Fifty runs till May #28/50 ... extreme winter conditions!

in #running7 years ago

Sunday is runday! No matter what, no matter the weather. I try and stick to that motto and when my neighboor is coming along, we go!

Today was a really good example of when you need someone to motivate you. Despite getting used to running and doing sports in the winter, today was another test as it's been snowing heavily over the past few days and there was even ice on the roads. That scares me the most as that's when injuries happen. It was also well below 0 degrees when we set off.

The good thing about these conditions is that you run slower and you can even make a stop to make wonderful 'Winterwonderland' pictures, like the one below.

IMG_0576.JPG

Altogether it was a slow run under difficult circumstances, but we kept it up regardless the weather and we even had snow falling during the last 2 kilometers. In the end we did the 10,8km in 1 hour and 7,5 minutes. I'm going to finish my post here and just let you enjoy these pictures that I took before, during and after our run.

Welcome to @shazza for joining our challenge. I'm glad my post from last week could convince someone else that it wasn't too late to join yet. It's not going to be easy, but it's definitely achievable, we're with you all the way. Good luck!

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-10 um 10.48.47.png

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-10 um 11.27.04.png
Temperatures well below 0 today before setting off, not easy to motivate oneself.

IMG_0559.JPG
The situation before we set off, cold, clear and icy, but no snow coming down.

IMG_0570.JPG
The forrest is turned into a winterwonderland, all the trees are covered in snow and the road is icy. This picture I took whilst I was running. The next one as well, as you can see 😉

IMG_0572.JPG

IMG_0578.JPG
On the way back I stopped to make this picture, it's not clear to see, but it's snowing heavily by now

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-10 um 12.25.46.png
Time for a selfie during our run

!steemitworldmap 47.334180 lat 8.386726 long Oberwil-Lieli, Aargau D3SCR

Thanks and good luck!

Doron

Sort:  

My God!!!

What an experience should be run on that conditions!

When I see this kind of post there's no excuse to not go out and run... 😅

Thanks for sharing

You're welcome and thank you for commenting. Your comments keep me going!

Really good job man carry on thanks i like this post and your all post is very important and helpful thanks

You're welcome and thank you for commenting. Your comments keep me going!

Glad to hear you're doing so well sticking to your routine! As a runner, it can be hard to stay motivated and willing to stick to your schedule especially in winter weather conditions such as these.

I'm glad you have a running buddy because, honestly, it's so much easier to continue working towards a goal when you have others alongside you giving you support.

Good luck reaching those 50 runs!

Thank you for commenting and those motivating words. Are you a runner yourself? Your comments keep me going as well! The winter makes it harder, but those are just excuses.

I am a runner, or so I'd like to think. I have fallen out of running due to a foot injury, but will hopefully be getting back into it soon enough. I enjoy doing 5ks and Half Marathons. Running itself is also just a great way to reduce stress and keep your mind free from too much thinking. A very enjoyable way to exercise.

Sorry to hear that! That must be very frustrating and then to see those running posts coming by. For me, running is something I got into very slowly. I actually did a post about how I got into it here on Steemit. Now I love it and I feel very satisfied, even a bit smug when I run and others are staying in the office whilst it's cold outside.

I hope you recover soon and I look forward to reading your personal running experiences. I have never participated in any events other than the one I mentioned in my post, but I am thinking of doing some in the year ahead. Si I'd love to hear from you how to prepare, do's and don'ts, etc

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fifty-runs-till-may-28-50-extreme-winter-conditions


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wolfje to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

@wolfje, you just received an upvote powered by smartsteem. Our goal is to support quality posts and authors on steem.

Everyone is invited to be a part of and to join the smartsteem community: https://smartsteem.com

This post has received gratitude of 7.12 % from @appreciator thanks to: @wolfje.

This post has received a 5.09 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @wolfje. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58