involved.
I know about your passion for snowboarding, I've seen a very nice Gifs post a long time ago.
My son and his girlfriend have the same passion and I'm sorry I'm too old for that.
I think it's a great feeling to slip on the snow!

Thank you very much, I always get around to things eventually - just seems like I always have something else planned at the moment. It’s always fun to slide around on the snow - unless you have other things to do and it’s just getting in the way if you doing them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know if you've ever received such a long delay. 8 days! Please forgive me, @c0ff33a. I was away more than a week.
About snow and snowboarding, I think it is both dangerous and relaxing.

Oh wow! Lovin the snow fort!!! It takes me back seeing that. Built and helped build several in my younger days. Not enough snow here for that though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know, generally I would say we don't get that much snow in the UK either - but at the start of this year we had way too much! It's super fun until you actually have to try and get to work in it.

A few years back a few of the local reprobates took a break from doing donuts on our culdesac in Vauxhall Corsa's they had borrowed (without telling the owner) and when it snowed put their artistic talent to work instead on the grassed area our houses look onto - a 6ft tall snow dick and balls - impressively detailed they chiseled out the helmet and everything !

Bwahahahahahahaha! OMG! Bet that was a riot to see🤣🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

The closest I ever came to any ice sports was ice skating. Not a pretty sight ;-)
It looks like fun though. I might have to give it a go.

To be honest I am terrible at Ice Skating as well, although that was a long long time ago. I eventually managed to stay upright but it was anything but elegant!

One thing about heading to the mountains though, incredible scenery. Even if you don't ski or snowboard, there is plenty to do and if you go late in the season March or April - lovely, warm, sunny - mountains, fresh air.

My wife can ski but I've never tried it myself. I did ride a skateboard when I was a kid so maybe I could get int othe whole skiing thing. I did enjoy my trip to the mountains in Cumbria recently.

You are full of surprises! I am not a fan of winter sports, but my son is and he loves snowboarding.

I have the occasional talent here or there, even if you don't like getting into the sliding down mountains on planks side of winter sports - there is always tons to do in the mountain resorts. Plenty of low level and up the mountain walks, and you can always go up to the top of the mountain and stop at one of the mountain restaurants enjoying good food and drink out their balconies while watching everyone else slide on by.

IMG_0221.JPG

How about that for dining with a view? And yes it's one of my photos, but I didn't traverse the cliff face to take it! You can ski around the back of the mountain face you see.

Oh man, that view is breathtaking and I can imagine how fresh the air is there. Fantastic place to dine.
Recently I found old photos from one of my trips to Switzerland and I am thinking to make a travel post about it. We had lunch in a restaurant in the mountain, similar to that one and it was just amazing. It was sunny and pretty nice autumn day with crisp air and stunning view.
!tip

🎁 Hi @c0ff33a! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @nelinoeva!

@nelinoeva wrote lately about: Friday Rocks | #5 Feel free to follow @nelinoeva if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

So glad to see you doing a SAM post! Those photos are great an I can only imagine how much fun that must be! when I was a kid we skied on some of the little ski hills around here, but I've never had mountains like those!

I have meant to do a SAM post for a while, but I always had another post lined up on a Saturday. It’s a great idea by @bluemoon so I will definitely do more.

Posted using Partiko iOS

cool, i'll vote for @coff33a as a witness... I spent some time in Yorkshire many moons ago, a dear friend and her mate started a rave club called WhirlyGig you heard of it? I might be spelling it wrong, and not sure it still exists as this was early 2002.

Thank you very much , I really appreciate the Witness vote every little helps. I can’t say I have heard of whirlygig - although I was at University in Staffordshire at that time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir c0ff33a! wow I had no idea, I figured you were chained to your business 24/7/365. and for 25 years, you must be a bloody professional!
Hey the photos are great, yours is excellent and cool, the mountain view is spectacular and are those paragliders and if so, where did they come from? That's a magnificent shot.

what does this sentence mean though? .."And at the end of the day, some fun structures back at the apartment." Great post!

Thank you @janton, to be fair I am chained to my business because I'm rubbish at delegating work and try and do it all myself! Now and again I get a little bit of parole for good behaviour though.

The paragliders are actually on skis - they get the lifts with their back packs on all the way to the very top of the mountains, then they find a good slope to launch off, spread the parachute behind them and head off down hill. The parachute catches the wind, they fly up and then soar around the mountains on the thermals like eagles - they can be circling for hours at a time on the right day before eventually landing back down in the valley.

So the last sentence relates to making snow buildings in the apartment garden areas. It could be a little igloo like pictured, maybe a snow man and a few times with natural terrain on my side I have made small jumps to practice tricks on during the evening - walk up the slope and ride down to the ramp.

howdy again sir c0ff33a! oh how interesting! Those paragliders doing that and possibly for hours?? wow!
That could be addictive. Thanks for the explanation too, that makes sense..both about the business because you're probably a perfectionist and about the practice jumps in the yard, those are fun facts too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63