Sundered Lands on Steemit (Game Session Date: 2017-11-25)

in #roleplaying7 years ago (edited)

SSL Logo

Introducing Sundered Lands on Steemit

Game Session begins below...

The Sundered Land is a fun party game for multiple players created by lumpley games.

lumpley games website says "The Sundered Land is a series of 5 single-page games plus 2 supplements set in the Sword & Sorcery ruins of the future."

One of the modules - 'A Doomed Pilgrim' - is designed for online play. @aejackson will play the Pilgrim. And you - my Steemian Friends - will play the World, trying to move the Pilgrim toward ultimate doom!

A great example of gameplay is posted online at the lumpley games blog.

I have run this game successfully many times - in a party atmosphere, on a blog as play-by-comment, and on Facebook with a modified points system added to the rules.

In addition, using Microsoft Excel and some creative writing skills, I was able to create a Sundered Lands Scenario Generator. The possible adventure combinations are almost limitless. And if we do near the end of the possibilities, it is easy to expand the programming to include more exciting variables.

Now, you are invited to play 'A Doomed Pilgrim' on Steemit! You, and other Steemians, will play the 'World' which I, the Pilgrim, must attempt to survive. Are you up to the challenge?

THE RULES:

The ‘Pilgrim’ Player posts the Opening Scene as a new Steemit Post

An invitation to play is created by the 'Pilgrim' Player as the first reply

To join the game session as a ‘World’ Player
1- UPVOTE the Opening Scene post
2- COMMENT "No gods watch over you" to the invitation

Next, the ‘Pilgrim’ Player asks a Question in a NEW COMMENT
Example: "Something warns me of danger. What warns me? Anyone should answer."

'World' Players may REPLY one answer to the now active comment
Or, they can UPVOTE other answers to give them more votes

The 'Pilgrim' Player MUST CHOOSE one answer, based on
1- Answer with the most votes
2- Answer which arrived first

Finally, the ‘Pilgrim’ Player posts a new REACTION COMMENT

'World' Players reply to the new active comment

Play continues until the ‘World’ Players are able to defeat the ‘Pilgrim’ Player

The ‘Pilgrim’ Player wins when they reach the pilgrimage destination

By default, the game session ends in seven (7) days time
The 'Pilgrim' Player will reply a CLOSING COMMENT and which includes the phrase 'The End'

CONTEST:

The 'World' Player who is able to kill the 'Pilgrim' Player with their comment wins the liquid portion of the Author Payout of the post once it is distributed by Steemit. All 'World' Players are awarded their Curator payout from Steemit as they would expect.

If you enjoy roleplaying and interactive games, Sundered Lands on Steemit is the blog to follow!

If you don't already FOLLOW, do it now so the latest Sundered Lands On Steemit shows up in your feed. Come back every week for a new game session!

Suggestions? Is there a favorite roleplaying game theme you would like added to Sundered Lands on Steemit? Please contact @aejackson on Steemit.chat


Sundered Lands on Steemit

(Game Session Date: 2017-11-25)

I’m a dragonrider seeking peace and an end to bloodshed.
I’m on pilgrimage to the Mosque to Literate in the fine Section of Toadach.
My pilgrimage has brought me to the Broken Gauntlet of the Unknowable, inhabited by supernatural creatures hungry for human flesh.
My goal is to pass safely through and continue my pilgrimage.

You, my friends online, play the World.
Your goal is to see me to my doom, instead of safely on my way.
You're allowed only to directly answer my direct questions; so you may not be able to succeed.



Credits:

The Sundered Land created by lumpley games, sold at Night Sky Games
No copyright infringement intended

Sundered Lands on Steemit Header Photo Source: http://nightskygames.com

Game Session, Game World, Locations, Objects, Creatures, Non-Player Characters, and Scenerio Descriptions © 2017, A.E. Jackson. All rights reserved

Sort:  

The eyes glint, close in reaction to torch light, and open once again to peer at me.

Surely these are not the fabled flesh eaters...

Are they? Have I come face to face with the legendary evil guardians of my pilgrimage destination?

(Anyone may answer!)

Yes, you realize slowly, as they spring forward to attempt to feast upon your flesh - claws and teeth gnashing in a sickening sound of hunger.

I have a crossing and criss-crossing of scars, and the summoning-name of a ghost burned into my memory.

I have been walking through the Broken Gauntlet of the Unknowable for countless long bienniums.

I've just come to a pool.

