Road to Steemfest - Babysteps

kaisa12.jpg

I had a conversation with @anomadsoul about his series of Road to Steemfest where he challenged all attendees for the next Steemfest to do freewrites until we all get to see each other in Poland. He tagged me on his latest post about it because I pushed him to give us a bit of direction on what to write each week, so now I can’t avoid writing about it! I already missed two weeks, only wrote right after Anomad released his Road to Steemfest idea.

This is the best time to write for the fourth week, which is about the choices you have to make to get to Steemfest in Poland, because I took the first step towards actually making the trip. Late last night when I got home from Hellsinki, I booked me and the partner is crime @escapist our plane tickets to Krakow, whiiii! This time I don’t have to worry about taking time off work because Steemit is my “job” so this trip is both business and pleasure. Probably leaning heavily towards pleasure if last years shenanigans was any indicator…

I always like to get plane tickets and accommodation well in advance and pay for them so when the time of the actual trip comes, I only have to have money for little things like food and transportation in the city I’m visiting. I’m gonna spend the money anyways, so spending it for a future trip is like putting money in the bank, oh wait, we don’t believe in those, so scratch that. It’s like putting money into cryptocurrencies, damn it, those aren’t stable either… Gold, gold is pretty stable in price isn’t it!? Let’s go with that.

Aaaanyways, Poland is dirt cheap compared to Finland so I’m pretty happy about that now because we all know the cryptos ain’t bringing home much these days. I hope we get some sort of motion upwards in the next month or so but even if cryptos don’t rise much before Steemfest, I know I can make the trip without getting into huge debt. Compared to my normal level of boujee-ness, getting to Poland and paying for accommodation and food in there, is nothing, and because I’m sharing an Airbnb with Esc, it’s even cheaper.

Do I sound like an asshole already, or should I try harder? I really don’t have to make any hard choices or compromises to make it to Steemfest 3 in Poland, though I might not be able to buy three new pairs of shoes before that. But I do need new winter shoes….

See you in Poland!

Sort:  

I know what you mean! I see Steemit as "work" too (Although fun work with fun people), so the trip to Steemfest is a most welcome one...not to mention being able to say I'm going to a "work" conference - sounds awfully important and fancy, don't it?

Hahaha this is fantastic, I have thought the same exact thing before, being able to say I'm going to a conference. I've never had a job where I would have to go to one so it kinda sounds really fancy! 😝

Yes you most likely will :)

I did some other work today, feel dirty, got paid in euros :P

Do you feel dirty or are you physically dirty? :P

A little bit of both :)

I was painting a ceiling, that's never gonna end up clean!

Did you paint something equivalent to the Sistine Chapel ceiling? 😝

Some people consider public watering holes just as important, so I suppose I did! :D

I have been living in Poland since I was born, I recommend you visit Poznań, Krakow, Gdansk, Wroclaw, Katowice and the city which is the most tourist it's sopot, there are students and tourists living there :)

Thank you for the recommendations, but I will only be staying in Krakow, where Steemfest takes place :)

I won't be making it to Steemfest this year, but I look forward to reading your reports!

Were you there last year, did we meet? 🤔

No - I just remember reading reports from last year too.

One of these years I'll venture out to one of these things!

cool, have fun, don't forget your daisy duke's, who am I kidding? I know you won't. ;)

Poland in November plus daisy dukes, think about that one for a while weather wise!

You are going to have to suffer for your art.

Only polar bears and whores don't feel cold, I'm neither. I fucking hate being cold!

uh huh, but should you wear a white wife beater t shirt or a Jennifer Anniston sweater with them?

nice post of road and same how garden pic i like the shadow of trees

Nice post of road and
Same how garden pic i like
The shadow of trees

                 - sardaradeelkhan


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

kiya kaha rahi ho ha

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @eveuncovered, it's good to be able to plan and make reservations in advance, it's time to wait for the moment as you say, to enjoy your stay. The economy has got us all crazy no matter where we live, but the important thing is to enjoy and seek happiness. But it's true that a rise in the SBD would be wonderful.

it is a good idea to get those things out of the way first. Trying to do the same. Hope to meet there! Were you in Portugal last year? I can't wait to see everyone again and meet more :)

Hi @eveuncovered

It's great to read a little more about your journey and awesome that you've got your plane tickets booked already. So much more organised than me ;-)

I visited Warsaw a few years back and was surprised at how cheap it was, also the buildings are so beautiful in Poland. Eating out was about a 3rd of the price of the UK and that was at quality restaurants. Anyway, just wanted to say hi as I've been rather lax so far reading up on all the other awesome steemians going to steemfest 3. I never went last year so I'm supper hopeful/excited.

P.s. I'm also a fellow #roadtosteemfest person, writing every week in anomadsoul's tag. It would be cool to meet up if I make it, which I am hopeful about :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46