ARE YOU MAN ENOUGH TO DIE FOR YOUR LOVED ONES?

in #relationships7 years ago

Do you think you have what it takes?


At times there seems to be a glorification of sacrifice. When a man will step out into the world and literally give his life for his loved ones. I wonder how many of you out there, honestly, would actually take a bullet for your wife or children.

If a train was about to strike your child dead, would you push them off the tracks and place yourself into harm’s way? If someone fired a bullet at your wife, would you jump in front of her and take the hit?

PERHAPS…

I do find it unfortunate that some would not be willing to do so, but it may be even worse that many others would only be willing to die once for their families.

Die once, what do you mean? Let’s face it, to actually take a bullet for someone else or die for them in some other way takes about a split-second of courage. After that, you’re a hero forever, right? Though the rest of your earthly life would be over in an instant, you would actually only have to suffer for a second in the flesh. In the grand scheme of things, that’s actually not that impressive.

Don’t get me wrong, to give up your life once for another human is a noble and virtuous thing, but I think that we can do better than that. Don’t your loved ones deserve more than just one second of putting them first? Don’t they perhaps need a little more than a tiny sliver of time where you chose them over yourself?

WHAT ARE YOU GETTING AT PAPA? YOU GOT SOMETHING BETTER?

Honestly, I do think that there is room for improvement. I think that too many guys out there would be willing to die once for their young bride but then will still turn around and divorce that same woman who they would have died for five years down the road. I think that too many fathers would be willing to trade places with their children if it meant saving their young lives, but those same dads aren’t willing to spend more than a few moments a day with those same children.

Yeah, I’m talking about something a little deeper here. You see, “giving up your life doesn’t have to mean death.” Rather than just giving up the next few seconds for someone else and then dying, I’m talking about giving up the next few decades of your life for someone else. You can “give your life” for someone and still remain alive, it just takes a whole lot more effort. You can "die" to yourself daily so the sake of others by putting them first and putting your own selfish desires second.

YOU MAY NOT BE AS IMPORTANT AS YOU THINK

A selfish man alone in the world will remain just that, selfish and alone. He would have to deny his own desires too much to have a lasting relationship with a woman, and he would have to give up too much of his own ways to raise children.

Unfortunately, too many people wind up with spouses and children, and yet remain extremely selfish. This is why a lot of relationships do not work. The people in those relationships care a whole lot more about themselves than they do the other person.

I’d rather not just give @mama-pepper whatever love I have left after I’m done loving myself. I’d rather not give her whatever time is left after I’ve spent all day doing whatever I wanted to do. I’d basically be in a relationship with myself, and my wife would be along for the ride.

You see, to actually make a relationship work, you may have to put the other person first for more than a split-second. Yeah, and after you put them before yourself and prioritized their needs, wants, or desires above your own, you will still be alive, and mat get to do it all over again tomorrow, or maybe five minutes from now.

COMMITMENT

Not that very many people even get married anymore, but a relationship is a relationship. In marriage certain vows are usually made to show a commitment to the other person. Frequently, “til death do we part” is even thrown in there. Far too often, it seems that this is just done because it “sounds nice” or due to tradition, but I’m not talking about just saying it.

For me, I’ll be the husband of my wife until death, and the same goes for my children; I’ll be their father until I die. I have the freedom to divorce my wife and disown by children when they get old enough, but I don’t have to! I can choose to live a life that blesses and serves them. I can choose to give them all that I have, and not just what I have left. I can give up years of my life for them prior to death, rather than just a few seconds.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

Look, none of us know when we are going to die, but we can choose what we do with our lives until then. Perhaps it would be wise to give up more of the life that you are already living for the sake of your family. Perhaps they even need you to.

I think that for far too long people have held the dead in high regard. The man who pushes his daughter out of traffic and gets killed instead certainly did do a good thing, make no mistake about it. However, the man who chose to put the lives of his children above his own for 20 years while he was raising them may have actually given up more of his life.

I don’t want to come off as condemning anyone here, but rather exhorting others. I think that we can all do a better job, and I think that our families deserve it. We may not get to choose to die for our loved ones, but we can choose to live for them. Let’s make sure to set an unselfish example for that next generation too, or we may just be setting them up for failure when it comes to their relationships and families.

In closing, I’ll leave you with two questions to ponder:

  • Are you man enough to die for your loved ones?
  • Are you man enough to live for your loved ones?

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

You are a good man papa-pepper!

And i applaud your comparison between be willing to die-once -- but not being willing to give your whole life for your family. I am inspired and uplifted, and, rewarded by your post for feeling exactly the same way.

It's about one's time, and one's attention as a parent. Sometimes the wee ones just want you to be there, and that goes for one's partner too.

Solipsism (look it up), is the easy belief that one's own consciousness is the centre of the Universe -- and it seriously takes some thought to break free of, 'cause it's animal nature...

I could blab for ages and wind up just repeating what papa said. So i just want to say YES! This is what a good parent, partner and healthy in mind and spirit man does for his family every time. Not just once in hypothesis.

Cheers papa! You're walking the walk!

Glad to read that response. Thank you for that @thedamus!

You post brought this Bible verse to mind. Thanks for bearing your heart @papa-pepper!

Ephesians 5:25 KJVS
Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;

That is a very applicable verse, thanks man.

