Run to Work (or Work to Run); A Key to My Sustainable Approach to Fitness (and my #runforsteem post #1!)

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

(And my first #runningproject post!)

Doh! I forgot to include #runforsteem, which was the original point of all of this! Click here to get all the information on the weekly Run For Steem challenge

07C0CFF4-4638-45A4-81D0-BAC77A8BA8E4.jpeg

A few days ago, as a result of the amazing power of #steemendipity (or is it #steemchronicity, or #steemidence?), I met my new buddy @chelsea88. Chelsea posted a short but sweet piece and tagged it with #communication. I was just perusing the tag because I would like to find more people who like to post and read about it, but what made this even more lucky is that Chelsea told me later she almost didn’t use the tag. Well, I consider it lucky partly because she also introduced me to #runningproject, which had nothing to do with our initial interaction.

So here I go . . .

Today I laced up the running shoes (I’m already lying. I never untie my shoes, which is a topic for another post, so I don’t actually lace them up) and ran to work. I first began running to work a few years ago after being super inspired by the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougal. It’s a little bit of a wacky idea, but once you get the hang of it, and start to really enjoy its benefits, it’s not really that big of a deal.

Today’s run was short. I have many, many options for routes as I live in South Jersey and take a light rail train into Philadelphia. I take the train to various stops depending on my mood, and sometimes just run the whole 8.5 miles, but definitely not today.

Here are my Strava reports; two since I ran to work and home again.

7CDBF2F8-D722-4877-A07A-FB89C8396DB2.jpeg
030F2617-932F-4742-A2E8-5974E7F74976.png

The photo in the first pic is at the newly renovated Love Park, and that metal frame is where the freshly painted, iconic Love statue will be placed again. It just so happens that they are reinstalling it today after months of renovations.

Well, it was 2.4 miles combined today, but I’ve taken some time off lately due to weather, illness, blah, blah, blah. I might have put it off another couple of days, but thanks to @chelsea88 and #runningproject I am back!

More on the Run To Work Concept

I included in the title that running to work is part of my sustainable approach to fitness. I take this very seriously. As an aging man who waited a bit to get married and have kids, I really, really want to stick around for my wife and kids. But just like everyone else in the world, working exercise into the daily routine can be a challenge. But after reading Born to Run I had a genuine epiphany. I spend about two hours every day commuting to and from work. It is 8.5 miles each way. The only reason I wasn’t using that time and space to exercise was because of the idea that I have to look a certain way at work. Well, not even that really. I also realized I have access to showers and a locker room at my job, so there really was no excuse. For a few months I would stock up on fresh clothes now and then and store them in my locker, and after running to work I would shower and change into my teacher clothes, and then go back to the locker room when it was time to go home.

Fast forward a few years and I am totally over all that extra effort. Now I just wear running shorts under hiking pants (they are just as comfortable to run in as fancy running pants, but have pockets! Duh). Most days the weather is cool enough that I don’t really get that sweaty, but even if I do, I just don’t care. I keep some shirts in my office, and when I arrive I change out of my running shirt, or not. Today I didn’t. My students could care less.

There are two things about a running to work practice that I think are completely revolutionary. First, when I really get into shape after some consistency, I can log up to 50 miles a week, and not only do I not have to fit that running into my schedule, but I actually shorten my daily commute time by about 20 minutes! It’s like cheating the Universe.

The other thing is that I am using my feet as a primary form of transportation, and making daily movement just part of my routine. Movement is key. Hardly anyone gets enough in the day as I truly believe we are designed to be in motion almost constantly, with short breaks to feed ourselves. But that’s just the half of it. My practice has led to some really deep insights into how I approach fitness, and how I sustain it consistently throughout the year. When I first started I mostly ran, and I took pride in getting faster and being able to go longer. More recently I have found myself transitioning to more walking, and I love it! This can be hard for a hard core runner. Our ego gets wrapped up in our accomplishment, and I have heard people really rail on walking, as if it’s a sign of weakness. Well, I have found it helps keep me motivated, as it simply adds variety. Some days I set out from my office to go home, and I begin by walking, and I end up never running. A few times this past fall I just walked all the way over the bridge to Jersey and then took the train home from Camden. I don’t care what anyone says, an hour of brisk walking is great exercise on any day. Some days I run and some days I walk.

