Running, great for reducing stress but the stress will slow us down

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

I have been running for about thirty years. It has been a constant through my life when a lot of other things have changed around me. We have lived in a number of different countries and raised four children. Three are great, one not so much. There has been some very stressful life changing events in this time but I have always kept up some degree of running.

One thing I always felt was that during really stressful times my running was harder work which was really unrelated to my training at the time but was definitely part of being troubled by issues over which I had little or no control. I have at times stopped to try and reduce over breathing and panicking, and dry retched out on my runs at other times. I have found that due to my head spinning on runs when I am stressed I'm actually better off running on a treadmill and watching telly. Something pretty mindless, but for some reason gripping, like Law and Order works really well for this and helps muscles relax into a run.

I actually can't find a lot of information about this but since I have been running with the nike app on my apple watch for the last year it has become really obvious to me how tense I can be while running if stressed and how much this can really slow me down. My legs feel heavy and my hips are very tight.

These are two runs I have done in the last year the first one is after a stressful day, three very difficult things going on at once, and the second two days later when I had adjusted to the new events.

I think the lesson is to keep running because I know it is very beneficial in reducing stress and keeping us away from medications and the bottle. But we need to recognize that stressful life events may slow us for a period of time and make the running have a harder feel.

Sort:  

Great points! I think sometimes it's great to just get out there and get a run in no matter how fast you go. Whether from stress or other causes, there are days where I'm just slower or more fatigued than normal. I give myself a little grace and know that I'd still rather be running a little slow than not running at all.

Yes exactly right.

I went through a boat load of stress some months ago at my job and it really negatively impacted my running and desire to run, do yoga, or anything else really. My job consumed my whole life for a few months and the stress bogged everything else down. Not surprising to see it has a physical manifestation as well...I had other physical symptoms from the stress too but didn't even consider the impact it could have on my running (if I'd been doing so at the time).

I feel like sometimes that's why it might be easier to run on a treadmill and watch some predictable show that distracts you and gives your mind a rest while you are exercising. I can have a lot of long conversations with people (who aren't there) when I'm running on the road and it just makes it harder.

Hey @anthrovegan there have been some recent studies showing that mental fatigue can cause us to reach exhaustion more quickly. I would think that stress would be a major form of mental fatigue and reading further into it, there is only one real way to improve the output and that is to train when you are under these fatigued states:
https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/02/090224132915.htm

Either way, a great piece of writing and thanks for sharing.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thanks for the link. I couldn't really find a lot of information.

I am posting this in our new "upvote wednesday" channel on discord. In case you haven't joined yet: https://discord.gg/YthEYEQ

Thanks for that!

Remember, the feeling you get from a good run is far better than the feeling you get from sitting around wishing you were running.
Sarah Condor

*Resteemed by @runningproject

The way to look at it is you are running for pleasure and health benefits, not to win a race right?

So what does it matter what speed you run? if you are stressed, just run until you are not stressed any more. Don't worry about your time or speed.

I went for a run yesterday and my average pace at the end of it was just lightly above walking pace. But I got to see some nice scenery, went places I'd never been before (because I took a wrong turn and go lost for a while hehe)

And it completely blew away the reason I went to this location for the run!

So I just ran because I could. It means I'll have to go back and try again later. But the run was not wasted, because I ran!

Yep exactly right. I need to leave the apple watch at home so I'm not hearing how slow I'm going.

.... or look at it another way... you are running longer. Time on feet counts. the longer you run, the longer you can run. So you're actually doing yourself a favour.

i do that in all my races too. I run slowly so i get the most value for my dollar. The longer I'm on the course the better value I get. not like those people who pay the same amount as me but only get to race for a measly 5 hours or so. I get to race for waaaaay longer than that hehehee

That’s hilarious, never looked at it that way, but I will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44