At the moment I am remembering my mother.

Something warns me of approaching danger.
What warns me? (Anyone may answer.)

A rustle of wings, a scraping of talons

Crouching near the pool, I pause and listen closely to the rustle of wings
As the scratching of talons enters my ears I leap to my feet and run for cover

Is there a hiding place, or some means of cover nearby? (Anyone may answer)

Only the pristine waters of the pool offers immediate protection - drawn out into the clearing you are at the water's edge.

Glancing left, glancing right - no immediate source of cover can be found. Yet before me lies a pool of unknown depth - perhaps it would offer some cover.

Once more I look over my shoulder for the source of the beating feathers before taking a deep breath, and wading into the pool.

My head becomes covered as I immerse my full body under the pools shimmering surface.

Does the pool go deeper? Is there a means of escape further below... (Anyone may answer)

Illumination from below indicates that there is more beneath this pool than was clear from the surface. Clear water becoming murkier as your steps mix up mud from the floor, it appears that there is a cave or perhaps even a tunnel not far ahead.

Before the water clouds my vision completely, or I lose the ability to withhold my breath any longer, I quickly swim toward the light ahead

With the last of my reserve breath I push deeper into the pool, through the cave opening, and emerge in a small chamber line

** is the coast clear, or do I see a threat?
(Anyone may answer)**

Stalagtites, stalagmites, a glowing torchlight,
You scan around and use your sight,
you sense a presence but try as you might,
nothing identified but a slight fright.

The rules:

  1. Only answer my questions.
  2. If you don’t already know the answer, make something up.
  3. Keep your answers short.
  4. If your answer is disruptive, I’m allowed to delete it.
  5. Otherwise, I have to go with the answer with the most vosts. Followed by the first answer provided

Join the game session as a ‘World’ Player by
1- UPVOTE the Opening Scene post
2- COMMENT "No gods watch over you" to this invitation reply

picking up from @ecoinstant's comment: Markings trail along the cave wall growing ever more complicated- this area is either inhabitated or once was - some bit look like art, but you get the feeling, as you go deeper, that these markings are a warning.

(* To keep the game accessible, I will place the Pilgrim Player Response as a TOP level comment!)

As a Dragonrider, my people have many stories warning us against the supernatural creatures hungry for human flesh which inhabit the Broken Gauntlet of the Unknowable.

The tales appear to be true as illustrated in these cave etchings.

This bodes well for my pilgrimage to the Mosque to Literate in the fine Section of Toadach. For it is also well known that Toadach lies just beyond the protection of the flesh eaters.

Do I feel watched?
(Anyone may answer!)

You are ever watchful as the feeling of being watched washes over you - as you sweep your torch forward, you suddenly see reflected seemingly hundreds of pairs of tiny eyes looking right at you!

No(, May the) Gods watch over you

You’re in @ecoinstant, my friend

Good idea as a top level comment - don't be discouraged - this rounds seems very apt for getting all the kinks worked out. Do you think you should number them? They may end up randomly ordered especially with esteem apps randomly occuring votes.

I'll have my response in soon :) I'm gonna getcha!

Congratulations @aejackson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aejackson to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Interesting! May I suggest that the winner be given the liquid portion of the payout? Its easier and practical and leaves the pilgrim with something as well.

Sounds like a solid plan to me @ecoinstant - I may need to request your help on how to make that happen. This is the first time I’ve offered a contest reward, or a transfer of any kind. My hope is that Steemians will want to play for the sake of enjoying the game. The payout is just an added incentive.

No problem! Incentives are funny that way - I have found that if it is not fun no incentives matter.

So when you post there are 3 options. Decline payout, 50/50 split and 100% powerup. I can tell that you went with the 50/50 split (you can ask me how later!). This means that 50% of the payout you will receive in Steem Power, and 50% in liquid SBD.

This liquid portion is easy to transfer to anyone, while the SteemPower is not. Steem Power has special rules for powering down, and unless you happen to have the value of that Steem Power in Steem or SBD, it can be a hassle to try and move it somewhere else.

Common practice is to give away the liquid portion of payouts. This also recognizes that the author deserves the other 50% - a full 100% giveaway is possible, but hard to pull off unless you are prepared ahead of time with the compensating value for the Steem Power you will get.

So all you need to do, really, is just say -

The 'World' Player who is able to kill the 'Pilgrim' Player with their comment wins the liquid portion of the Author Payout of the post once it is distributed by Steemit.

Love and Light!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37