You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am not who you think I am

in #reflection6 years ago

Perhaps this "ideal self" we chase after, doesn't really exist.

"For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it."

Sort:  

Good point, the ideal self may not. Yet I have an sense that the true self does and it's buried somewhere within us, or perhaps just under the surface of our perceived reality.

I have that feeling too. In a way I'm compelled to find that inner "me", but I have no idea how to do so. Some people say they found it the moment they stopped looking for it.

For me it is the other way around. I think I know who I am but others don't see me that way nor treat me that way. Instead they make assumptions, accusations and too often when I am caught in the whirlwind of the moment, I act not in accordance with who I know myself to be. I attribute this to PTSD and biological impulse but it is also possible that the true self inside me is still working it's way out. Occassionally I even find myself shedding things I once thought were me, but were actually just ego and conditioned beliefs. It's a strange thing, trying to understand each other. How much of what I see in other people is just a facet of me? What can I do to both respect others individuality and assert my own? A lot of things to consider.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33