Concr.eat Foods 002: Deen Maju, The Best Nasi Kandar in Penang?

in #dailyfoodphotography7 years ago (edited)

I trust Mr Topui and his taste buds. They're are like spider senses. With spider senses you can sense danger a mile away. In Mr. Topui's case, He had a knack of knowing where to hunt for tasty treats.


It was 4pm in the afternoon, and I did not have lunch! Tired and Hangry, I desperately needed food. Mr. Topui gleefully steps in:

"Haven't had your lunch break yet? Are you up for a challenge?" He asked.

I grinned weakly.

"Let's do it!" I said.

He manages to gather a few other colleagues and we're off to what He describes as a famous Malay store known as Deen's Maju.


IMG_20180119_183310.jpg

My late lunch

I didn't understand what he meant by a challenge, all I knew was that I was hungry and cranky! The worst mood you can ever be in! When we arrived I finalIy understood what he meant as a challenge. I was surprised to see another crowd of people gathering around the area. (This is becoming a theme isn't it!)

It's either I live under a rock or Mr. Topui is somehow connected to the heart and center of the Penang Food industry. After much thought, I concluded that Mr Topui has superpowers, and I live under a rock.

IMG_20180119_181908.jpg

The amount of people waiting in line for the food at this hour is insane! I arrived to a long queue but In a matter of minutes, this was the line that formed behind me.

Deen Maju 2.jpg

To my surprise, the store just only opened an hour ago!

Deem Maju 3.jpg

This was the line in front of me. The person queuing behind us turned out to be someone from a neighbouring state. He brought his family along for a food hunt and ended up here as well, at a very odd lunch hour.

After what seemed like 20 minutes, we were finally getting close to the pantry. With a fine array of food to choose from, the best had to be the roasted chicken mixed with "nasi briyani" which is rice mixed with herbs and spices.

IMG_20180119_182424.jpg


I went for a classic Vege/Meat Combo and a glass of Teh Ais. In Penang, always go for Teh Ais! Nasi Kandar for some reason always goes so well with Teh Ais! Total cost of meal was only RM7.50!

IMG_20180119_183200.jpg

Mr Topui was not holding back though! When John Maxwell says you should always aim to lift your lid and exceed you limitations, Mr Topui wasn't kidding! Choosing a variety of toppings: Roasted chicken, Curry fish, Sotong (Squid), Curry infused chicken gizzards, Omellete pancake, fried bean curd and Fried Caviar for a surprisingly low price of RM20. Talk about exceeding your limitations!

Deen Maju 5.jpg

Here is Mr. Topui fully satisfied with his choice of meal.

We were all in amazement at his appetite but as amazed as we were, we were equally hungry so we wasted no time after taking photos and quickly dug into our meals.

The chicken was a perfect blend of savory and sweet. Having to pry the meat in half, You'll see a very nicely cooked chicken breast. This is a good piece of white meat, almost as white as my teeth! I was so hungry that I tore through the chewy chicken in a very quick fashion, downed the whole plate within minutes! Mr Topui was not far behind, cleaning up the entire plate in quick succession.

IMG_20180119_183238(1).jpg

So there you have it folks! Deen's Maju Nasi Kandar. would you give it a go? Would you brave the rain and the queue for something like this? Drop a shoutout and let me know what you think!


If you've missed out on my previous posts: Check them out here!

Food Blog

Concr.eat Foods 001: The Best Kept Secret in Penang you've never heard of?

Life Blog

Random Musings 002: Forget and Don't Slow Down
Random Musings 001: Declutter
Random Musings 000: Engage



Sort:  

Looks like some great food there! It's making me hungry… so I'm off for a snack ;). Would love to make it to Penang one day when I'm back in Asia…

You must! it's a filled with rich in culture and it definitely has a treat for people with many tastes :)

I think the long queue was a sure sign that the food was very good.

How much approximately is RM7.50 and RM20 in US dollars?

Absolutely! A crowd is glaring evidence of good service and advertising!

7.50 in Ringgit Malaysia is approximately 1usd and 20 is around 3USD

wow! finally see him in person. mr tupai! hahahaha! his plate is overflowing lah!

The amount of food he eats on a daily basis is staggering!

I'm glad that you found your role model :)

Well this guy knows where his priorities are at!!! Haha!

That man look so happy savoring his food.

I think it's the one consistent things that keeps him happy x)

Ooooooooo being hangry and to wait a long queue is definitely not a good idea,
But the rm7.50 nasi kandar makes it all worth it I guess!

Maybe It's because I was so hungry, That's what made it tasty? xD I quickly forgot about how hungry I was after I saw the queue! I was amazed by it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43