How I got into running

in #fiftyrunstillmay7 years ago (edited)

As I'm getting ready for run #21 tomorrow and the temperature is forcasted to be around freezing point. I got to think again how far I got since I started running, just over 2 years ago. This got me thinking, maybe with my post I can motivate some other nerds and cryptofanatics like me to move more and maybe even go running.

I've always enjoyed walking fast. I don't have much patience and even when I went into shopping streets in Amsterdam where I grew up, I had to overtake people. I couldn't stand it when people walked slowly and next to one another, blocking the way for you. This is still something that annoys me when I run and you want to overtake people and they seem oblivious to you approaching them until you're breathing down their neck and have to slow down (and loose your pace).

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-25 um 21.04.43.png
This was my attitude towards running for a long time ... so why bother

A few years back, I found a job in a Sports and Health Club. I'm not into that kind of thing and people who focus too much on their appearance and not about people's contributions are generally not people I tend to hang out with. I landed this job more as a coincidence and I grabbed an opportunity the moment it was thrown at me. As a result, I started working out on a regular basis and at some point I even wanted to jog to work. For some reason it didn't go well for me and it hurt my knees, so I stopped this as I thought the cause of my pains was a meniscus operation I had a few years before.

It was summer 2015 and my daughter was about 6 months old and I realised, if I didn't start doing something, I would not be able to keep up with my kids. So I started walking. Every time a bit longer ... further ... faster ... alone or with someone, I didn't care. The main thing was to get out there and move. Preferably on a daily basis. I bought my Garmin Fenix 3 and started to want to 'Beat yesterday'. At my height, I did 612.592 steps in one month (thanks Garmin for keeping this stat).

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-25 um 21.10.35.png

A few months into this rhythm, I decided to attempt to run again. Back in school I was probably the worst/laziest student in gym-class, so when I did my first 1km without stopping or slowing down, I was extremely proud of myself. Then the goal became 2km, 4km and so on. Before I knew it I was running at every opportunity.

Here are some places where I've actually ran:

  • London, around the Houses or Parliament and around the Stadium of London
  • Tel-Aviv on the beach
  • Interlaken, the morning after a wedding
  • Brand, Austria
  • Langeoog, one of the German North-sea Islands
  • Crete
  • Prague

Running is a part of my life now and I'll adjust to where I am to ensure that I can keep on running. This also means that once it becomes winter and the roads become more difficult to navigate with ice and it's getting colder, I start Cross-Country Skiing or Langlaufen, like it's called over here in Switzerland.

A personal highlight for me is to actually participate in a running event. Going back to what I just said, I was the laziest as sports and events for me were really hard. At the beginning of this year I said I wanted to participate in 1 event and I registered myself for a running event in April. Still early in the year and pretty unfit from the winter, nontheless I set myself the target of running the 10km under an hour, which I did.

IMG_8821.JPG
Me approaching the finish line at the first ever running-event, that I participated in

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-25 um 21.19.24.png

Ever since I started running on a regular basis I also feel that a side-effect is that I'm less ill. I do have the occasional sore-throat and I think that a cold is coming up, but usually that's as bad as it gets. I believe that running has helped strengthening my immune system. This is despite having 2 young kids that go into daycare and take all kinds of illnesses home. For a while I caught them as well, but lately I have been less of a victim of this.

Running is now a hobby, it's fun, it gets me outside, it gets me talking to people and share experiences and I do everything now to improve my technique.

I will finish this post with a few pictures of the areas where I've ran. I will follow this post in the near future with a post about what to wear when you run, as to me this makes a huge difference on my performance.

Thanks and let's do this!

IMG_4134.JPG
Entering the forrest from Arni to Oberwil

IMG_4146.JPG
Coming out of the same forrest in Oberwil, with the shooting range on my left. That is the site where I saw my first deer in the wild. many have followed since, but you never forget your first

IMG_4536.JPG
A natural tunnel created by overhanging trees, going down from Oberwil to Zufikon

IMG_8831.JPG
Me at the start of my first running-event with plenty of 'motivation' around me. Picture by @photolander with his wife

Bildschirmfoto 2017-11-25 um 21.55.33.png

!steemitworldmap 47.334180 lat 8.386726 long Oberwil-Lieli, Aargau D3SCR

Doron

Sort:  

Really nice story! It's crazy to see people like you (lazy in gym class as you say :p) becoming "addicted" to running!

Thanks, well I felt I didn't have a choice with kids full of energy. That was my biggest motivation, but there were other factors as well. Unfortunately I started too late and I'll never really be able to get an 'athletes body', not that I want one, but to get rid of my belly fully would be nice 😉

Inspiring story! Running truly changes lives!
If you want some training advice or ideas of trips, I post regularly on the subject, and I'll follow your journey. Cheers!

Yes, always. I'll follow you now. My next running post will be up in 30 minutes, keep an eye out for it :-D

Ok thanks :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=how-i-got-into-running


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wolfje to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48