Running Adventures Ep 25 - Stagnation?

in #running6 years ago (edited)

This morning I only had time to go for a run in the park because I also had to go to my annual medical checkup. The blood test were .... less than optimal, no idea why. I'm going to repeat them at some point and do some digging about the how it can correlate with possible nutrition deficiencies.

run backgroundmnnn.jpg

Regarding the run, it was a "hamstering" session again, without everything being "meh" this time: no joint pain or the sensation of inexplicable lack of energy; it was nice not to have to power through some uncomfortable moments for a change.

There was one thing though...I didn't get the chance to "leave all I had to leave at home", so I had to run a bit "heavier" than I needed to, which was especially hard on the uphill heading back. If you have no idea what I'm talking about ... I'm not going to explain it further :P

111.png
222222.png

The thing that bugs me the most is the fact my speed isn't improving anymore, to the contrary on some runs. My plans is to do some speed workouts and have more patience with my body and let it adapt to these longer distances although I'm not the best when it comes to patience :)

I'll end with a funny remark: when I was contemplating postponing the run this morning I said to myself
"Stop procrastinating, lets do this" and since today was "hamster time" ( i.e. running in circles in the park), I had a revelation:

251gtz.jpg

Good thing I had my headphones with me so I could listen to my usual playlist otherwise I would have been stuck listening to this modified version of MC Hammer's track in my head :D

Take care and stay active

imageedit_1_4312027681 - Copy.png

My name is Adrian a.k.a "The nearsighted traveler". I'm a running enthusiast who loves to spend time enjoying nature. I write mostly about running, the places I explore and the interesting stuff I learn here on steemit.
If you are new to this platform you might want to check out these posts:

5 Easy Rules for Navigating The Steem Ecosystem
The 6th Easy Rule for Navigating the Steem Ecosystem

And if you want a good laugh you can visit my other account @cmmemes where I fail at being funny but persevere anyway :)

Sort:  

That's a heck of a hill to finish with!

The speed will come if you keep training consistently. Keep long runs slow and get a speed session in each week but don't expect to get quicker every session.

And I know exactly what you mean about running "heavier"! ;-)

Hope you get your bloods sorted quickly.

Thank you for the tips, they are really appreciated :) I've kind of hit a plateau when it comes to speed though the distance I can run has been improving. I'll try doing some more specific speed workouts, see how they go :)

You're welcome! Running slow and long will also help. Here's a blog post I wrote about my running in 2016 - lots of PBs after doing more slow running: https://runningdanw.wordpress.com/2016/12/02/running-slow-to-run-fast/

Today was a real winter day very cold. Take care of your health and dont push yourself too extrem. Speed workout are very good for the body to adapt to long distance run.

Take care u too!

Thank you, I do my best

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87