That’s it for now. I’m sure I will share more about the practice as I make posts for #runningproject.

Happy running!

Sort:  

Dear @cstrimel with this post you have been qualified to be an “Approved” Runner of @runningproject.
Now is your turn, transfer 1SBD or 1 STEEM as “Enrollment” Fee to @runningproject in order to enter in our “curation” list.

Resteemed by @runningproject

Thanks, and love the gif!

Enrolled as an ‘’Approved’’ Runner.
@runningproject quote

Thanks for that awesome intro! Very kind. I can really appreciate your approach to fitness. I too look at "empty" pockets of the day spent commuting or otherwise sitting and it gets me frustrated. I often will run during my "lunch" break and luckily for me I work in healthcare as a PT so and my job itself is very on the go without a super strict dress code so I can just clean up , keep some fresh clothes in the car at all times with some other toileting essentials and basically be good to go. I usually wear a sweat band around my head that helps a lot. Other times I will simply run from the work parking lot after work becayse you can run almost anywhere.

I will say that for running shoes I do not agree with not ever untying the shoes. Since running puts up to 3x your body weight into each step (vs walking only 2x) the impact can jostle and stretch the shoe. Therefore proper lacing each time is important as the lacing does loosen over time and that slack in lacing can cause inadequate arch support.

Sorry, I just totally geeked out on you.

I agree about walking. I don't make walking a thing I incorporate actually but I do fully endorse it. Runners who show disdain for a walk break need a strong dose of humility. After all Jeff Galloway promotes 1 minute of walking for every mile. That'd be 26 minutes of walking in a full marathon. Perhaps a big deal for the elites breaking world records but for most of us not so much. And to think he once ran a 216 marathon Wow! I am pretty sure that was before his endorsement of the 1min walk per mile but still.

I used to be so stubborn with my running it would take seeing a UFO to stop and look or take a picture. I now stop for quick pics if I see something cool.

Obviously depending on my training or if it was a planned "relax" run day... but still over time I have come to really apprecaite rest breaks and the value of a slower pace for recovery.

Well I really enjoyed your post. Glad to have met you!! :D

sitting and it gets me frustrated.

Oh the shoe lace controversy. Am I about to have my first steemit fight?! :). So, I run with a true mid foot strike. Very low impact. With that, the foot doesn’t shift much inside the shoe, and so they can be worn quite loose. I also run barefoot sometimes, but mostly with very minimal shoes. I worked on my technique for quite a while to get to this point, so it’s not something I recommend to do without training/coaching of some sort. But to give a little more background, when I first started back seriously (basically trying to keep up with my future wife who was marathon training :) I suffered one injury after another, and mostly related to compartment syndrome. I was on the brink of giving up completely, which had me seriously messed up emotionally, and then I discovered ChiRunning. I loved it so much that I became an instructor, and Danny Dreyer was my mentor for many years. Life changing. And never had another serious injury again except from sprinting, which is a whole other ball of wax (and requires tightly laced shoes :). So, I know enough to know I’m no master or expert, but I do know what works for me.

Oh, and I do have to push myself sometimes to be a little more serious! I get into my zen mode and do things like stop to eat, take pics, etc and that doesn’t exactly help my 5k. Balance right? One thing my wife and I used to do before we had kids was tour places while running. We did a 20-miler once in Chicago, and a similar distances in Montreal and Toronto. So much fun, and with no watches. I tend to get my serious workouts in on the track.

Hmmm no steemit fight. That changes things if that is really how you strike. I've also done some barefoot running. In fact I did a steemit post on it last summer =)
Cool you run with your spouse. We do too sometimes =)

Oh For crying out loud this just keep getting cooler! :). Thanks for the heads up.

👍🏻

You got a 14.29% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @cstrimel!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

Great post. It is so interesting how everyone has their own story about tactics, motives, planning...I really enjoyed reading, keep posting about your way.
Btw, my husband also realised that they have shower in the building, so he's running to his office, too. :)

Yes, I love hearing other people’s takes on what works for them. I am about to launch a 5K training program with #runningproject and I am hoping it will set a context for a whole lot of sharing.

Goodluck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49