Livin' On A PrayersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #religion7 years ago

This is the thirteenth, of a hopefully weekly series, that explores faith, religion, and Christianity. The idea is to share with you my faith, issues I am working on, and to promote discussion.

When is the last time you called someone just to talk?



Image labeled for reuse Hands in Prayer


Please check out the end of this article for links to previous Sunday posts.


For me the answer is not often.

As a result my relationships are limited.

The act of consistent communication allows for deeper understanding and the ability to truly know the other person involved.

Relationships thrive and grow through these types of connections.

But to get to this, you need commitment.

Dedication.

Devotion.


“I think Christians can take consolation in the fact that when we pray, we often don’t know what to pray for or even how to pray, yet the scriptures tell us the Holy Spirit will translate the prayer into something better than we could phrase in the moment.”

“So pour your heart out to God. Pray about the things the scripture says are close to God’s heart. And when something ‘goes your way,’ be grateful and offer it back to the God who gave it to you.”

“And when things don’t go your way, understand that God is still very much in control and very much loves you. Just because God is silent doesn’t mean God is absent.” - Carey Nieuwhof


Often times in the past I have prayed for things for myself.

I wanted a new or better this or that.

I wanted comfort and ease.

I wanted.

Give me. Give me. Give me.

The truth is, asking for good gifts from God isn’t wrong.

“If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!” - Matthew 7:11 (ESV)

But thinking about this in the context of a relationship with God, when all I do is focus on my selfish desires, what am I offering to God?

Usually in relationships there is some level of reciprocity.

We want our loved poured out received and returned.

When I only focus on myself, what good am I to God?


Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.


Usually when I hear people speaking of prayer, it is in the context of making request from God.

Prayer can mean a request or petition.

We are taught in Philippians 4:6-7 : “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Reference

The act of requesting is not bad.

It is what happens after the request is made is when I start to waiver.

Usually, prayers being unanswered or not answered to my liking results in impatience, frustration, anger, or resentment.

This has changed over the years, but it would be a lie to say I don’t have these thoughts still from time to time.

That is when I ask, am I praying “my will be done” or “God, your will be done”?

When we look at prayer only as request to fill our desires is when I think we miss out on the bigger place prayer can have in our life.

I have countless times missed the opportunity to build my relationship with God through communication in prayer.

Instead, in prayer I rush through things I am worried or concerned about and offer them up to God.

We are taught to “Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.

This is good, but perhaps there can be more to it.

More than just asking and receiving.


When learning abour prayer, I often come across the suggestion of prayer journals.

Often times when I try these, they merely turn into a long list of things to check off as I prayed.

My focus would be on results, not relationship.

This lead me to the following question:

When is the last time you prayed to God without asking for anything?

For me the answer is not often enough.


“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” - Hebrews 4:15-16 (ESV)


Sometimes I think, God knows my thoughts, why should I bother praying?

Just because it’s true, doesn’t mean that it is the same as the act of intentionally and relationally communicating with God.

I have found the desire to talk with God often, consistently, and deeply, takes effort, cultivating, and devotion.

To truly “pray without ceasing”, I’d be livin' on a prayer.



Priceless


Brothers and Sisters, you can make a difference by supporting the Priceless Movement.

By doing so, you will learn more about one of the best ways to prevent the trafficking and exploitation of children, support, restoration, and community for victims of trafficking, and anti-trafficking organizations near where you live so you can help spark a change!


If this relates to you and you are interested in knowing more, please ask someone. Me. My wife. A local pastor. A neighbor you know who is a Christian. But please ask and I guarantee you that they will be excited to tell you more. They will especially appreciate that you asked them so that they are not forcing their beliefs upon you but getting your permission to share. It may even be something they have been praying for.

Lord willing, see you all next Sunday!

Thanks,
@strangerarray


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray for more thought provoking content.

Donations to PayPal.Me/michaelpaine are also welcome.


Please check out the previous discussions:


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends.

Sort:  

I did it just tonight, and you know, it's really rewarding, but as a busy mama and working full time, as well as steeming in the evenings, my time is precious. So I don't do it often.

Yes, it is a challenge, but as you described, "rewarding".

Thanks @littlescribe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92