@papa-pepper
I've actually thought about this a lot in regards to @cathi-xx, since she is the best thing that ever happened to me, but that wouldn't stop me from tripping her in a zombie apocalypse for a chance to get away from the hoard.

I don't have to be the fastest in the zombie apocalypse, I just have to be faster than @cathi-xx.

Nobody tell her I wrote this, because I would like it to be an end-of-the-world-surprise :)

So what you are saying is that you are Shane from The Walking Dead and I'm the fat, bald, old dude, Otis?

Guys!
Who spoiled the surprise?

...And yes!
That's exactly what I'm saying, I hope this isn't a deal breaker.

Hmm, missing the bigger picture much? Re: who is gonna carry all your supplies for you in the papalips? You might want to consider tripping up a , 'B' actor.

I was planning on eating the b-actors with those roasted potatoes and gravy that you make, but I guess we could trip one or two of them, for the sake of my luggage :)

You hate pork! Surely you realise that roasted, 'B' actor tastes exactly like pork. *smh

I had no idea, but I like bacon, so could we carve off their bacon before tripping them, you know, for bacon sandwiches?

Now you are just being silly! No way I'm eating syphilitic, 'B' actor sandwiches!

I could try to get you some A-listers for dinner, but sadly, I think it will probably be slim pickin's during the apocalypse.

We are the A-listers in our lives! The 'B' actors are everyone who isn't family and friends.
Cannibalism is off the menu, permanently,even in a papalips and that includes the dog!

You may feel comfortable doing such a thing to @cathi-xx, but surely you wouldn't do something like that to me, would you?

Ummm... Well I do like the taste of peppery bacon and getting away from zombies!

The reality would be me giving him a piggy back while he thrashed-out wildly at walkers yelling, "giddy-up horsey."

Why does this sound so awesome?

This indeed was very deep and meaningful. So I voted with 100 per cent although it's my vote is not worth much.

Thank you for that!

a man who now replaces my father. keep me wholeheartedly, let alone we will add one more small man who will soon add to the completeness of our small family. thank you for the motivation and the touching story @papa-pepper

You are welcome.

Why to set such questions?

I think spouses and parents can do a better job than they are.

It is why I started working from home and started home schooling my kids. I needed to one make sure they had the best education possible but two they are my kids my responsibility to educate not anyone else.

Marriage is very hard work, but when two people love each other and communicate and put each other first. Marriage can been successful, but it is a choice every day that we make. I have been married twice, the first marriage didn't work because we were both selfish and didn't communicate. I learned a lot in that marriage on what not to do.

This time around things are good, we communicate and put each other first. We been married now nearly 16 years and I know this time I am married till death do us part. And without a doubt I would die for all my kids, my grandbabies and or my husband many times over, if it meant keeping them safe and alive

Great attitude to have as a wife and mother! Your family is truly blessed because of you, and congrats on almost 16 already!

thanks it has been hard work but so worth it, can't image my life without him even when he is being difficult I would rather be mad at him sometimes then live life without him.

Yes she has been trying to kill me off for years, she keeps me locked in the basement and feeds me cat food...lol Love you baby :)

Canned cat food? I've eaten that before.

he don't quit telling people this I am gonna bury him up to his neck in the back yard and let the dogs out to go pee. lol

spouses that laugh together and tease each other have fun together

This is a fantastic and much-needed reminder.

My father did our wedding ceremony and one of the things he felt was most important to tell my husband and I was that we had to be willing to die for each other in what he called "a thousand small ways every day". To give up self, because that's the kind of death that brings the most life and is so often overlooked. I remember that when I have small children climbing into bed with me at what feels like the crack of dawn after a difficult night's sleep and they want my attention...and breakfast.

Dying to self constantly takes a whole lot more staying power and love than even that split second when choosing to put yourself in harm's way to save someone else.

Except a corn of wheat die, it abideth alone...

And I wonder often...why does some seed in the soil produce 30, some 60 and some 100-fold?

Not a popular idea...but it's not all equal. Those thousand deaths every day MUST be completed or the harvest diminishes slightly even when there is a harvest.

Yup, If it dies, it brings forth much fruit.

I'm surprised you didn't mention our active duty military and veterans who have put their lives on the line not just once and not just for their family, but every day of their service and for every American. After all this sacrifice, our service members rarely get the credit they deserve. We face our own challenges reintegrating into society and often find a negative attitude from these people we swore to protect. Are you man enough to die for your country?

My focus was not actually dying for others, but living for them, within the context of a family.

The military was beyond the scope of my focus here.

Die for a country that obviously lies to the people about reasons for military action?
No.

I guess that doesn't make me a man, huh?

Except, I feel this way because that is EXACTLY what happened to me and everyone else who served for the last 70 plus years. They recruit naive kids out of highschool. Train them to kill. Send them to war. And pay them enough to not care. And keeps them inline by threatening them. I'd say it takes more of a man to say NO to the machine before you end up being just another body on its gears.

Cheers.

I highly appreciate your sentiments. I guess it was more of a family oriented post by @papa-pepper Just sharing my opinion. I'm sure he can better answer your question.

Although I am not an American, if you swore for the protection of American humans, thank you for your service, Sir!

#family - you were correct.

I was at one time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48