I am not who you think I am

in #reflection6 years ago (edited)

I just want to be who I am without judgment, yet I judge myself, for not living up to who I feel that I am inside. One of many thoughts that come back again and again is that we all have an ideal self we are striving toward, and very clumsily we don't quite make it, but always grow closer. I feel like the journey, that some say life is really all about, is this constant whittling away. The creation of art, is also a process. It can be a carving out, or a building up, or a combination of both. In my life, I gain possessions, friends, ideas, experiences. I also lose possessions, friends, conditioning, and naivety. This undulating force of friction is the dance of life along the edge of chaos. Usually I approach this concept of the spiraling in and spiraling out interference pattern with scientific and mathematical approach.

This time I return to my roots, the youth who didn't want to be labeled. Constantly being told not only who to be by a family that should have accepted her for who she was, but also told who she was allowed to be based on how she was viewed. To provide a specific instance I was once looked up and down, from my band tee shirt to my baggy pants and told that although it was possible to graduate high school as a junior, I couldn't do it. After being expelled from that judgmental school and transferred to another I received Top 15 of my class four years in a row and took a number of college classes through a program that allowed me to gain college and high school credit. The key ingredient there? I was given the opportunity to produce my own results, instead of being told what I could or couldn't achieve. Even now, two decades later I deal with bosses, coworkers, random people who tell me who I am, what I can be, what I am capable of, without any notion of what I have experienced, achieved or understood. This can become disheartening, especially for those of us who have one foot at all times into madness, the chaotic symphony that spins variation into existence.

We may have lost the tune, the rhythm, or the words of our purpose to an impeding force that resists against our groove. I do not write this to give you answers, but to share a sentiment which you might comprehend; life is also a process, one often rife with tragedy. My only encouragement is that you find a way to engage or channel the challenges that shape who you are. No one out there is their pure ideal self, we all live in animal bodies that run on hormones, instinct and conditioning. The mere fact that we are at least trying to understand and conquer ourselves is a noble goal. While there is a grand pattern or design, there is no grand plan for you individually, no predetermined fate. There are factors, interactions, variations, possibilities and a little chaos to stir the pot.

We may not always interact as the person we think ourselves to be, especially since we do not know what the minds of others perceive. I want to provide all the same opportunity I need, without being dragged into bitterness or greed. Keep on building up the parts of you that you like, and stripping away the parts of you that you don't. Do the same with elements of your life. So much can change in a year, a month or even a day.

Sort:  

Thank you manicesoteric! You've just received an upvote of 75% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Perhaps this "ideal self" we chase after, doesn't really exist.

"For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it."

Good point, the ideal self may not. Yet I have an sense that the true self does and it's buried somewhere within us, or perhaps just under the surface of our perceived reality.

I have that feeling too. In a way I'm compelled to find that inner "me", but I have no idea how to do so. Some people say they found it the moment they stopped looking for it.

For me it is the other way around. I think I know who I am but others don't see me that way nor treat me that way. Instead they make assumptions, accusations and too often when I am caught in the whirlwind of the moment, I act not in accordance with who I know myself to be. I attribute this to PTSD and biological impulse but it is also possible that the true self inside me is still working it's way out. Occassionally I even find myself shedding things I once thought were me, but were actually just ego and conditioned beliefs. It's a strange thing, trying to understand each other. How much of what I see in other people is just a facet of me? What can I do to both respect others individuality and assert my own? A lot of things to consider.

Congratulations @manicesoteric! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @manicesoteric! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33