You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Run to Work (or Work to Run); A Key to My Sustainable Approach to Fitness (and my #runforsteem post #1!)

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for that awesome intro! Very kind. I can really appreciate your approach to fitness. I too look at "empty" pockets of the day spent commuting or otherwise sitting and it gets me frustrated. I often will run during my "lunch" break and luckily for me I work in healthcare as a PT so and my job itself is very on the go without a super strict dress code so I can just clean up , keep some fresh clothes in the car at all times with some other toileting essentials and basically be good to go. I usually wear a sweat band around my head that helps a lot. Other times I will simply run from the work parking lot after work becayse you can run almost anywhere.

I will say that for running shoes I do not agree with not ever untying the shoes. Since running puts up to 3x your body weight into each step (vs walking only 2x) the impact can jostle and stretch the shoe. Therefore proper lacing each time is important as the lacing does loosen over time and that slack in lacing can cause inadequate arch support.

Sorry, I just totally geeked out on you.

I agree about walking. I don't make walking a thing I incorporate actually but I do fully endorse it. Runners who show disdain for a walk break need a strong dose of humility. After all Jeff Galloway promotes 1 minute of walking for every mile. That'd be 26 minutes of walking in a full marathon. Perhaps a big deal for the elites breaking world records but for most of us not so much. And to think he once ran a 216 marathon Wow! I am pretty sure that was before his endorsement of the 1min walk per mile but still.

I used to be so stubborn with my running it would take seeing a UFO to stop and look or take a picture. I now stop for quick pics if I see something cool.

Obviously depending on my training or if it was a planned "relax" run day... but still over time I have come to really apprecaite rest breaks and the value of a slower pace for recovery.

Well I really enjoyed your post. Glad to have met you!! :D

Sort:  

sitting and it gets me frustrated.

Oh the shoe lace controversy. Am I about to have my first steemit fight?! :). So, I run with a true mid foot strike. Very low impact. With that, the foot doesn’t shift much inside the shoe, and so they can be worn quite loose. I also run barefoot sometimes, but mostly with very minimal shoes. I worked on my technique for quite a while to get to this point, so it’s not something I recommend to do without training/coaching of some sort. But to give a little more background, when I first started back seriously (basically trying to keep up with my future wife who was marathon training :) I suffered one injury after another, and mostly related to compartment syndrome. I was on the brink of giving up completely, which had me seriously messed up emotionally, and then I discovered ChiRunning. I loved it so much that I became an instructor, and Danny Dreyer was my mentor for many years. Life changing. And never had another serious injury again except from sprinting, which is a whole other ball of wax (and requires tightly laced shoes :). So, I know enough to know I’m no master or expert, but I do know what works for me.

Oh, and I do have to push myself sometimes to be a little more serious! I get into my zen mode and do things like stop to eat, take pics, etc and that doesn’t exactly help my 5k. Balance right? One thing my wife and I used to do before we had kids was tour places while running. We did a 20-miler once in Chicago, and a similar distances in Montreal and Toronto. So much fun, and with no watches. I tend to get my serious workouts in on the track.

Hmmm no steemit fight. That changes things if that is really how you strike. I've also done some barefoot running. In fact I did a steemit post on it last summer =)
Cool you run with your spouse. We do too sometimes =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44