Dying To Be IgnoredsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #religion7 years ago

This is the fifteenth, of a hopefully weekly series, that explores faith, religion, and Christianity. The idea is to share with you my faith, issues I am working on, and to promote discussion.

Death sucks.



Image labeled for reuse


Please check out the end of this article for links to previous Sunday posts.


Death is depressing.

Death is distracting.

We all know we are going to die, but to focus on death is to miss out on life.


I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and curse. Therefore choose life, that you and your offspring may live


Truly, in a way, those who follow Christ should have already died.

In Paul’s letter to the Galatians, he described it as such: “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

That is not the only place he made such a bizarre statement.

Writing to the Colossians, Paul made a similar statement: “For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.

These two times we see Paul say something that is nothing short of foolishness in the eyes of the world.

Paul even goes so far to gloat: “O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory?

And a few lines later he finishes up the thought with a resounding victory cry: “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

It looks to me that Paul thinks once you accept Christ you should be dead, yet alive...

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17 (ESV)

And from the mouth of Christ himself:

"Now there was a man of the Pharisees named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews. This man came to Jesus by night and said to him, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher come from God, for no one can do these signs that you do unless God is with him.” Jesus answered him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.” Nicodemus said to him, “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother's womb and be born?” Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’" - From John Chapter 3



Image labeled for reuse


But knowing this doesn’t make it less sad when we lose loved ones.

We know we are to mourn with those who mourn.

But let us not forget to rejoice with those who rejoice.

This is an emotional life.

Not a stoic life.

Not an insensitive life.

Not a “my life was tough, of course yours will be, despite all the lies you’ve been fed and you believed, and so don’t come crying to me” life.

Love one another.

Be kind to one another.

Be gentle and have patience with one another.

When we are faced with the hardness of dealing with death, remember, we are given the choice of life and death, blessing and curse and guided by God himself, to “therefore choose life”.

And this life is found in Jesus Christ.


If this relates to you and you are interested in knowing more, please ask someone. Me. My wife. A local pastor. A neighbor you know who is a Christian. But please ask and I guarantee you that they will be excited to tell you more. They will especially appreciate that you asked them so that they are not forcing their beliefs upon you but getting your permission to share. It may even be something they have been praying for.

Lord willing, see you all next Sunday!

Thanks,
@strangerarray


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray because I was blind but now I see.

Donations to PayPal.Me/michaelpaine are also welcome because I spend money to make money.


Please check out the previous discussions:


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends.


Please help give others a chance in this life by supporting the Priceless Movement.


Priceless


Sort:  

Amen! I don't want to die anytime soon, but when I do, what joy I will have in seeing my Savior's face!!

Agreed!

I forgot also to add this bit from Forgotten God by Francis Chan:

“His purposes are not random or arbitrary. If you are still alive on this planet, it’s because He has something for you to do. He placed us on this earth for purposes that He orchestrated long before we were born (Eph. 2:8-10).” (p. 92)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92