You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Run to Work (or Work to Run); A Key to My Sustainable Approach to Fitness (and my #runforsteem post #1!)

in #runningproject7 years ago

Oh the shoe lace controversy. Am I about to have my first steemit fight?! :). So, I run with a true mid foot strike. Very low impact. With that, the foot doesn’t shift much inside the shoe, and so they can be worn quite loose. I also run barefoot sometimes, but mostly with very minimal shoes. I worked on my technique for quite a while to get to this point, so it’s not something I recommend to do without training/coaching of some sort. But to give a little more background, when I first started back seriously (basically trying to keep up with my future wife who was marathon training :) I suffered one injury after another, and mostly related to compartment syndrome. I was on the brink of giving up completely, which had me seriously messed up emotionally, and then I discovered ChiRunning. I loved it so much that I became an instructor, and Danny Dreyer was my mentor for many years. Life changing. And never had another serious injury again except from sprinting, which is a whole other ball of wax (and requires tightly laced shoes :). So, I know enough to know I’m no master or expert, but I do know what works for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44