Sailing With my Family in Newport Beach, California

in #sailing7 years ago (edited)

Today was a wonderful day out on the water with my brothers Tod and Christian, my sister Kara (Cale was working), my three nephews, and my wife and kids. I was rocking my "no rulers" t-shirt as we cruised around Newport Harbor in a 44′ Beneteau we rented for the day. We went out to the ocean and down the coast to Dana Point.


Felt great to be sailing again

We saw sea lions and dolphins, motored around a bit, and even put up the sails on the way back up the coast. It was an amazing day hanging out with my family. My older brother, Tod, helped teach all the kids how to steer, though some of us would freak out a bit as they over-corrected and sent us heading towards a dock or jetty. :)


My brother Tod with Aria and one of my nephews

We had plenty of food, snacks, and beer/wine/juice to fully enjoy the day. It was wonderful, super relaxing, and fun.

I even got to see the old boat, Adventures, which I lived on for two years during high school. You can read more about that here: Living on a Boat for Two Years Shaped My Life.

I have many great memories out on the water and today added another to it. I'm so very thankful to be fully enjoying vacation with family.

I took a bunch of videos and pictures with my phone that I put together as a movie which is just over ten minutes long. I'm sure my family and I will enjoy looking back on this one many years from now.

Meet some of my family and check out more pictures in the movie below:



Eight minutes into the video, you can see dolphins swimming right next to our boat.

Some of the pictures near the end were selfies my daughter took. :)

I hope you had an amazing day as well.

Some pictures included in the movie above:


My wife @corinnestokes and my sister Kara


My brother Christian and me taking a selfie


The amazing sunset we enjoyed

Thanks for reading and watching!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Aww man, such a fun vacation! I was going to bring up your time living on a boat, but you already mentioned it. It's really come full circle, and everything is the result of hard work and dedication. I really admire how you go about your life, Luke. It's something that I would be lucky to emulate. I know I've said it elsewhere, but it bears repeating: that anarchy shirt looks so cool!

Thanks Jed. :) You can pick up a shirt at Incite Tees.

Thanks for the link, Luke! It's cool that they accept Bitcoin. I was going to say that they shoud since they're all about anarchy. I hope they open it up to different cryptos soon, particularly STEEM haha!

Looks like a great time :) Growing up we would take a motor boat (speedboat?) out on Lake Erie and for some reason I always loved going "below deck" to that front section and laying down there - no one could ever figure out why I loved that nausea inducing location, but I liked it for some reason feeling all the waves. Another time a friend and I tried to sleep overnight in a canoe - that did not work.

I snuggled with my girls in the "V-Birth" (that's what they call the forward cabin a sailboat) today. I also love feeling the boat rocking up and down and the sound of the water against the hull.

Hey @lukestokes I went to school at Newport Beach Elementary and lived on the Ocean Front right at the Balboa Pier in the 1960's.....I even used to go up on the roof of the Pavilion at Sunset to take down the American Flag. By the way the coolest place in the World for anyone to Grow Up in my opinion.

Very cool! The boat I lived on was off the 15th street dock on the Lido Island side. :)

@lukestokes I know it well. I am so glad you and your Family got to have this wonderful experience during This Christmas Season. I could Share with you all the Cool Places to see and go but of course I would boar the heck out of most people that have not been there yet................

Hola amigo, me alegra mucho que estes disfrutando con tu hermosa familia, tus hermanos se parecen mucho a ti, un paseo en Velero es muy placentero, la briza, el mar, los delfines, es hermoso, lo que veo es que allá hace mucho frió, la temperatura del agua cual es? no se bañaron?

Hacía un poco de frío, pero no está mal. El agua está fría, estoy seguro, pero no fuimos a nadar. Dicho esto, nos dirigimos a la playa hoy. Espero poder encontrar mi viejo traje de neopreno.

jajaja, que bien, sino consigues aqui tenemos varios que te pueden servir. Saludos a tu esposa y besos para los niños.

This looks so awesome. I would love to do a sailing trip one day. Especially when you are together with the family.

"Sailing takes me away to where I've always heard it could be
Just a dream and the wind to carry me
And soon I will be free" I remembered this song by Cristopher Cross reading your post. You guys sure had fun!

Merry Christmas my dear @lukestokes your post is so cheerful ...hope you enjoy your vacation and have a nice time for ever.... God bless you an d your beautiful family 😍

@lukestokes WoW! This is great! I can't wait to make my special post on sailing :) lucky you.

I'm surprised that you were not at the dock when Luke got back from Dana Point to welcome @lukestokes back to Newport.....

Sungguh luar biasa.. Bahagia rasa jika bisa ke laut kembali.. Sayang nya boat kami telah karam.. Sukses selalu selalu untuk anda.. Senang melihat dan terkenag masa saat di lautan lepas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46